My Grandmother’s Blueberry Muffin Recipe

From the time that I was a little girl until I was a college student, whenever I visited my mom’s parents there were a few things I could always expect. Normal things like warm hugs, laughter, and love, of course. But other constants as well.

with MB and DK(with my grandparents when I was a teenager)

For example, I could always count on my grandfather to offerย a hair cutย orย trim if I wanted one (he was a barber and the only one who cut my hair until just a couple of years ago).

I could always count on him to make as many eggs as I wanted prepared any way I’d like (this was my favorite as a kid and I often ate half a dozen eggs for breakfast at their house – jokes were made about my future cholesterol, but I’ll have you know it’s still perfect today ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

And I could always count on waking up in the morning to the aroma of freshly baked blueberry muffins. From the time I was a small child, that was the first thing that would greet me every morning as I woke up. The warm scent of blueberry muffins wafting back to the bedroom. Eagerly I would bound out of bed and run straight for the kitchen where, without fail, my grandmother would be pulling a fresh batch out of the oven.

with momma billie 1987.jpg(with my grandmother in Decemberย 1987 when I was 6 months old)

My grandmother lost her fight with cancer while I was in college. But only after beating the odds for 20 years. There are no words for how grateful I am to have had her in my life for those years. Today I am thinking of her and I wanted to share her blueberry muffin recipe with you guys. ๐Ÿ™‚

102_7018

Momma Billie’s Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

2ย cups flour
2ย tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1ย cup sugar
2ย eggs
1/2 cup milk
1ย tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2ย cups fresh blueberries

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt.

2. In a mixing bowl cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, milk and vanilla. Mix well. Stir in dry ingredients until just moistened.

3. Fill 12 greased muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Every time I bake these and my house is filled with this sweet aroma, I am reminded of my grandmother.ย I might be a bit biased, but if you are looking for the best blueberry muffin recipe of your life, this is it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Were there certain things you could always count on when visiting grandparents/aunts & uncles/etc growing up?

Love Rach

36 responses to “My Grandmother’s Blueberry Muffin Recipe

  1. Oh i love blueberry muffins, thanks for sharing this.

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your grandma with her sweet recipe! I think recipes and foods are all the more special When they evoke wonderful memories! That picture of you two is so precious!! I am sure she is a part of the reason you’re such a wonderful person Rachel!

  3. So cool you have all those lovely memories of your grandparents- and your grandma’s muffin recipe! My grandmother taught me how to cook + gifted her cookbooks- which was a seriously amazing present to receive. I have so many fond memories of us in the kitchen together!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  4. These sound amazing! And what a sweet story…grandparents are the best! We always did pancakes at my grandparent’s house. I can remember flicking water on the griddle to see if it was hot enough. Such great memories.

  5. The post is fantastic! I love it:)
    Have a nice day!

    theprintedsea.blogspot.com

  6. These sound amazing! I love a good blueberry muffin! Thanks for sharing!

  7. My grandmother didn’t cook – not that I know of anyways, so I don’t have any recipes passed down from her. That being said, the recipe on my blog today was inspired by my father!!

  8. This is such a sweet, heartfelt post! These muffins sound amazing! I definitely want to give them a try – thanks for sharing!

    xx, Caitlin
    http://www.wandererandwolf.com

  9. Those blueberry muffins look so good, and how sweet that it’s your grandmother’s recipe!

  10. Yum! I love how stuff like this can take you back. Good memories to have! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. blueberry muffins are the best and I don’t have a recipe that I love yet… definitely trying these, thanks for sharing!
    xx, lauren
    laurensparkle.com

  12. I’m an ’87 baby too! And I’m super close to my grandparents even though they live in Poland so stuff like a grandmother’s special recipe is so sentimental!

  13. Awwh, what a lovely tribute. it sounds like she was a fighter!

  14. So sweet… and yum! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Blueberry muffins are seriously one of my favorite things! I’ll have to try these sometime ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. Mmm, so tasty. These look and sound delicious, and I love that they are a trip down memory lane for you each time you make them.

    My grandma always made Pillsbury biscuits for breakfast when we would visit. Anytime I have those, I think of her. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. What lovely memories you have with your grandparents! That’s the absolute best! And those muffins… YUM! I love that they’re simple and they just look so tasty!

    As for memories with my family… when I stayed over my great grandparents’, my great grandpa would always cook a full breakfast at like 6:00 AM and the first thing I’d smell was sausage patties :).

  18. I ADORE this post!!!! What precious Grandparents you have. ๐Ÿ™‚ I still make my Grandma’s recipes too and it’s almost like stepping back into her kitchen.

    Hugs and love to you!!!! Missing them is the hardest part of remembering. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

