The Weekend Routine

rach and marty

toph and marty

toph and tony

We spent this past weekend visiting Christopher’s parentsΒ (Tony & Marty) to celebrate his mom’s birthday. His parents are creatures of habit so every weekend when we visit, we just fall into their normal routine. I kind of think it’s adorable that they do the same things every.single.weekend. It means that everywhere my mother-in-law goes,Β everyone knows her. It’s precious. We like to tease her about being a local celebrity. πŸ˜‰ So because I know I’ll enjoy reading back on this someday in the future, here’s what weekends with my parents-in-law tend to look like:

Saturday:

-Breakfast at Waffle House
-Thrift Store Shopping
-Lunch Out (usually at the Chinese buffet, but this week we changed it up at an All American buffet)
-Afternoon running errands
-Family walk
-Dinner at the house (we cooked for the parents in honor of her birthday and it was a hit!)
-Games (Table Tennis & Pool this weekend)
-Hallmark Movies
-Late night cereal snack (this has been part of my mother-in-law’s routine since Christopher still lived at home and has rubbed off on me over the years!)

Sunday:

-Church
-Lunch at Captain D’s
-Christopher & his dad shoot hoops at the house while Marty and I chat
-Do any last minute things we can help them with around the house
-Head home

Add to that, this weekend, we celebrated Marty’s birthday which meant presents! She is so much fun to give gifts to because she loves EVERYTHING you get her. You could wrap up your hairbrush and give it to her and she would think it was sweet because you gave her something you use every day. She’s just one of those sweet souls. Anyway, she got so excited about one of her gifts that she started squealing and screaming and sent the dogs into a frenzy, ha!

I know I have some new readers lately so for those who don’t know, Christopher’s dad suffers from early-onset dementia. So every weekend we get to spend with them, no matter how routine, is precious to us. πŸ™‚

Do you tend to stick to a weekend routine? We try to have Friday night pizza & a movie night, but otherwise our weekends are always different.

Do you know someone who gets really excited about opening gifts?

Love Rach

54 responses to “The Weekend Routine

  1. Friday night is always movie and pizza night in for us. Your in laws are just precious, what special times, I squeal at any gift as well, so important to be grateful. Glad they had the two of you with them this weekend!!

    • I love that you guys do pizza & movie night! My parents started the pizza & movie night with our family when I was growing up and I always loved it. The first time Christopher spent the weekend with my family and experienced Friday pizza & movie night, he was sold. We’ve done it since we were newly weds and I love it! πŸ™‚

      I bet your family love giving you gifts! My sisters, mom, and I all get pretty giddy over gifts, but my mother-in-law takes the cake for most excited, haha!

  2. Your in-laws are so adorable. I think it’s great to have a routine. So jealous that they live near a Waffle House. We don’t have them up here. They have the best waffles.

  3. I love this post! I think it’s so important to document weekends like this because they’re going to be so great to look back on one day! So glad you had a great weekend and some good family time!

    xx, Caitlin

  4. I love that she loves her gifts, that is seriously the sweetest. I have a few relatives that are, to put it lightly, not that way. lucky you!

  5. Growing up, we definitely had traditions like pizza night on Thursdays, movie night on Fridays, visiting grandparents on Sunday afternoons after church, and hiking on Saturdays.
    Nate and I don’t necessarily have that many traditions though, and I’ve been thinking lately about starting some. I think it’s fun to grow up in a home with traditions, and I want Brady to grow up with that. πŸ™‚

  6. I love these black and white photos! It is really sweet that they do the same thing every weekend. Is that something that Christopher’s mom prefers, or is that something that helps your father-in-law (the predictability)? On Mar 14, 2016 8:26 AM, “WordPress.com” wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: ” We spent this past weekend visiting > Christopher’s parents (Tony & Marty) to celebrate his mom’s birthday. His > parents are creatures of habit so every weekend when we visit, we just fall > into their normal routine. I kind of think it’s adorable that ” >

  7. That sounds fun!! Your in laws sound so sweet πŸ™‚

  8. Your in laws sound wonderful! Mine are very much creatures of habit too. They even have their favorite places to eat when they visit us in Chicago! Haha.

    • Aww, that’s precious! When my mother-in-law could still travel (she can’t now because of my father-in-law’s condition), she had her list of favorite things to do in Memphis as well. It’s funny how some people are such creatures of habit. Our weekends are never the same. However, I’m totally a creature of habit when it comes to food. I order the same thing at restaurants all the time and Christopher is forever teasing me about it. πŸ˜‰

  9. Aren’t your in laws the sweetest πŸ™‚ This was such a warm and nice read. It is really awesome that you both tend to them so lovingly. Our weekend routine also involves a movie and if possible to explore some places around. πŸ™‚ Pizzas used to be a part of it but then those extras on the hips changed our minds πŸ˜€

    • ​We love spending weekends exploring, too! Both by traveling and even exploring our own city. πŸ™‚

      I understand passing on the pizza, but if you ever want to make it a healthier version, I’ve got an awesome recipe for you! Our pizza of choice lately is a whole wheat, thin crust pizza with my momma’s homemade pizza sauce recipe, and fresh mozzarella! It’s so delicious and not too terrible health-wise. πŸ˜‰ ​

