Comfort Food: Chicken & Dumplings

This week I have been craving comfort food. So I decided to make one of my favorites. My grandmother’s Chicken and Dumplings recipe. Not only did she make this often when we visited, but my mom made it at home as well while I was growing up. So to me, it tastes like home feels.

mommabillie

I learned so much about cooking from time in the kitchen with my grandmother. And to this day some of my favorite made-from-scratch recipes are recipes I learned from her and my mom. Including chicken & dumplings.

chicken and dumplings2.jpg

I know a lot of people like the biscuit dropping method of dumplings, but I grew up on the shortening ones that you roll out. It’s a little more work, but so very worth it.

chicken and dumplings.jpg

Momma Billie’s Chicken & Dumplings

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
10 cups of water
1 tsp sage
½ tsp salt

3 cups flour
½ tsp salt
2/3 cup shortening
1/2 cup – 3/4 cup water

4 chicken bouillon cubes
3 drops yellow food coloring

Directions:

1. Stew chicken in the water in a large pot. Season water with sage and salt while cooking.

2. While chicken is cooking, whisk together flour and salt. Using a dough blender, cut in shortening until evenly distributed into flour mixture. Add water, beginning with just 1/2 cup adding more as needed, and mix until it forms a dough (consistency of pie crust). Divide dough in half; refrigerate second half.

3. Roll dough out on a cutting board covered with a generous amount of flour. Cut dough into thin strips (about 1″). Place strips on a plate. Do the same with the refrigerated second half of dough.

4. Remove chicken from broth. Add chicken bouillon cubes to broth and a few drops of yellow food coloring for eye appeal and bring to boil. Drop dough one piece at a time into boiling broth. Press them down into broth if necessary. Reduce heat and simmer. Move dumplings around gently several times as they cook (about 25 minutes).

5. While dumplings are cooking, chop up or shred the chicken. When dumplings are done add chopped chicken back to pot and heat for a minute or two. Salt and pepper to taste.

We don’t make this very often because… well… flour and shortening are two of the main ingredients. Not exactly ideal for this health conscious family. 😉 But some days just call for comfort food. And in times like these, I’m grateful for recipes like this.

What is your favorite comfort food?

Love Rach

40 responses to “Comfort Food: Chicken & Dumplings

  1. Sometimes, I get so hungry for chicken and dumplings but rarely have them! What a special treat and I cannot wait to try your recipe, well your grandma’s, LOL it sounds absolutely delicious!!

  2. Oh that looks so good, thanks for sharing.

  3. It’s been so long since we’ve had chicken and dumplings! It’s definitely the ultimate comfort food!

  4. Chicken and dumplings is good, but it takes me so LONG! And one time I may have started a small kitchen fire when some grease from the chicken got into the flame of the stove top…

  5. We’re fighting off virus bugs in our house and the wind is so fierce and cold outside so this sounds amazing. Do you deliver? 🙂

    • Oh no!! I’m so sorry you guys are dealing with sickness! I wish you lived closer by so I could deliver dinner for you guys! And just so, you know, we could hang out too. 😉 I hope you guys start feeling better soon! I’ll be praying for you guys.

  6. oh my gosh, that photo of your grandmother is priceless! this recipe looks delicious.

  7. It’s so wonderful cooking food that reminds you of home. My dad’s christmas pudding recipe evokes the same feelings in me! This looks just delicious

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  8. That looks like a bowl of comfort! I love my mom’s chicken and dumplings. It’s a dish that’s good for the soul 🙂

  9. Some days you can’t beat a good comfort meal!

  10. I am a biiiig chocoholic, but chocolate isn’t real FOOD I guess… so I’m gonna have to pick pizza as my favorite comfort food!

  11. Chicken and Dumplings was always something I could not get into. Mike loves it though!

  12. YUM! This looks delicious! What a fun and nostalgic comfort food! Hope that you’re having a great week Rach!!
    xoxo Cailee!

  13. We all need comfort food from time to time and this is a good one! I’ve never had Chicken and Dumplings like this recipe…I think I’ll have to try them. Thanks for sharing friend! XO

  14. I love your cooking stories!!!! 🙂

    I’ve always been a huge fan of chicken and dumplings, but I honestly don’t have a “go-to” recipe for it. I’ll be trying Momma Billie’s for sure!

  15. My favorite comfort food is chicken pot pie. I imagine that this is quite similar, so I have a feeling I’d love this! 🙂

  16. my comfort food is my mom’s spaghetti. i miss my granny sugar’s field peas and rice.

  17. I have actually never had chicken and dumplings! Do you think it’s more common in the south?! My favorite comfort food is probably chili and cornbread 🙂

  18. It is crazy how food can bring so much comfort sometimes. My favorite comfort food my Mom makes is chicken casserole or steam fried potatoes or biscuits and gravy… well basically everything my Mom cooks is comfort food to me haha. Chicken pot pie has turned into my go to comfort food if I am doing the cooking.

  19. This looks so good! And again, those family recipes are the best.

    I wonder if you could make this with butter instead of Crisco?

    I have no idea why but in Asia I got a craving for chicken and noodles so I had to make noodles from scratch with no rolling pin. ha! Then I poured them over a massive bowl of mashed potatoes. It was America in a bowl.

    I’ll have to try these sometime.

    • Aww, America-in-a-bowl! I love it! I’m not sure if butter would work the same as Crisco. I’ve only ever made them this way because it’s the way my grandmother and mom both made them. But if you try it with butter, let me know how they turn out!

  20. This looks delicious! I’ve made the Pioneer Woman’s version, and loved it. Of course 🙂 I’ll have to try your Grandma’s, too!

Leave a Reply

