My favorite red lipstick

I don’t wear lipstick often. Not at all in the warm months when I have a tan. But in the winter, when my tan fades and my skin resembles alabaster, I find myself loving the shock of a red lip against that pale skin. I’ve tried a couple of different reds, but my absolute favorite is one that I have been wearing for the past year.

mac russian red

{source}

Elle, over at ElleSees, wrote a blog post in December 2014 about perfect holiday lips which introduced me to Mac Ruby Woo. After a quick Google search to learn more about Ruby Woo, I was led to Mac Russian Red. After talking to Elle about both lipsticks, I decided to go with the Russian Red. And you guys, it has been awesome!

mac russian red lipstickmac russian red lipstick2mac russian red lipstick3Christopher took these photos this past weekend and he kept coaching me to “look serious” which only made me laugh more. 😉

I love this lipstick! I am complimented on it every time I wear it. Since I’m asked so often what lipstick I’m wearing when I wear this one, I thought I would actually blog about it. 🙂 Elle, I’ve said it before, but here’s a public thank you for always taking the time to answer my questions and for helping me find such a beautiful lipstick! 🙂

This isn’t a sponsored post. I just wanted to share a favorite with you guys!

Do you have a favorite red lipstick?

Love Rach

42 responses to “My favorite red lipstick

  1. Gorgeous! You wear that red lip perfectly.

  2. I’ve been trying to find a good red lipstick! Honestly I’m not much of a lipstick person but I LOVE how it looks! I’m still on the hunt for the right one 🙂

  3. This color looks great on you! I don’t wear lipstick often but my favorite red right now is Nyx Matte in Alabama!

  4. Elle is my go to girl for any beauty/skin care questions too! That color looks absolutely fabulous on you!!!! I love Mac!

  5. I have always wanted to try a Mac lipstick! That red looks stunning on you!

  6. This colour looks great on you!! A good red lipstick is like a great pair of jeans. Priceless!

  7. That is a great color on you! How is the staying power? I have never tried red, but I am starting to think I want to!

    • Thank you so much! I’ll be honest, I haven’t tried a lot of different types of lipstick so I don’t have a lot to compare it to. But it seems pretty great to me. I usually just wear it for date nights so I know it will last 4-5 hours for sure. I haven’t tried to wear it all day so that’s probably not that helpful, haha!

  8. Oh my gosh, this colour looks stunning on you! Especially with your brown hair. And I think I like your non-serious face the best ^_^

  9. Ruby Woo is my go-to, but Russian Red looks amazing on you!

    • Ruby Woo is SO pretty! I just love it! When I talked to Elle about both of them she told me that the Russian Red is just slightly less matte and slightly less drying than the Ruby Woo. Since I tend to have dryer lips already I thought that might be a better fit for me. And it has been awesome! 🙂

  10. That shade looks great on you!

  11. I don’t have a favorite red, or much experience at all with lipstick (or make-up, for that matter), but I always love when people put it on me (my sisters) and I love the way it looks on other people. It’s so fun! You look beautiful in this red. It’s stunning!

  12. This really is the perfect red for you, beautiful.

  13. I would love to be able to wear red lipstick, or any lipstick, but I have no lips. Well, obviously I do, but they are so small and lipstick just looks stupid on me.

  14. You are beautiful!! I adore MAC and that shade of red suits you so well!

  15. Elle is one of my favorites – she always has the best DIYs! This color is magnificent on you! I’m a nude lip gal myself, as I always have a smoky eye!

    xx

  16. love red lipstick – my favorite is MAC prolong wear in the color prolong.
    xx, lauren
    laurensparkle.com

  17. this made my heart sing!! thank you so much! you look gorgeous in that red!!!

  18. I love seeing the blogger community unite! I’ve learned many a tip/trick from Elle, too! Russian Red looks beautiful on you! I’m not sure I have a favorite red lipstick because I’ll pretty much wear every color under the sun, but I have to say I really like this red liquid lipstick I just got by Kat Von D called Santa Sangre.

  19. You look so pretty in these pictures!! I currently have braces and am self conscious about wearing bright lipsticks. Thankfully, I’ll be getting them off in a few months and will definitely wear more red lip colors 🙂

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

    • Thank you, sweet lady! It’s super exciting that you’ll be getting your braces off soon! Though I have to tell you, when I was a kid I wanted braces so badly because my older sister had them and she was like the epitome of cool (captain of the cheerleading squad and all!). It’s funny how a kid’s perception is so different. Who knows, maybe someone is wanting braces because they want to be just like you! 🙂 Aaanyway, hooray for getting them off soon! That has to be super exciting!

  20. One of my favorites too. It is so universally flattering! You look great.

  21. LOVE the red lip look on you, Rach! And LOL at Christopher coaching you to be serious, haha! That’s too cute. I have never worn lipstick… for some reason I feel like I wouldn’t know how to put it on…. but it can’t be hard?! Haha.

Leave a Reply

