As it turns out, we are continually drawn to teens (in a non creepy way)

Hello friends! This peppy message is coming to you from sunny and beautiful Memphis! πŸ™‚ We had a weekend of gorgeous weather and it is continuing on today. And this girl loves her some sunshine. So it has been a pretty fabulous weekend. Add on top of the weather that I spent Saturday at the MidSouth Girls’ Conference with the teens I mentor and BOOM! Even better.

msgc collage.jpg

Wait, what’s this? Rach, you’re volunteering withΒ teens again? I thought you graduated your girls out and were re-evaluating and looking at other volunteer options. Oh yes, I was. And we have gotten involved with a couple of different organizations doing different things (more on our other volunteer work in another post). But somehow teenagers still just seem to suck us in. Ha! Christopher and I are working with a different group now and it has been much easier to balance building relationships with them AND still taking time for just us. Instead of the 3-4 nights a week that we were spending with teens before, it’s only one night a week with occasional special circumstances (like this past weekend).Β PlusΒ we’re still the new people so the kids still think we’re awesome (for now). πŸ˜‰

In other news, we also spent time with our dear friends JAMES and Heather this weekend. I specify this because James reads my blog and was complaining yesterday that I don’t feature him on it often enough.

james and christopher

Christopher and James being adorable together. #bros

James, I hope you feel acknowledged now. πŸ˜‰

Do any of your friends tease you about not being featured on your blog often enough?Β 

Have you ever found yourself being drawn to the same type of volunteer opportunities over and over even when you thought youΒ were totally done with it?

Love Rach

27 responses to “As it turns out, we are continually drawn to teens (in a non creepy way)

  1. Haha. I now feel important. Oh, and love the picture of your husband and I on a swing together!

  2. My friends always are like “are we going to make it on the blog!?” haha. I love that you guys volunteer with the teens, helps immensely!

  3. no one ever asks to be on my blog. it’s like teeth to get them to volunteer as models! it sounds like y’all are where you need to be and can serve as great role models for them

  4. I actually hardly every feature my friends on my blog. They are all pretty private people, so I don’t think they would want to be.

  5. hahaha my friends don’t complain or anything, but they always acknowledge it when i do talk about them, which i think is funny.

  6. I’ve had family members complain more than friends, like my cousins. Hey! We were there too! Why were there no pictures of us on your blog? πŸ˜›

    Glad you’ve found another good fit for a group to volunteer with. I agree, teens are incredibly awesome. We’re spending our Saturdays with teens these days, and it’s pretty much the best.

  7. Your post title made me laugh out loud, ha! The teens are lucky to have you πŸ™‚ So glad you enjoyed your beautiful weather this weekend, isn’t it amazing how much of a mood lifter the sunshine is?!

  8. When I’m hanging out with my friends, they often ask, “Hmmmm, are you going to blog this?” Which is their way of asking, “Hmmmm, do I need to wear makeup and make sure my hair is done?” LOL! I usually try not to tell them in advance, as cruel as that sounds. Only because they’re all so beautiful that they don’t need to stress about getting ready to be on the blog. πŸ™‚
    And YES, Nate and I are always heavily involved in volunteering at church. I was going to cut wayyyy back after having Brady, but now I’m not only leading worship and playing piano… but I’m also helping out with a women’s ministry AND teaching Kid’s Church. Ha, ha!

    • Girl, you are doing SO MUCH! Which is great! Just be sure you take time for you too! πŸ™‚

      So funny about your friends asking about whether or not they need to get all fancy for the blog. One of my besties here in Memphis always calls me before we hang out to ask what I’m wearing because if I’m in jeans & a tee then she wants to be too. But if I’m all cute then she doesn’t want to feel undressed next to me. It struck me as kind of funny at first, but I actually appreciate it now. It’s nice to know that we’ll always be dressed about the same level when we hang out. That way if I’m rocking work out apparel, I don’t have to worry about looking like a slob next to her. πŸ˜‰

  9. You are so sweet girl!! and I love that you love hanging out with your girls!! Also, the title of this post is awesome! hehe! πŸ™‚

  10. I am ALWAYS on my blog πŸ˜‰ I am pretty sure people are sick of me, LOL!

    And um, way to be amazing and volunteer!! I need to um….. Do that? πŸ˜‰

  11. That’s awesome that you guys are drawn to teens. I bet that you are both such an inspiration to them – fantastic role models and that is something that teens always need. You two are such GIVERS.

  12. I bet those teens are so thankful to have someone like you to talk to and hang out with. I know I needed that as a teen. My mom just isn’t a picture person and doesn’t like having pictures of herself online. I mention her on the blog so often, that sometimes I wonder if people don’t understand why they never see her. I tell her that I will respect her wishes not to be featured online, but I still get to take pictures of her with my boys so that I will always have them. So I guess I have the opposite problem of her always telling me “that better not go up on the blog”. πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad she at least lets you take photos to keep privately even if you can’t share them. I know some people who hate being in photos so much that they won’t allow photos to be taken at all. Which is understandable, but at the same time makes me sad for their kids and grandkids. I treasure all the photos I have with my grandparents and parents! So again, glad she lets you take those! πŸ™‚

  13. How cool is that? And I love it, it’s totally true when you’re new, kids think you’re so cool and they love you and try to impress you!! haha but that really is so cool you guys do that together. I bet you’re a really good influence on the teens you get to work with, too! One of my friends always says she loves when I mention her on my blog haha it makes me feel good because I’m like “yay she thinks my blog is cool!!” πŸ™‚

    • I sure hope we’re a good influence! I know that I really could have used an adult to really invest in me when I was a teenager so we try and do that for these kids. πŸ™‚

      Of course she’s excited to be featured on your blog! You’re awesome! πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: That one time I was in graduate school |

Leave a Reply

