Ever Wonder What People Really Think About Your Blog?

Disclaimer: this is not a sponsored post. Just something I found really helpful that I thought you guys might like too! ๐Ÿ™‚

A couple of months ago, Candace over at Lovely Little Rants wrote a blog post on growing your blog. It’s been a couple of years since I made an effort to grow my blog because I’ve gotten rather cozy with those of you who have been loyal readers for so long. But I was really intriguedย by her fourth tip on growing your blog. She mentioned this thing called Peek User Testing. Have you guys heard of this?

rach in the office.jpg

You go to the Peek User Testing website, insert the URL for the site you want feedback on and send it off. I’ve done it twice and both times I got my feedback video back within a few hours. The first time I did it, it was a guy who reviewed my blog. And he thought my name was “Rock” and that I was a man. He liked the blog at first until he read my bio just long enough to see when I said that I’m not really Italian and then he said someย unkind things about this “*bleep* guy named Rock who’s not really Italian” Yikes.ย If he had continued reading he would have discovered that I’m Rach, female, and married into the whole Italian thing. BUT! It taught me that I needed to be more clear in my bio. So I adjusted it. And I added a bio on my home page as well. I kind of forgot about Peek there for a minute until I was cleaning out my inbox this week and decided to try Peek again to see if my adjustments had helped.

Turns out they did! I got a very helpful and constructive review this time. If you’re curious what a review looks like, you can see mine here. From this review I am reminded that the early recipes I put on this blog were often mixed in with several recipes instead of just single recipeย posts. Definitely something to update! Also, if the lady who reviewed my blog is reading this – Thank you SO much for kind words! I was so nervous to see what the feedback would be so I can’t tell you how much I appreciated your encouragement!

Would you try Peek User Testing?
Love Rach

34 responses to “Ever Wonder What People Really Think About Your Blog?

  1. That’s kind of interesting! And also kind of funny that the guy thought you were named Rock ๐Ÿ˜‰ I might look into this!

    • Did you end up trying it? If so I hope you got helpful feedback!

      And yes! It made me laugh that he thought my name was “Rock”. I’m thinking that he just glanced at “Rach” and made an assumption. I’ve had baristas at Sbux call my name out as “Rock” when they see “Rach” written on the cup. I guess they see the “ch” and pronounce it “Ra-kuh” instead of “Ray-chuh”. But hey, I kind of pride myself on being a beast when it comes to some things so “Rock” fits well anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Quite a few blogging friends of mine have done this and I want to try it too. But I want to fix a few things of my blog first, so they can’t critisise them haha

  3. Why did he think your name was Rock first of all?
    Also, I would love to do this but I feel nervous about it so I probably won’t. Ha! That is super interesting, though. It would be interesting to know what someone thinks about my blog based on a first impression.

    • I’m thinking that he just glanced at “Rach” and made an assumption. I’ve had baristas at Sbux call my name out as “Rock” when they see “Rach” written on the cup. I guess they see the “ch” and pronounce it “Ra-kuh” instead of “Ray-chuh”. But hey, I kind of pride myself on being a beast when it comes to some things so “Rock” fits well anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰ To fix this, I changed my bio to say that my name is Rachel, but that I typically go by Rach. That way when people see it, they will realize that Rach is short for Rachel which let’s them know (a) how to pronounce it and (b) that I’m a girl.

      I had that same nervous feeling when I did it the first time. But even though that guy wasn’t the nicest, I still got helpful feedback. And the second review was awesome. It’s helpful to me to know what is working and what isn’t working on my blog. I don’t know that I’m going to put a lot of effort into growing my blog like I did a couple of years ago, but I do want it to be user friendly for my readers and first time visitors. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know if you try it! I want to hear how your experience is!

  4. I had absolutely NO idea that this existed… I just tried it, so we’ll see what the review is like. ๐Ÿ˜‰ At first, I wanted to write a really good blog post beforehand. Ha, ha! But then I figured to do the test now, see what the criticism is, and then maybe see if I want to change a few things before I take the test again.
    So cool!

