Lately

with my girls

Remember when I mentioned that I went to Gatlinburg with 90 teenagers? I’m finally recovering from that, ha! Just kidding. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, though, I finally got my hands on some of the pictures so I’m sharing this one today. I like that we’re repping Memphis! I loved getting to know these girls more!

sunny february afternoon

Christopher is finally home and his work schedule is back to normal. We are so grateful! This past Sunday we had a list of things to get done around the house, but when it was 70 degrees outside in February, we decided to put the house stuff on hold and just go lay out in the backyard and be lazy with our pup. It was a great decision. πŸ™‚

tn primary voting copy.jpg

Yesterday was Super Tuesday here in Tennessee so Christopher and I went out to vote!Β If you aren’t already registered to vote for the upcoming presidential election in November, you can start that process here. πŸ™‚

welsh cake oatmeal (2).JPG

For those who don’t know, I married into the whole Italian thing. By blood my people are from the British Isles, predominately Wales. Which means that come March 1st every year, we celebrate St. David’s Day. Normally we make Welsh Cakes (see last year’s blog post here), but this year we decided to try a healthier Welsh Cake inspired meal using oats! So we had warm butteryΒ oats with cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and raisins. They were delightful!

Do you celebrate any lesser known holidays every year?

Has it been a mild winter where you are? I hate to speak too soon because we’ve totally gotten ice storms in March, but so far this winter has been pretty bearable! We even have another weekend full of 70’s coming at us!

Love Rach

46 responses to “Lately

  1. That is so neat that you celebrate St. David’s Day! I love lesser known holidays. And I don’t need an excuse for cake. haha

  2. We celebrate Kansas day in my family as well as deck out in green for St. Patty’s Day.

    I have never heard of St. David’s Day but maybe we should celebrate it since my husband’s name is David =)

    Hooray for the wonderful weather. It has been really nice in Kansas too but we also have known to get snow and ice in March, April or May. However, I’ll enjoy every warm day while I can.

  3. Love that you guys put the to-do list aside and just enjoyed the beautiful weather and company last weekend. That is probably just what you both (actually all three of you – Oreo!) needed after a busy February and January!

  4. i celebrate australia day! haha it’s not really lesser known, but it is not a thing here obviously. 90 teenagers though… woah! laying out in the backyard sounds amazing.

  5. Ohhh your healthy Welsh Cakes look good!!!! We have had a pretty mild winter here. And I am kind of excited for the 70 degree weather this weekend….yet sad because before we know it, it is going to be unbearably hot and humid and I am going to be longing for fall hahaha.

  6. I want to know more about St David’s Day! Those welsh cakes look really tasty!

    • St. David was the patron saint of Wales and tradition holds that he died on March 1st in 589 AD so the first of March is the day we celebrate in his honor. πŸ™‚ We usually decorate with daffodils and eat Welsh Cakes! πŸ™‚

  7. The oats look yummy! This winter has been so mild until last week when we started getting snow πŸ™‚

  8. That Mug Welsh Cake looks amazing! It looks like it’s full of all my favorite things! How did the healthier version compare to your normal Welsh Cake recipe?

    xx, Caitlin

    • ​The flavors are really reminiscent of Welsh Cakes because of the spices and butter. However, there’s no total substitution for Welsh Cakes. I mean, they are like scones that are cooked on a griddle on the stove. Carby and delicious. πŸ˜‰

  9. Oh my goodness, that mug looks like it is filled with delicious-ness! Yum! I have never heard of St. David’s Day – I need to look that up!

    • It’s a neat holiday to celebrate! And it makes me feel a little more tied to my Welsh roots. Plus any excuse to make Welsh Cakes (which I think I will be making this weekend since I didn’t have time on Monday). πŸ™‚

  10. Happy St David’s Day πŸ™‚
    It has been fairly mild here, but we are meant to be getting snow tonight and I am a little bit excited for that, I must admit.

  11. I’m told I have Welsh heritage on my mom’s side, but no one on that side of the family is really into ancestry so I don’t know much about it. We mostly celebrate Malaysian/Chinese holidays. Our countrymen are sometimes horrified when they find out that my family doesn’t really celebrate July 4th when we’re abroad–it’s usually a work or school day, fireworks are technically illegal (meaning you can only find shops selling them around big holidays like CNY), no grill, no parade…we tend to figure celebrating July 4th wouldn’t be much fun in Malaysia anyways, so we just stick to celebrating the local holidays.

    • I totally understand that! We always came back to the States for about 6 weeks in the summers which means that I’ve actually never been overseas on July 4th (I didn’t realize that until your comment just now). I can definitely understand how celebrating outside the US could be weird or even anticlimactic since the traditional things we do would be difficult there. But hey, celebrating the local holidays is a great idea! I miss those red envelopes come CNY… πŸ˜‰

  12. i don’t remember ever hearing about st david’s day until this year–it seems like it was all over my social media. i think it’s cool!!

  13. Yes- you absolutely have to forgo housework + chores and spend the day in the sunshine when you get a 70-degree day in February, FOR SURE! πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  14. Hi Rach! Your pup is adorable!!! I really enjoy your blog, and I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Please don’t feel obligated to do it, but I wanted to let you know, ’cause you deserve it! ❀ If you are interested you can check it out here: https://cracksinthefence.wordpress.com/2016/02/28/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/

  15. Yes this winter has been SO much better here than last winter. I am soaking it up, and loving it! That oat bowl looks delicious!

  16. I’ve never even heard of Saint David’s day! But that’s so fun that you celebrate! I just love holidays πŸ™‚ Also, that healthier cake looks delicious!! And YES… this winter has been SO much milder… especially since last winter was the worst one in like 100 years or something for the east coast. So I guess you could say we deserved the break!! haha
    xoxo Cailee!

  17. Holy moly that sounds like you had a busy time with those 90 teens! You’re brave for taking that on hahahaha. I’ve never heard of St. David’s day, but you go for it! It sounds like a great holiday, and you made some delicious things.

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  18. those cinnamon oats look amazing, such a pretty photo. cheers to another warm weekend!
    xx, lauren
    laurensparkle.com

  19. Yay for voting! Our State isn’t highly involved in the preliminary stuff (wish we were!) Pup looks so cute in the pics – putting the house stuff on hold sounds like a great idea to get out in the warm weather!

  20. Yum!!! Those Welsh oats sound delicious! πŸ™‚ What a fun holiday to celebrate!

  21. Is it weird that I’ve never heard of St. David’s Day?! The oats look really tasty, though!

    Yay for voting and Christopher being home and back to normal with work. Love the picture of him and Oreo! ❀

    • Not weird at all! It’s a holiday from Wales and predominately celebrated in the UK. It’s just a fun way for me to connect to my Welsh heritage. I’m also a bit Irish so I’ll celebrate St. Patty’s Day with everyone this week!

Leave a Reply

