Our Favorite Salmon Recipe

In late 2014 Christopher and I found out that his cholesterol level was higher than we wanted it to be. Our diet changed quite a bit for us following that time. One of the big changes is that we eat salmon nearly every week now. We learned a quick & easy way to cook it and once we realized how simple it was, it suddenly was one of the easiest and healthiest things in our meal rotation. And somehow I never shared it with you guys. I think because it seems “too simple” to share as a recipe. But it’s one of the things we eat more than anything else so I thought it was past time to share here. 🙂

baked salmon (1)

Baked Salmon: Preheat oven to 425. Prepare pan by spraying with cooking spray so your fish won’t stick. Place two salmon fillets (usually 4-6 oz/person) skin-side down in a glass pan. Spray fillets with Olive Oil cooking spray (I’ve used Pam & Crisco and both work great). Sprinkle fillets with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Bake for 4-6 minutes per 1/2″ thickness. Salmon is done when it begins to look opaque and fish flakes easily with a fork.

baked salmon (2)

If you’re anything like me, you might be intimidated by cooking fish. Until we found out about us needing to watch Christopher’s cholesterol, we rarely made it at home. For some reason I always worried I would ruin it. Mostly just because I had so little experience with it. But you guys, it is not hard. So if you are intimidated by the idea of cooking fish, don’t be! You’ve got this! 🙂

Do you eat salmon often?

Are you now or have you ever been intimidated by cooking fish?

Love Rach

47 responses to “Our Favorite Salmon Recipe

  1. I love salmon, and this recipe looks great! My favorite way of making salmon is on a cedar plank on a grill! So amazing.

  2. I LOVE salmon! My favorite easy go-to meal is salmon with black beans and yellow rice. We would eat it way more often if it wasn’t so expensive! My favorite (expensive) indulgent snack that I only have once in a blue moon is refrigerated smoked salmon with cream cheese and capers on crackers. Yum! On Mar 11, 2016 8:55 AM, “WordPress.com” wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “In late 2014 Christopher and I found > out that his cholesterol level was higher than we wanted it to be. Our diet > changed quite a bit for us following that time. One of the big changes is > that we eat salmon nearly every week now. We learned a quick & e” >

  3. Everyone I know loves Salmon but me. haha I don’t eat any seafood. I’m a super picky eater.

    • I totally understand! I didn’t come around to liking salmon until just a couple of years ago. I’ve always loved shrimp, crab, & lobster, but I’ve only recently come around to liking fish that isn’t battered and deep fried. 😉

  4. I love salmon! It’s so easy to switch it up using different herbs, spices, and glazes!

  5. We LOVE Salmon although we love fish in general! We find it tasty when we do it in foil packets with a little fresh lemon, tomatoes, and onion on it!

  6. My family and I love salmon, in stir-fry or in a soy sauce marinade. Or even with fried rice, done in our rice-cooker.

  7. We enjoy eating salmon and would love to eat it more, but it’s so expensive! I don’t think we could afford to eat it very often at the prices I see around here. Do you have a good place to recommend to buy it cheaper? Obviously for health reasons I’m sure it’s worth it to pay a bit more 🙂

    • No, we pay a small fortune for wild caught salmon from Sprouts (around $13/lb). Sometimes when I’m in a hurry I’ll stop by the Kroger that is closer to our house than Sprouts is and pick up farm-raised salmon fillets for about $6-$7/lb. I’m still undecided about whether or not it’s really *that* much better for you to buy/eat wild caught fish so I’m pretty back and forth about it, ha! The only NEVER AGAIN salmon were the frozen fillets that I bought from Aldi. You know I love Aldi. But oh my goodness, I dethawed and cooked them exactly according the package directions and it was so terrible that we couldn’t eat them, ha! We fed them to Oreo instead. 😉

  8. i’ve never baked it–idk why! this sounds even easier!

  9. We eat salmon once every week or 10 days or so, and love it! It’s often paired with asparagus, just like it is in your photo!

    When the summer herbs are blooming, I recommend making some basil pesto and slathering it on top of the salmon prior to baking it. Pesto and salmon is an awesome combo!

  10. I am still having a hard time getting on the fish train. I really like sushi rolls but I can’t get in to fish for whatever reason. I am going to keep trying

    • I totally understand! I didn’t even like raw fish in my sushi until just a couple of years ago. And I definitely didn’t come around to liking salmon until around then too. I’ve always loved shrimp, crab, & lobster, but I’ve only recently come around to liking fish that isn’t battered and deep fried. 😉

  11. I feel like salmon has so much potential, but I always cook it wrong!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  12. We never seem to cook fish right. It’s helpful just to know times and temps that make it turn out, because I feel like we’re constantly overcooking our fish!!

  13. What an awesome and simple recipe! Will and I loovvvvveee salmon– we actually just took some out of the freezer for dinner tomorrow 🙂 We really like this simple blackened salmon recipe with avocado and tomato salsa. It is sooo amazing! Here is the recipe 🙂 http://paleotable.com/2012/10/blackened-salmon-on-asparagus-with-chunky-avocado-salsa/

  14. I don’t usually cook fish, but I do love eating salmon 🙂

  15. yes! salmon is my favorite, we eat it twice a week. whole foods has Mediterranean marinated salmon fillets that we do. you have to try them!
    xx, lauren
    laurensparkle.com

  16. How easy! We love salmon. I tend to do it with many Asian based marinades. Also, my favorite cooking spray is the coconut oil one from Trader Joe’s.

    • For some reason we don’t have a TJ’s here in Memphis (a couple of Whole Foods and other health stores, but no TJ’s) so I haven’t tried any of the awesome products from there that people are always raving about. If I’m ever in a TJ’s I’ll have to check out their coconut oil spray! It sounds great. 🙂

  17. Salmon and asparagus is such a classic dish I have not had in a very long time. Looks yum!

  18. this sounds so easy.
    i haven’t found a salmon recipe i actually like – so i may give this a go!

  19. Logan and I both love salmon. It is so easy and super healthy too!

  20. YUMMMMMMY it looks so delicious!! Want to try at home.

    “Aka Rauny (@akarauny), social media manager
    http://www.MAIRANNY.com

  21. I love how fast it cooks too! We do tilapia and it basically just takes the flavor of whatever spices you use on it. I already tried to have fish here and then, but when Jeremy’s cholesterol came out higher than it should I made it a weekly thing too. I haven’t been as great about making it since I’ve been pregnant but I’m going to get back to it soon partly because of how easy and fast it is too!

  22. Salmon is one of my all-time favorite foods. It’s just SO good and I love simple recipes the best! Like this one 🙂 Yum!

  23. That’s exactly how I make it!!! 🙂 I have another yummy recipe in which you marinate the salmon in soy sauce, brown sugar, and garlic. It’s soooo good… but I never seem to remember to marinate the fish to make it. 😉 So just sprinkling it with salt, pepper, and garlic is my go-to choice. I usually make fish once a week, because both Nate and Brady love it.

    • That’s awesome that both your boys like fish! I know a lot of times not everyone in the family likes it so that’s lucky. 🙂 I love that we have the same go-to recipe! I’m bad about remembering to marinate fish/meat too so I hear ya there. 🙂

  24. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

