Kitchen Renovation: We have counter tops!

Four months ago I shared with you guys the progress we were making in our kitchen renovation. We thought that we were nearly done with it at the time, but got held up with counter tops.

countertops (1)Check out my makeshift plywood “counter top” that I had for far too long while we tried to decide what we wanted to do for permanent counter tops.

You see, we have Corian counter tops and when we added the extra cabinet space we found a perfect match to the Corian we already had. “Hooray!” we thought. Except not really. Because we couldn’t find anyone who would sell just a small slab of it to us. We kept calling around for scraps, but no one had a small piece. And we didn’t want to buy an enormous slab of Corian when we only need a small part of it. So my carpenter husband built a counter top instead. I was a little unsure of how I would feel about two different surfaces side by side in the kitchen, but for the massive cost difference ($800+ vs $70), I was willing to at least give it a try.

countertops (2)

You guys,  I love it. Maybe because the rustic wood look is so in right now. But somehow it works. It’s not quite as bright as it appears in the photos here (see the first photo up there with my makeshift counter top for a better idea of the actual color). It’s a dark espresso color that perfectly matches the other cabinets in our kitchen. I took these shots this morning when the sunlight was streaming in so it makes them look brighter than they really are.

countertops (4)

Side by side. I was worried that it would really bother me to have such different colors (one so light and one so dark) and different textures (wood & Corian), but I really do love it. And the good news is that if I ever decide that I don’t love it anymore, we can easily remove it and replace the counter tops with something different.

countertops (3).JPG

Christopher really loves the wood counter top. He actually suggested that it be wood long before we knew that continuing our Corian wasn’t going to be a good option. He thought the two toned look would be cool. I took a bit of convincing, but now that we have them, I am smitten!

We’ve actually had counter tops for a couple of months now, but I kept waiting to update you guys until we had the rest of the kitchen complete. But then the holidays and Christopher’s crazy work schedule hit. So I think I’ll just keep updating you guys in pieces as it comes together! We’re hoping to get a bit more done this weekend! 🙂

Would you try two-toned surfaces in your kitchen? If it weren’t for the $800 that it saved us, I never would have even considered it. But I love it now (partially because my husband hand-crafted it and partially because it just really does look cool)! 🙂

Love Rach

50 responses to “Kitchen Renovation: We have counter tops!

  1. So fun! We need a new island countertop soon… can’t wait to have all the projects done!

    • Islands are so great in kitchens! Our kitchen is galley style so it doesn’t have space for an island, but I do love that they offer more space and FOUR sides for different people to all work together in the kitchen! 🙂 Have fun picking out your new island countertop! 🙂

  2. That looks fantastic! I love the dark, espresso color! I have two-toned counters in my kitchen I think it works just fine – as long as the colors compliment each other!

    xx, Caitlin

  3. Wow I can’t believe he made that! It looks wonderful, and I agree that the two toned and handmade aspect made it look so great. Love it!

  4. I think it looks awesome! And most of all, I love that your husband made it. What a special thing!

  5. I love it! Two tones in the kitchens are really in right now whether it be countertops, cabinets, doors it just all looks great. Cannot wait to see all the rest of the details! Have a glorious weekend gorgeous!

  6. Oh it looks fantastic! I’m such a fan of the rustic look. I really do think it’s timeless! What a unique, beautiful addition to your kitchen.

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  7. Oooh pretty! I love the wood! I would like to add an island to our kitchen with a wood counter. I think it looks nice!

  8. It looks great! And saving you over $700 is a major win!

    • Oh my goodness, yes! Just the materials alone for the Corian were $800 not to mention the cutting and installation fees! It would have likely run us close to a grand just for one small spot of countertop! Yeesh! Times like these make me grateful that my husband is so good with building things. I definitely do not have that skill, ha!

  9. YAY Christopher! Wow, so talented!! I love the two-toned colors too (but like you, I would have been nervous about it at first). The two tones make the side cabinets almost look like a hutch or separate piece of furniture… It’s very modern country, and I think it looks GREAT!

  10. This looks GREAT!! I love the wood.

  11. Love the wood countertop! I love the rustic feel!

  12. I am so impressed by your hubby’s handiwork! And I totally thought that part was a separate piece of furniture. I seriously love it!

  13. It looks great! Love the rustic look, and the savings is nice, too 🙂

  14. That entire cabinet looks so nice! I’m always a little jealous of girls who have husbands who can just build things from nothing like that. We’re friends with a couple who have an amazing, giant screened – in deck on the back of their house. When they moved in, it wasn’t there. The husband just decided to build it, and now it’s like a whole other room on their house! Whenever I need a new bookshelf or anything, I just have to try to find one in the store or find a builder who isn’t ridiculously expensive. You are lucky! 🙂 On Feb 26, 2016 8:08 AM, “WordPress.com” wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Four months ago I shared with you guys > the progress we were making in our kitchen renovation. We thought that we > were nearly done with it at the time, but got held up with counter tops. > Check out my makeshift plywood “counter top” that I had for far too l” >

    • ​That screened in deck sounds amazing! Good for her husband!! We really need to do more with our backyard space. It’s pretty pitiful, haha! And girl, I’m glad he can do it too! We would be up the creek without a paddle if it were up to me to build things. ;)​

  15. I love this! I think it adds some interest/texture.

  16. Love how it turned out!!! Such a beautiful kitchen!

  17. They are beautiful, and even better that your husband made them too!

  18. That’s amazing!!!! And it fits PERFECTLY! 🙂

    I wouldn’t have considered it either, but with THAT kind of savings, it would have been right up my alley!!! Plus, it does look great!

    I’m glad you love it!

    • He really did do a great job with it! And when I finally find barstools for the bar height table he built for the other wall in this room, it’ll show how perfectly the surfaces go together (it also has the same espresso wood top)! 🙂 Now just to find barstools…

  19. wow, it looks amazing! two tone is totally in right now anyway 😉 haha. but for that cost difference, it’s a no brainer!

  20. thehipandthrifty

    Wow, that looks so beautiful. The wood is so nicely stained–it looks like the really expensive wood you get at specialty stores. Plywood is our go-to for projects, as well, but I wouldn’t have thought that was plywood. That’s really well done! 🙂

  21. 😍 That looks absolutely amazing!!!! Countertops and all!!

  22. The counter tops look awesome together! Christopher really knows what he’s doing! The dark espresso color is fabulous, too! I am the same way you are with needing to be convinced on some design things!! Jimmy has yet to steer us wrong, but I can never visualize stuff until it’s done and looks amazing, haha.

  23. Pingback: Kitchen Project: We have a Bar & Bar Stools! |

  24. Pingback: The Kitchen Nook: Before & After |

Leave a Reply

