Leap Day!

Happy Leap Day, friends! To celebrate, I give you this Q & A with Christopher all about this special day! These questions are coming to you courtesy of According to Laura Jean & Heavens to Betsy who host the Guys Behind the Blog monthly link up.

(1) This year is Leap Year – what are you going to do to celebrate?

We were planning to eat at a swanky restaurant downtown, but just found out last night that they won’t be open. So I’m not quite sure what we’ll do. Hopefully we’ll come up with something awesome!

(2) If you could create an obscure holiday, what would it be and why?

It would be a grill out day. Everyone would grill out and have friends and family over. We would play corn hole and bocce ball.

(3) Have you seen the movie Leap Year? If not, tell us about another romantic comedy you have seen.

Yeah, but I don’t really remember it. I have seen Meet the Parents and it awesome. I really liked all the awkward conversations. I secretly hope to be like the dad someday and do that to my future sons-in-law.

(4) Tradition has it that women are supposed to propose to their men on Leap Day. Would you have said yes if your girl popped the question?

Even though I’m probably a little bit of a traditionalist when it comes to proposals, I still would’ve said yes if she had asked because I loved her and knew I wanted to marry her long before I proposed anyway.

(5) If you had to have a special event take place on leap day, what would it be (ex: wedding, birthday, birth of your child, etc)?

Definitely my birthday. I would age four times slower.

engagementpic2(us not long after we got engaged)

Your turn, reader! What obscure holiday would you create? I’m thinking something where everyone goes to the beach and enjoys the sunshine!

Tell me friends, would you propose to your guy (or if you’re already married, would you have)? We got engaged when I was a senior in college and at that time, I don’t think I would have proposed to him. Mostly because the (private college in the South) culture we were in at the time put a lot of importance on the guy proposing and I never wanted him to feel that he had missed out. However, we had talked all about marriage and a future together long before we got engaged and I initiated nearly as many of those conversations as he did. So really, we both brought up the marriage thing and talked about the future before we got officially engaged. So the actual proposal was just icing on the we-already-knew-we-wanted-to-get-married cake. 😉

Love Rach

50 responses to “Leap Day!

  1. I think the singer Pink is the only woman i’ve heard of that proposed to the man. not sure it was on leap day though!! 😉

    • I didn’t know she proposed to her boyfriend. How interesting! None of my girlfriends got down on one knee and proposed to their boyfriends, but one of my besties from college had an “engagement day” with her boyfriend. They didn’t want to do a traditional “proposal” so instead they picked a day to officially get engaged and spent the day doing their favorite things as a couple. It fit their personality as a couple so while it was unusual, it didn’t really surprise me. The important thing is that the couple’s relationship progresses in a way that they are both happy with. 🙂

  2. Haha this is awesome! And I forgot about that leap year movie. I’m going to have to watch it tonight!

  3. Oh man I loved the movie Leap Year. It was so cute and I adore Matthew Goode.

  4. I don’t know if I could ask my husband to marry me. Although u do ask him all the time if I did ask him would he have said yes? And he says he would have if I asked him.

  5. This was a fun post to read! 🙂

    I love Christopher’s answer about grill out day!!! I’m allll over that!

    Were you guys seriously planning to go out tonight?!?! That would have been fun! I can’t wait to hear what you come up with instead. 🙂

    I wouldn’t propose. That’s the man’s job. If he can’t do that, well then….I think it would say something about how the rest of the marriage would go! 😉 I’m pretty traditional too!

    • We were planning to go out. There’s a swanky restaurant downtown that we haven’t been to in several years and we had planned to go, but then found out they wouldn’t be open. Bummer! It’s okay, though, because we made a fancy dinner at home. 🙂

  6. Fun to read! I like to imagine Christopher being like the dad on Meet The Parents!! Haha! Also, I think grill out day is genius.

    I can’t imagine myself ever proposing to a guy. I’m just too traditionalist, I think. And fortunately, Kevin is the same way!

    • Oh my goodness, it’s going to be so interesting to see Christopher as a dad. One of his biggest concerns is being able to be strict with our kids because he’s such a push over for cute kids. 😉 But of course that leads right into him being crazy over protective dad when it comes to people our kids date. Which of course turns him into the dad from Meet the Dad. 😉

      It’s good you guys are on the same page about roles in the relationships. I think that’s so important!

