10 Years Ago VS. Today

Recently I was thinking about how different some of my favorite things are than they were a decade ago. So I thought it would be a fun post to do a then vs. now look at life. 🙂

Fast Food: 

10 years ago my fast food of choice would have been Taco Bell (their tacos were my faaaav!)

Today: Chick Fil A, hands down.

Favorite Food: 

10 years ago I would probably have picked pizza as my favorite food. At least that’s what I ate the most.

Today: Probably still pizza, haha! Though it would be a tie with spaghetti. And then closely followed by chicken ‘n dumplin’s, taco salad, steak and baked potatoes, bbq nachos, chicken stirfry, jambalaya, and lasagna soup. What can I say? I have a lot of favorite foods. 🙂

pizzaThat’s me being super attractive while chowing down on pizza back in 2008. 😉

Breakfast: 

10 years ago I hardly knew what breakfast was. On the rare occasion that I ate it, it was either cereal, blueberry muffins, or waffles. Or maybe leftover cold pizza.

Today: I eat breakfast every single day. Smoothies, oatmeal, and cereal are my most common breakfasts, but pancakes and blueberry muffins are my favorites.

Relationship: 

10 years ago I had been dating my first ever boyfriend for a year and a half.

Today: We just celebrated 11 years together this past September and 7 years of marriage this past August.

Us 10 years ago on the left / Us 10 days ago on the right

Age / Life Stage:

10 years ago I was an 18-year-old sophomore in college studying theology and education.

Today: Well, you can do math. 😉 I’m a 28-year-old who did not pursue a job in either of my fields of study. Instead I am a photographer who utilizes my college degrees through volunteer work.

Work:  

10 years ago I worked four part time jobs while going to school full time with a double major. #overachiever

Today: I’m a photographer and make my own hours. I also keep two kids for a couple of hours a few days a week. I used to be full time with them, but just as my photography business really took off, my schedule with the kids changed which has been such a blessing. I love that I don’t have to choose one over the other. 🙂

photographer rach3

Car: 

10 years ago I didn’t have a car. Christopher did, but he shared it with his brother and his brother tended to need it at the same times we did. So instead we usually caught a ride with someone else. Or I borrowed a car. The two cars I borrowed the most frequently were both convertibles and they kind of spoiled me.

Today: I drive a tiny Scion XA and it is my baby. His name is Apollo. For the past two years we’ve been shopping around for either a Jeep or a Mustang convertible, but we just haven’t found one that we love enough for the price we want yet. And it’s hard for me to part with Apollo. He has been such a good car to us for the past five years!

Coffee Shop of Choice:

10 years ago I hung out at local coffee shops with my friends all the time.

Today: I’m a total sell out and adore Starbucks. To be fair: Starbucks is one of the few places that can make a drink that I can actually have (that is decaf, sugar free, dairy free and still tastes amazing).

us2

Shopping:

10 years ago my go-to store was Walmart. It was cheap and had everything. Perfect for my college student budget.

Today: my go-to store is definitely Target. The Walmarts in Memphis aren’t quite as nice as the one I went to when I was in college. So I started shopping around until I found Target. I’ve been sold ever since. It’s a magical place. 😉

Hair Care:

10 years ago my hair care routine was all about the Fructis shampoo & conditioner and the Paul Mitchell Skinny Serum. My hair was usually styled in braids or a pony tail. Occasionally I would wear it down, but not often.

Today: I still use Paul Mitchell’s Skinny Serum sometimes as well as the It’s A 10 Miracle Leave In Conditioner. I rotate through different shampoos & conditioners, but they are always sulfate-free now (which is magic for my hair). My favorites have been the L’Oreal EverSleek line and the Aveeno Pure Renewal line. My hair is typically styled in a side braid, a bun, or down and curled.

Giving my sister a piggy back ride 10 years ago while rocking my braids / Rocking a bun lately

Superhero: 

10 years ago my favorite superhero was definitely Superman. Christopher and I had legitimate conversations about why we liked different superheros (he was a Batman fan).

Today: Christopher is still a Batman fan and I still like Superman, but if I had to pick a favorite superhero now… I’d say Captain America. He’s just such a solid guy. Courteous, kind, and brave. {disclaimer: I never read the comic books so if Captain America was a jerk in those, I don’t want to know. I like my happy movie-version-only bubble. 😉 }

Books:

10 years ago all I read was stuff for school. Mostly massive and very serious books about theology with a couple of fun education ones thrown in. I loved it because I’ve always loved learning, but there was no time for “reading-for-fun”.

Today: 99% of what I read is “fun”. Young Adult Fiction is my jam. Every now and then I’ll read a more serious book, but not often.

