The Delightful Cobb Salad

Happy Friday, friends! We have yet another 70 degree weekend headed our way so I am all kinds of happy about that. All this spring weather has me craving salads so I thought today I’d share one of my favorites. The Cobb Salad.

As you guys know, the Cobb Salad was created by Robert Cobb (and if you didn’t know that, then you may have missed this post. πŸ˜‰ ). So today I want to say a public thank you to Mr. Cobb because his creation is one of my absolute favorite salads. I love to have lots of textures, layers, and tastes in my salads and the Cobb Salad is perfect for that.

cobb salad (2)

I mean, really. Bacon, avocado, chicken, tomato, and egg over spring mix… It just doesn’t get much better than that. I mean, I know traditionally there are also chives and blue cheese on this salad, but I don’t like either of those. And I’m chef. So I pick which things I want to leave off. πŸ˜‰

cobb salad (1)

I cooked the chicken by slicing it into small bite size pieces, seasoning it (salt, pepper, smoked paprika), and cooking it on the stove in a bit of olive oil. Delicious every time.

Hope you guys have an awesome weekend wherever you are! Ours will be filled with a concert, house projects, and probably some lazy time enjoying the sunshine. πŸ™‚

What is your favorite salad?

Love Rach

41 responses to “The Delightful Cobb Salad

  1. This salad looks delicious.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. thehipandthrifty

    Oh, my gosh. I’m going to have to make that! πŸ™‚

  3. I want this for breakfast and lunch and dinner. It looks so delicious! I love Cobb salad.

  4. That salad looks delicious! One of my favorites and like you I take off the chives and blue cheese.

    • Yeah! I’m glad you’re with me on that. I know a lot of people think it’s weird to leave off main ingredients (especially the blue cheese because it’s so classic), but I just don’t like them. Glad I’m not alone! πŸ™‚

  5. Yummy yummy! This is making me hungry lol. This looks like a great dish to bring to a party or something. I’m pinning the picture for future reference πŸ˜‰

  6. This salad looks so yummie!!

  7. I’ve been on a big salad kick lately. This looks good!

  8. I adore a good Cobb salad as well And this one is making my mouth water!! I hope you guys have such a good time at the concert and a delightful weekend!

  9. you don’t like chives?! i don’t like bacon, or egg in salads, so we’re even! haha.

    • I really don’t! I’m not sure why I dislike them so much. I think it’s the texture more than anything. Which sounds weird because chives are normally chopped up pretty small. But they just aren’t my fav. But it’s okay, that’s why cooking for yourself is so great – you can make things just the way you like it! πŸ™‚

  10. yum! this look so good and love the presentation!

    • Thanks, girl! I totally don’t make it look like this when I’m eating it just by myself (it’s a lot more piled on top of each other), but I figured to take a picture on the blog I should try and make it pretty, haha!

  11. So pretty and fresh. I’ve honestly never had a cobb salad because EW bleu cheese, so I don’t know why I never thought of just making it at home! I definitely need to make it now!

  12. This looks so delicious, especially the way you made the chicken!

  13. Cobb salad is delicious!!!! I really like greek salads, any salad that has blue cheese in it and I like salads that also have things like dried cranberries, strawberries and apples mixed in. Or even orange slices sometimes!

    • I’m with you on liking all of those salads except ones with blue cheese. πŸ˜‰ There’s just something about that stuff that I can’t eat. But I do love salads with dried cranberries and feta and slivered almonds. Yum! πŸ™‚

  14. This looks seriously amazing! And I love how you plated it in rows like that. Have a wonderful weekend Rach!

    • Thanks, friend! I definitely don’t make it look this pretty when I am making it just for us to eat at home (it’s a lot more piled up on top of itself), but I figured for the blog I should at least try and make it look pretty, haha! πŸ™‚

  15. OKAY YES YES and MORE YES to this salad!! While I am a SALAD NICOISE kind of girl, this one kicks some SERIOUS BUTTT too!

    • Can you believe I’ve never had Salade Nicoise? For some reason the idea of tuna on a salad strikes me as odd, but I should totally give it a try! Because I like all the ingredients in it! I just haven’t tried them together. Thanks for inspiring me, friend! πŸ™‚

  16. That salad does look yummy!

  17. We have just started getting back in to salads and I am so excited that Spring is nearly here.
    All salads must have avocado in them.

  18. i’ll leave out the eggs (i know, i’m a weirdo) and devour the rest πŸ™‚

  19. I literally just read your post and said out loud to myself “why have I never made a cobb salad at home?” cobb salads are the best and yours looks amazing. putting this on the grocery list for next week!

  20. I love food info/history like that! It’s fascinating to me for some reason, haha. Your cobb salad looks absolutely delightful!

  21. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