    • How was your video? I hope you got super helpful feedback! I know what you mean about wanting good blog posts to be the most recent ones. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have felt the same way when I put my blog in to get a review. But it’s good to know what any random person coming across my blog might think so I don’t want to only have perfect posts, you know? I want a review on what my blog is normally like. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can have them review your blog up to 3 times a month so definitely take advantage of it!

  5. Totally intriguing. Just sent off to get mine reviewed haha.

  6. How interesting! I’m intrigued. But I don’t know that I’m brave enough to try it. I’m not really interested in growing my blog though, so I don’t know that criticism would really change what I do. Maybe I’ll try it.

    • I had that same nervous feeling when I did it the first time. But even though that guy wasn’t the nicest, I still got helpful feedback. And the second review was awesome. It’s helpful to me to know what is working and what isn’t working on my blog. I don’t know that I’m going to put a lot of effort into growing my blog like I did a couple of years ago, but I do want it to be user friendly for my readers and first time visitors. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know if you try it! I want to hear how your experience is!

  7. Thanks for sharing this! It was fun. When I first clicked on my video, I heard a guy’s voice, and I thought “oh great.” But he was really nice and gave good content and aesthetic feedback.

  8. yay I am so glad you love peek as much as I do! K your reviewer lady was SO SWEET!! And had the cutest accent ever! So cute she was like “I wish she lived closer!!” cause she loved your photography (WHICH IS AMAZING!!) seriously I hope I get that lady to review my blog!! Thanks for linking my post, too!! You are the sweetest ever! xo

    • I know, right?! She was just precious! Especially after “Rock” guy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m so glad you blogged about this because it has been such a fun (and helpful!) thing to do! My blog is looking better and better thanks to the feedback. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. This is so cool! I am definitely doing this. And your blog is lovely. I wouldn’t change a thing about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. hahahaha. even though that first guy sounds like a jerk, but it sounds like he had some really helpful feedback that you needed. sounds like such an interesting service!

    • Yeah, it was super helpful! It’s helpful to me to know what is working and what isn’t working on my blog. I don’t know that I’m going to put a lot of effort into growing my blog like I did a couple of years ago, but I do want it to be user friendly for my readers and first time visitors. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. hahaha at the guy thinking your name was Rock. hilarious. but at least he helped! i have never done anything like this because i am really far too terrified to do it. i don’t really mind, also, because i don’t particularly want to grow my blog. not in a mean way, just in a eh i’m happy way.

    • I totally understand! I had that same nervous feeling when I did it the first time. But even though that guy wasn’t the nicest, I still got helpful feedback. And the second review was awesome. It’s helpful to me to know what is working and what isn’t working on my blog. I don’t know that I’m going to put a lot of effort into growing my blog like I did a couple of years ago, but I do want it to be user friendly for my readers and first time visitors. ๐Ÿ™‚ But again, I get where you are coming from. Plus your blog is awesome (and hilarious) so no reason to change anything anyway! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I’m trying it! I’m sure it won’t be nice, but feedback is always helpful!

  13. THIS is amazing!!!! I had never heard of this before…I tried it and got a young(ish) sounding guy with a British accent as a reviewer. That said, he’s not the exact audience intended for my blog, but his tips were interesting! I switched several things up according to his suggestions and I’m going to submit my URL again to get another review.

    I was telling my Mom about it and she asked, “How do you get to be a reviewer?” Do you know anything about that?

    • I’m glad he was at least somewhat helpful even if he isn’t your target audience! That’s great! I hope you get more helpful advice next time too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t know about being a reviewer. I imagine if you poke around on their website you’ll find a link for it? Or someone to contact to ask?

  14. Pingback: What I am into – March 2016 | Life of a Christian Woman College Graduate

Leave a Reply