  7. I was okay with hinting but proposing myself? Nah 🙂

    • Haha! Totally understandable. 🙂 None of my girlfriends got down on one knee and proposed to their boyfriends, but one of my besties from college had an “engagement day” with her boyfriend. They didn’t want to do a traditional “proposal” so instead they picked a day to officially get engaged and spent the day doing their favorite things as a couple. It fit their personality as a couple so while it was unusual, it didn’t really surprise me. The important thing is that the couple’s relationship progresses in a way that they are both happy with. 🙂

  8. hahaha i don’t know if meet the parents is really a romantic comedy haha. i wouldn’t know though, i haven’t seen it. i love the movie leap year though, it’s so adorable.

  9. I love the idea of a grill out day! Would be so much fun! 🙂

  10. Hahaha a grill out day sounds unreal! What a perfect summertime event.

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  11. Cute!!!
    I want a second Christmas holiday.
    Or maybe just s summer holiday where family and friends have a reason to get together to eat food, drink drinks and give each other presents. 😀
    So like Christmas in July should be a national celebration, is what I’m actually saying. 😉

  12. What a fun Q&A! I’m watching Leap Year right now… 🙂

  13. Grill out day sounds awesome. That is totally something I could get on board with!

  14. Super cute read, lady! And I’m with you- let’s create some sort of beach holiday! I could get behind that, for sure. 🙂

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  15. What a sweetie! These are some of my favorite post! And I’m with you…any day at the beach would be wonderful!

  16. Good questions! I feel like I initiated my proposal because I kept bugging Justin about why we weren’t engaged yet, especially when all of our friends (who had been dating not as long as we had! ) were getting engaged and married. And we ended up getting into an argument, and somehow we were engaged by the end of it. 😛 But actually, according to my mother, he had asked permission months ago and was just waiting until he could save up enough money to buy a ring. So I didn’t BULLY him into it. LOL On Feb 29, 2016 8:32 AM, “WordPress.com” wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Happy Leap Day, friends! To celebrate, > I give you this Q & A with Christopher all about this special day! These > questions are coming to you courtesy of According to Laura Jean & Heavens > to Betsy who host the Guys Behind the Blog monthly link up. (” >

  17. This is beyond precious and made me smile from ear to ear!! Beach holiday..yes please, so need it, it snowed 4 inches today but the sun shined on this sweet post!!

  18. His idea for a holiday was perfect! I think that one should be a holiday that comes around every year though. 😉 I definitely wouldn’t have proposed but our background was kind of like yours. We knew it was coming for quite a while, and are pretty traditional too.

    • He loves grilling out in the summer so I’m not surprised he chose that as his holiday. You’re right about it needing to be an annual thing, though! 🙂

      None of my girlfriends got down on one knee and proposed to their boyfriends, but one of my besties from college had an “engagement day” with her boyfriend. They didn’t want to do a traditional “proposal” so instead they picked a day to officially get engaged and spent the day doing their favorite things as a couple. It fit their personality as a couple so while it was unusual, it didn’t really surprise me. The important thing is that the couple’s relationship progresses in a way that they are both happy with. 🙂

  19. What a fun ‘ask the guys’ post! Leap Year is such a fun day!

  20. thehipandthrifty

    1. To celebrate, we went shopping, had smoothies (A LOT of smoothies.), and watched Leap Year, but of course. 🙂
    2. Hmmm. Sometimes my family likes to have a mini Christmas-in-July celebration. It started when my brother was little and feeling sad because he missed Christmas. We don’t do it every year, but it’s always fun! You just get out some old Christmas lights, turn on some Christmas music, dig out those ugly Christmas socks you’ve been stashing, and have a barbeque! Also, yes, this technically exists, but my brother and I always joked that someday we should celebrate Lief Ericsson Day (why is this on our calendar?) by getting everyone together, dressing up as Vikings, and having a ‘Viking Day’ of Viking movies, roasting meat on the grill, and maybe have some kind obstacle course. Because…why not?
    3. Yep, and, sorry Chris, But it’s our Leap Year tradition and I’m afraid I like it more each time I see it!
    4. Meh…I’m not against the idea of a girl proposing to her guy, but I don’t think that’s how I would handle it.
    5. Any of the above sounds fun! However, from a purely selfish, materialistic point of view, you have more potential for presents/birthday glory on a normal birthday! 😛

  21. I am all for grill out day! Let’s make that a thing!! Loved this post!

  22. This was so much fun to read! And YES to grill out day. That needs to be a holiday for real!

  23. I actually did propose to my husband on Leap Day four years ago. He said yes, and then brought out a ring box and asked me. We call it by mutual agreement!

Leave a Reply