      • Wow you MAKE your own pizza ? O_o . I knew it. I knew you are one of those well-rounded women perfect in all aspects from cooking to photography leaving lesser mortals like us to crush on your abilities πŸ˜€
        I will surely check the recipe,it sounds so awesome and maybe years later when I have the patience I will do so πŸ˜€

        • HA! Oh girl, you are hilarious! I am so incredibly average in most things in life. Not bad at them, just not exceptional. Definitely a normal person. I just so happen to have a gift with the camera and just happen to love cooking. You should see some of my serious kitchen fails over the years. It has definitely been a practice-makes-perfect sort of thing. πŸ˜‰

          • Okay I will stick to this version but part of me still hovers around the “just happen to” aspects you said πŸ˜€ Between incredibly average, I like that usage πŸ™‚ Makes you feel good about being average πŸ˜‰ heehee..

  10. I think a routine can be so fun! Your in-laws sound like such sweet people. I love that Christopher plays a little basketball with his dad!
    Evelina @ Fortunate House

    • His dad is the one who first taught him to play basketball so those moments are especially close to my heart when the shoot hoops together now. There’s a lot his dad can’t do for himself anymore, but even though his memory is fading, his muscle memory still knows what to do when it comes to shooting baskets. He can sink them one right after another. Which truly, is incredible since there’s so much else he can’t do anymore. I love those moments!

  11. I love this ❀️ Such a sweet weekend! I love how she is the local celebrity πŸ˜‰ Our weekends are pretty different most of the time but Friday’s are usually our relaxed night at home with each other!

  12. If it’s not broken, don’t fix it! It sounds like my kind of weekend. We tend to do the same thing every weekend and Saturday nights always include burgers.

  13. i’m sure that helps him, having that routine. she sounds like a sweet lady. that is so hard. what a great woman.

  14. So sorry to hear about Chris’ dad. So sad but yes enjoy every minute that is routine that you can for sure! We don’t typically do the same thing every weekend because having a almost 2 year old does not let us do that! LOL! We used to have a pretty consistent weekend routine before she was born and I really enjoyed it but now I like the craziness that is our lives!

    • We don’t even have kids yet and our weekends are never the same, ha! Mostly because we travel so much on the weekends. And if we’re home then we’re trying to decide how much we need to tackle house projects vs explore the city vs hang out with friends vs have a lazy day at home, haha! Always something different, but we like it that way. πŸ™‚

  15. aww that is so cute.. very sweet post.

  16. This is the sweetest thing! Sounds like something you would read in a book or see on a movie about the sweetest couple. Your MIL sounds like a precious woman! I feel like our weekends are always way too busy for any kind of routine but it sure would be nice!

    • I hadn’t thought about it, but you’re right. It does sound a little bit like a sweet book or movie story line. πŸ™‚

      And girl, no worries. We’re like that too. Our weekends are always different. A lot of times we’re traveling, but if we’re home then there’s no telling what we’ll be doing. House projects, lazy days, exploring the city, hanging out with friends. But we like having the flexibility to do whatever. πŸ™‚

  17. Beautiful photography. Loved!

    “Aka Rauny (@akarauny), social media manager
    http://www.MAIRANNY.com

  18. My sister gets SO excited when it comes to gifts. It always puts a smile on my face. This sounds like a fantastic weekend!

  19. thehipandthrifty

    That is the sweetest thing! Your in-laws seem so nice πŸ™‚ I love that picture of your father-in-law doing the ‘thumbs up’…I just cracked up. His face was priceless!

  20. Sounds like a lovely weekend! Your in-laws are so cute ❀ I love thrift shopping, you never know what you'll find.

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

  21. Aww! There certainly is something very sweet and appealing about regular routines like that. My grandparents have a Friday matinee movie date for as long as I can remember…I’m not a traditions kind of person, but I think they’re really cool!

  22. This is so sweet! What a perfect weekend routine for them to follow. It sounds like they have always been creatures of habit, but I bet that it is especially soothing for your FIL now to have a routine in place for the weekend.

  23. I love that they have a definite plan for every weekend!!! I bet that really helps Christopher’s dad too. πŸ™‚ My extended family is exactly like that as far as having each other over – no “entertain us” attitudes, it’s always just “include us in whatever normal things you would be doing if we’re not here”. It makes the visits that much more memorable and totally low stress too.

    So….What’s your favorite part of their weekend routine? Do you think you and Christopher will adopt any of them someday?

    We don’t really have traditions for every day life. I’ve always wanted to have ONE thing that is predictable each week, but it’s just never happened. Maybe someday!

    • We have definitely already adopted the eat-a-bowl-of-cereal-just-before-bed thing! I used to tease her about eating empty carbs right before bed because she is such a health nut the rest of the time, but I totally get it now! πŸ˜‰

      In general we juggle too many things for us to ever have routine weekends and we like it that way. We like changing it up. But who knows, maybe someday we will have a regular Saturday routine. πŸ™‚

  24. Christopher’s mom really does sound like such a sweetie!! She’s the best kind of gift receiver, too! I love that you and Christopher fall into a routine when you visit his parents. That is so special!

Leave a Reply

