A healthy start to the day

My, oh my, what a weekend. I’m actually going to share more about it later after I get my hands on some photos so until then I’m going to share with you guys theΒ smoothie I missed all weekend. I’ve been on a Green Monster smoothie kick lately and going from having that for breakfast every morning to having greasy breakfasts all weekend was a bit of a shock to the system. I was so glad to have my spinach filled smoothie again this morning! πŸ™‚

green monster smoothie (3)

I’m sure most of you remember the days when the Green Monster reigned supreme. It was only a few years ago when it seemed like everyone was drinking them.Β I definitely was on board that train. I loved them. But like all breakfasts for me. I’ll have one thing for breakfast for months (3-6 usually) and then one day wake up and absolutely not want that one thing for breakfast anymore so I’ll switch to something else for the next few months. Most things eventually come around in rotation again. I went through two cycles of Green Monsters, but itΒ had been years since I last had one.

green monster smoothie (2).JPG

Until lately. For the past month, the Green Monster has been all I’ve craved for breakfast. And I’m not complaining. It’s a super healthy start to my day. Not quite as much protein as my previous favorite smoothie (which will no doubt come back into rotation again next summer), but still super delicious and nutritious.

green monster smoothie (1).JPG

In case you haven’t heard of a Green Monster before and are thinking that it sounds like a blended salad, it’s not like that at all! You really don’t taste the spinach in it – it just tastes like a yummy smoothie.Β It was created by Angela at Oh She Glows (her classic Green Monster recipe here) and took the Healthy Living Community by storm several years ago (me included). Just recently I was going through old recipes on this blog and remembered my love for the Green Monster. So I decided to make it again to see if I still loved it. Oh, I do. So much.Β Β So today I’m sharing my favorite version with you guys.

green monster smoothie (4)

Green Monster Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 small banana, previously broken into chunks and frozen
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tbsp peanut butter
1 cup baby spinach
3 ice cubes

Directions:

Layer ingredients into your blender in the order listed above and blend until you can no longer see bits of spinach and smoothie is creamy.

Have you had a Green Monster smoothie before? If so, what did you think?

If you haven’t had a Green Monster smoothie, would you try one?Β 

Love Rach

48 responses to “A healthy start to the day

  1. Yum, this sounds good. I made a smoothie yesterday for breakfast – spinach, banana, frozen mango and lemon juice. Delicious! Definitely needed after eating crappy during the weekend.

  2. I haven’t had a Green Monster smoothie before, but I think I’ll try yours! I usually like smoothies with bananas. πŸ™‚

  3. Mmm, sounds tasty! I’ll have to give it a try sometime soon. I am not into smoothies in the winter because they seem too cold, but in the summer they are perfect!

  4. I definitely was on the Green Monster smoothie kick for awhile too, but it’s been awhile since I’ve made one. I think this is a great breakfast idea for me to incorporate into my week as well, especially since I’m trying to add more veggies. Thank you for reminding me of how much I love them!! πŸ™‚
    P.S. I LOVE your glass!! πŸ™‚

  5. Talk about healthy dose of vitamins!! I love these things and used to make them for my boys all the time!! Super Smoothie I called them. Soooo good!!

  6. I love smoothies but I gotta admit, I don’t really like bananas or peanut butter but I can at times tolerate a banana in my smoothie. I used to make a green smoothie that was spinach a banana, pineapple and milk! So good!

    AND I totally get the breakfast kick thing for a few weeks and then having to switch. My latest two were Reeses Puffs (so unhealthy) and Noosa yogurt!

    • Angela (from Oh She Glows) has a couple of non banana green monster smoothies! I bet she has a couple that would sound good to you! πŸ™‚ Your banana, pineapple, spinach, and milk one sounds really good too! Yum!

      I’m glad you get the whole breakfast kick thing! I’m not sure why I do that. I wish I would just rotate through different things because 3 months straight of blueberry bagels for breakfast isn’t exactly the healthiest thing ever. πŸ˜‰ At least right now I’m on a smoothie kick so that’s good! πŸ™‚

  7. We got a blender for Christmas and ever since, smoothies are the norm. I like green smoothies (though not peanut butter), but Angel thinks only fruits should go inside. Sometimes we alternate between our different preferences of recipes…

    • Alternating is good! Christopher eats egg white omelets with kale, mushrooms, and swiss cheese every morning which just makes me gag. Ha! I like eggs just fine, but for some reason they make me sick first thing in the morning. So we have his & hers breakfast every morning. We make them side by side so that’s romantic, right? Or something like that. πŸ˜‰

  8. I’ll take one of those! I’m sick so I can use all the extra vitamins I can get.

  9. Oh this looks amazing. I love making smooithes πŸ™‚

    Corinne x

  10. i blogged about one once, but this one sounds WAY yummier to me!! will be trying soon.

  11. I have a smoothie ever single morning for breakfast! It’s seriously the best way to get going. I’m going to try this one out!

    http://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  12. This is a great way to pack greens into your diet- I need to try this! πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  13. I am like you, I went on a kick with them for several months a few years ago and then couldn’t do them anymore. My favorite shake now is a peanut butter protein one but I haven’t done that lately either. My breakfast obsession is grain free banana bread this week.

    • Mmm grain free banana bread sounds delicious! I have a peanut butter chocolate smoothie (my previous kick) that was packed full of protein that was super awesome. But this one is a bit lighter which is nice to change things up. πŸ™‚

  14. Sounds like a great smoothie! I need to change up my breakfast πŸ™‚

  15. I have been having a green smoothie every day for over a year now and I have so much more energy because of it.

  16. That would certainly get me up in the AM! My healthy start to the day is … Going straight to the gym first thing!

  17. I haven’t had this one yet. Thanks for sharing, going to make it next week!

  18. That is SO EASY and sounds so good!! Def trying this and adding some kale to the mix πŸ™‚ I am the same way with breakfast, I eat the same thing everyday and then just get over it one day!! haha

  19. This smoothie sounds so delicious!

  20. I totally remember the green monster phase in blogging! They were all the rage! I don’t think I’ve ever had one, though, haha! I need to try it because it sounds great and healthy!

  21. You had me at banana and peanut butter!

  22. I need to start making smoothies! This looks so yummy… and nourishing! I just find that smoothies make me colder, so I don’t really crave them in the winter :/ but this looks so perfect! Also, I’m right there with ya Rach!! It’ll be the same brekkie for months and then I’ll be like, nahh I’m over it!! hahaha πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

