Caprese Grilled Cheese

I love caprese. Fresh mozzarella, ripe tomatoes, and basil from the garden  (or from the grocery store this time of year). I love it as an appetizer, I love it as pizza toppings, and I even love it in a panini. And that, my friends, is what I want to talk to you about today.

caprese panini (3).JPG

If you like the flavors of caprese and you like a good grilled cheese sandwich… you will love this combination.

It’s simple enough. Pick a good bread (I like Ciabatta for paninis), brush it with olive oil, and add the mozzarella, thinly sliced tomatoes, and basil then close the sandwich and grill on the panini press. Easy peasy.

caprese panini (1)

This shot was taken just before I closed the panini press. Look at all those delicious layers. The other panini belonged to a friend. She isn’t a tomato kind of person so she created a ham & cheese panini instead. Definitely another solid choice. But if I have the option, I’m going caprese every time. 🙂

caprese panini (2)
Deeeelightful!

What are your favorite panini fillings?
Love Rach

39 responses to “Caprese Grilled Cheese

  1. perfection!! great reminder to bust out the panini maker for this. yummy.

  2. Now I’m drooling at my desk! It looks delicious.

  3. It’s such a classic flavour combo, isn’t it. The perfect sandwich!

  4. The perfect combo!

  5. That looks delicious!! I love fresh tomato on just about anything and how can you go wrong with you put it on a panini with cheese and basil! Win Win!

  6. I grow fresh basil by the bucketful in the summertime, because it’s my favorite fresh herb. So delicious! 🙂 And I make grilled cheese like this ALL the time, come summer; because it’s easy-peasy and out-of-this-world delicious. But seeing your pics makes me want to make one as an easy dinner next week, so I think the ingredients will make their way onto my grocery list. 😉 Such a good idea to make them in the cold winter months too!

  7. Oooo yum. Caprese anything always surprises me. I always feels like it is going to be too simple or boring – but the combination of such few, simple, but good ingredients is SO delicious. And classy.

  8. Yum! I used to not like grilled cheese, but I do now, and this looks like a really YUMMY rendition.

  9. cheese, tomato and basil are like my top 3 favourite things. this sounds and looks amazing.

  10. Mmm, this looks so tasty. I love our Panini press. We’ve done Caprese Panini’s before. I even add a little splash of balsamic vinegar before it goes on the press. It adds such a nice tang!

  11. This loos so good. My mom just bought a panini machine so I’ll have to forward her this recipe.

    Kaitlyn-danielle.blogspot.com

  12. I think you just combined two of my favorite things ever! yum!

  13. Mmmm looks so darn delicious. I would totally dip it in balsamic too 🙂

  14. I love your food posts. This looks delicious!!

  15. Oh yum!! Well… this looks perfect! 🙂

  16. Way to kick my cravings into overdrive hahah this looks SO GOOD and I have been so obsessed with grilled cheese lately! ps do you have a blog button? I would LOVE to put it on my blog under the sponsors tab if you have one!! I just need one sized 250×200 🙂 xo

  17. I officially want a panini press now! And ciabatta bread. Yum!

Leave a Reply

