A classy sort of dinner

Friends, do I ever have a treat for you today. Christopher and I had dinner with friends on Valentine’s day (I know, romance right there, ha!) so I made our romantic dinner the next evening. It’s romantic because there’s shrimp and wine. Which just makes it sound classy. 😉 But really risotto is pretty simple. It requires a little attention throughout the process, but mostly you just let your stove do the work.

bacon and shrimp risotto (1).JPG

I would like to tell you that this is an old Italian family recipe passed down through the generations. But it’s not. And I don’t have a sweet story about my grandmother making it every time I visited or about how this was the first meal we had in our home. But it is delicious. And decadent. And makes you feel accomplished for cooking something that seems complicated.

bacon and shrimp risotto (2)

Bacon and Shrimp Risotto
(from How Sweet Eats)

Ingredients:

1 cup arborio rice
4 slices center cut bacon, chopped
1 cup dry white cooking wine
2 cups chicken stock + more if needed
2 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
6 ounces cooked shrimp
1/4 cup dry white cooking wine

Directions:

1. Heat a saucepan on medium heat. Chop bacon slices and add to pan, frying until crispy. Remove with a slotted spoon and set aside, leaving bacon drippings in pan. Add garlic to pan and then one cup of rice. Stir to toast rice for about 2 minutes.

2. Pour in one cup of wine and turn heat down to a simmer, allowing rice to soak it up. Stir occasionally. Add one cup chicken stock and allow rice to absorb it. Stir. Add second cup of chicken stock and allow it to absorb. Taste rice to check if it is soft. If it’s not ready, add another 1/4-1/2 cup liquid and allow to absorb then recheck.

3. While rice is absorbing the last cup of liquid, saute shrimp in a olive oil, garlic and cooking wine until shrimp are cooked and opaque. When risotto is done stir in shrimp and fold in bacon, reserving a few pieces for garnish. Serve immediately.

Even though it’s simple to  make, Christopher and I usually save this for special occasions because it’s so rich. We’ve made it a handful of times over the past 5 years since I first discovered the recipe on Jessica’s blog and it has been a winner every single time. So trust me, you should try it! 🙂

Have you tried making risotto before? 

Do you have a favorite meal that you like to make for special occasions?

Love Rach

23 responses to “A classy sort of dinner

  1. This looks amazing!!! Can’t wait to try it out!

  2. This sounds delicious. Once I saw bacon in the ingredients list, it became a done deal. Definitely trying!

  3. Sounds so delicious! I have never making risotto before! Usually I will always make Fried beehoon (Rice Noodle) when there is a potluck! You might want to try too 🙂
    Everybody love it!

  4. Risotto is my FAVORITE, and I seriously can’t believe I’ve never thought to put bacon in it!! Bacon makes everything better! Can’t wait to try this!

  5. I LOVE risotto, but I never take the time to make it myself because…. Kids! I may just have to now though!

  6. This looks and sounds absolutely lovely! I think it’s so cute that you save certain meals as special occasion meals. That makes them very special indeed!

  7. I have never made risotto before but I love it! So delicious!

  8. I’d probably double that portion lol. But it does look yum! Risotto can be so yum.

  9. looks delicious! where are your plates from? so sweet.
    xx, lauren
    laurensparkle.com

  10. Mmmm, I’m definitely going to make this sometime soon. It looks so delicious and comforting.

  11. GASP! Yums. That looks so decadent. Love it.

Leave a Reply

