Lately

me with will and mal.jpg

Last week we had the most beautiful weather here in Memphis. It was 70-80 degrees every day with a bright, sunshiney sky. So naturally I took full advantage of playing outside all week with the kiddos I nanny. Because I do the photography thing full time now, I only keep the kids about 10 hours a week so we try to play hard in the time we do have together. I sure do love these two. 🙂

kiddos at the zoo.jpg

And on one particularly beautiful day, Mallory and I met some of our friends at the zoo. Are they not precious in those big rocking chairs? 🙂 It was Ben’s (the youngest curly headed one up there) first time at the zoo at an age old enough to see the animals and he was flipping out over everything. It was so sweet to see everything through his eyes!

at patrick's.jpg

Last week also included St. Patrick’s Day so we went with friends to our favorite place to celebrate… Patrick’s! You can read a full review from a couple of years ago here. If you are in Memphis and want the best sandwich ever… you need to go to Patrick’s and order the Mempho. It is my absolute favorite and unreasonably delicious. (see blog post linked above for photos and description).

christopher building barstools.jpg

The weekend was mostly spent working on building the bar stools for our kitchen. We are so close to finished with this project which is just super exciting! The plan for tonight is to stain & paint them (we’re going two-tone again!) and hopefully they will be finished this week! 🙂

balderdash.jpg{source}

Saturday night we played Balderdash with friends and as it turns out… I’m not half bad at it. I even managed to win (though barely). The last time I played in college I was definitely not good at it so I was excited to redeem myself. 😉

Have you played Balderdash? Did you enjoy it?

Do you have a favorite place to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

Love Rach

50 responses to “Lately

  1. I love the game Balderdash!! 🙂 I haven’t played it in a very long time though…
    I can’t wait to see the bar stools once they’re finished.
    AND unfortunately, this year I didn’t even realize it was St. Patrick’s Day, because we were all sick. Ha, ha. So it kind of just came and went… But Easter is coming up, and I have fun plans for that (as I’m hosting again this year). 🙂

  2. One of the office’s in my building had a party and I went. Got some Bailey’s Brownies, they were amazing. Clearly, I live under a rock because I have never heard of the game Balderdash.

  3. aw, sweet babies!!! i have never played that!! maybe i should get the gang together and make them!

  4. I’ve never played Balderdash but I will have to check it out. Sounds like a fun time!

  5. I love Balderdash and I love that you won! How cute do you guys look in that picture from St. Patrick’s Day, love it!

  6. You know, I’ve never played Balderdash and that’s something that should be remedied. So glad that you guys have been enjoying excellent weather there in Memphis! Can’t wait to see the finished bar stools!

  7. It’s so sweet to see little ones at the zoo for the first time! 🙂 It’s been forever since I’ve played Balderdash-such a good game!

  8. oh i am envious of your warm weather.. the sun is shining now but this morning we were blanketed in snow..

  9. i have never heard of or played balderdash. sounds fun 🙂 the kids you nanny are adorable! clearly i need to go to memphis for that sandwich. yum!

    • I think you’d have a lot of fun playing Balderdash. The other couple we played with told me that they think I was so good at it because I read a lot so making stuff up came more naturally to me. So considering how much you read, I’m thinking you’d rock it too! 🙂

      You definitely need to come to Memphis! The Mempho sandwich is ridiculously good. Plus I’m here! 😉

  10. You’ve got the most precious family!

    Fashionably,
    Patricia
    http://www.wingsforliberty.com/

  11. I love Balderdash! It’s one of my favorite games, though I’m super bad at it and have never even come close to winning. Haha! 😉

  12. I haven’t played Balderdash, but it sounds fun!

  13. Never played balderdash, just wanted to say Christopher looks a little scary in the restaurant pic 😀

  14. Oh man I can not wait for warmer weather like that and zoo day trips and being outside! Can’t wait to see how the stools come out!

  15. I am so excited to start getting some warmer weather over here – send some this way please!
    We have loads of Irish bars in our city, so there is always a place to celebrate.

  16. Oooh, Balderdash is so much fun! I haven’t played in yearssss but I remember it always being a blast. 🙂

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  17. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! It’s nice when the temperature finally start to rise, huh 🙂

  18. Balderdash is my all-time favorite party game. The problem is I never am friends with people who love it as much as I do. 😛 We had Balderdash in America and I’d buy it again but I’ve never seen it for sale here.

  19. I’ve never heard of Balderdash before. My favorite board/card game is UNO 🙂 Hope you have a great rest of your week.

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

  20. I’ve never played that game, but hear about it alllllll the time!

  21. You’ve been up to so many fun things lately!!! 🙂

    I LOVE Balderdash!!!! It’s one of my favorite group games and I have to say I’m pretty decent at it. Mostly I just love it because it’s good for A LOT of laughs. 🙂

    As for St. Patrick’s day, we don’t have any traditions. I’ve done different things every year. This year we went out and bought the stuff for rueben sliders! That was a lot of fun and super yummy. 🙂 Your night out sounds pretty nice too!!!

    Yay for more progress on the bar stools, zoo days (my FAVORITE, with or without kids!), and warmer weather!!!!

  22. I’ve heard of Balderdash, but I’ve never played it! What is it about?!

    The kiddos you nanny are just so adorable. I love that you guys play hard in those 10 hours you spend together! That’s the best!

    Also, I love how you and Christopher matched on St. Patrick’s Day! So cute 🙂

    • Balderdash is all about making stuff up. So for example, it will ask you to define a word. So every person writes down a made up definition (because the words are always outrageous and not ones normal people have heard of) and the reader writes down the real definition. All the cards get mixed up and the reader reads each one. Anyone who guesses the correct definition gets to move two spaces. And if anyone chooses the made up definition that you wrote, you get to move an extra space (and obviously the reader can’t vote on that round because s/he knows which the real answer is, but each person takes turns being the reader). It’s not just word definitions, though, there are also initials to make up meanings for, movie plots to describe, etc. It’s a lot of fun! 🙂 As a writer, I bet you’d really enjoy it!

  23. I love Balderdash! And I love all of these photos 🙂 the kids are so adorable! That sandwich sounds amazing…I had to go back and read about it. Mac and cheese on anything…YES!

Leave a Reply