 —

Some things are still the same. I still love Jesus and feel passionately about social justice issues. I still shop primarily at thrift stores for my clothes (that’s right – I did that 10 years ago before it was the “cool” hipster thing to do 😉 ). I still love blogging and documenting life through photos. I’ve still never been pulled over (knock on wood!). I still volunteer with teenagers (yes, I was volunteering with teenagers while I was still a teenager, ha!). And I still really love my friends and family. 🙂

So tell me, what’s something that is really different about your life today than it was 10 years ago? Or better yet, do one of these posts as well so I can see lots of differences! 🙂

Love Rach

57 responses to “10 Years Ago VS. Today

  1. Same here, pizza lover all the way! I could eat it every day. I do really like this tag, maybe I’ll do it myself some time!

  2. I adore this post!! You so had me at food and coffee!! I was the same way a decade ago, TB but now Chick Fil A all the way and ten years ago I had never even heard of Starbucks!

  3. I’m a total pizza lover. If you can believe it, I have never had Chick Fil A, I know I know. One day I will. There is one near my house, I just have never been. Everyone I know loves it tho.

  4. This is such an awesome post! I love the idea – I may have to steal it! Chick fil a really is so delicious…but like you Taco Bell used to be my favorite. Pretty much anything from there was a win for me. Happy Wednesday!

  5. oh man. you must not have good local shops around your area!
    all of the ones here are really accommodating!

  6. This is such a good idea for a post! If I can think of good prompts and actually remember the answers from 10 years ago (my memory isn’t too great! ha!) then I might have to do one of these too!

  7. Taco Bell is still legit but you cant beat Chick Fil A…. Congrats on your marriage and anniversary!!! 🙂

  8. I love this! And totally stealing it for myself. 😛 This is the year of my 10 year college reunion, too so it’s a great time to reflect! 🙂

  9. Taco Bell was my favorite fast food 10 years ago too!!!! Now I try to avoid fast food all together but if I must, Chick Fil A or Whataburger is where it is at for me. I used to only read school books as well. I drove a 1998 Toyota Camry 10 years ago and now I have a Nissan Rogue. This is such a fun post!!!

  10. this is such a fun post! look how cute you guys were 10 years ago! adorable. target is YA fiction are definitely my jam!

  11. I love this! Such a fun way of looking back and seeing how you have changed! The breakfast one is totally me too! I always used to skip and now can’t live without it!

  12. I should do this–what a neat idea! Pizza is also my favourite food of all time, and I’ve shameless named every car I’ve ever owned!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  13. Love this post idea! Chick-fil-A is definitely my favorite fast food too, and I love YA fiction! 🙂

  14. What a fun idea for a post! You’re so clever. I loved getting to know a bit about you back then, and see how that compares to now. Captain America would be my favorite too, even though I don’t really know anything about him. I just think that Kevin would be Captain America if he were a superhero, so of course I like him. 🙂

    I think we would have been friends back then just like we are now – lots in common. 🙂

  15. You look great with a bun 🙂 I do love Chick-fil-A. It seems like fast food but not so greasy.

  16. Is it bad that my fast food restaurant of choice is still Taco Bell? Love this post idea!

  17. Aw what a cute post idea! I love how different you seemed to be 10 years ago. And don’t worry– I’m not using my college major either LOL! Political science and I’m working in hospital administration. Go figure 😉

  18. LOL I’m with you on the food… it’s so hard to pick an absolute favorite! Pizza is definitely in my top choices, too!
    I love Jeeps! I’m looking around for one, too… thinking about getting one in Spring. They’re expensive though!

  19. What a fun post! I read way more YA fiction now than when I was a teen 🙂

  20. Such a fun idea! I think my fast food is definitely the same, ha! Now I only eat Chick Fil A. I definitely have the same breakfast feelings too.

  21. This is such an awesome post idea… I might have to give it a shot. It was fun to read about who you were then vs now. I also use the paul Mitchell skinny serum and did ten years ago too. 🙂

  22. chickfila!! always the best. i love reading these things and might steal it from ya! ps: i don’t always comment but i still read all your posts! 🙂

  23. How fun, I love that time hop photo of you and Christopher! Major upgrade from Walmart to Target too, good choice. 🙂

  24. i love this!! great idea. and i kinda love the curly look on the hub!

  25. This was so much fun to read, Rach! How interesting that some things have changed in your life, but the core of who you are hasn’t! And you’ve never been pulled over?! You’re definitely an angel or something, haha! I was pulled over once (so far…) for driving too slow haha. It’s so weird for me to think that 10 years ago, I was 13-years-old!!!

    • Ha! It’s funny because I think of you as my friend & peer, but the fact that you were 13 when I was in college took my aback for a minute. But that makes sense. I’m glad we are friends!!

      So funny that you were pulled over for going too slow!! How slow were you going?

  26. We have a lot in common! I too love chick fil a, books, and target. I’m anti Walmart because they put small business owners out of work and they don’t treat their workers fairly. I’m also big on justice; God tells us to seek justice and defend the oppressed (Isaiah 1:17) such a fun read, thx for sharing!

  27. This post is so so fun! I love your list.

    I’m borrowing your idea and am in the process of writing a post like this right now!

  28. What a creative post idea!!! I’ve been thinking a lot about how much I’ve changed! I actually have a list going…There are so many things that are true of me now that I wouldn’t have dreamed would be true just 10 years ago! It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

