Easter

Well… Friday’s post turned out to be popular. Particularly on Facebook. I don’t often share blog posts to Facebook, but I thought our friends would get a kick out of it. And I was right. According to my site stats, on Saturday alone,ย 896ย of my FB friendsย clicked that link and came to check out what we tell people who ask us about kids. I’m pretty sure everyone was secretly hoping that the post would include details about our actual plans. But alas, no such sharing occurred. ๐Ÿ˜‰

us at the beach{we weren’t at the beach this weekend, I just wanted to put a photo of us in this post and I happen to love this shot ๐Ÿ™‚ }

But for those of you who are regular readers, I’ll tell you this: Christopher and I are excited to be parents someday. I don’t know what the future will hold, but I know that adoption has long been on our hearts. And that’s about as personal as I can bring myself to be today on this blog when it comes to sharing plans for our future family. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So let’s move on to talking about Easter!

easter basket.jpg

The morning began with an Easter basket for my husband! We normally spend Easter with his parents and his mom always gives us Easter baskets (because she’s awesome like that). Since we didn’t get to see his parents this Easter, I decided to take the Easter Bunny duties into my own hands. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย Christopherย was SO excitedย and surprised so I felt pretty pleased with myself.ย He hasย been really healthy this year so instead of filling his basket with candy, the Easter Bunny brought an assortment of protein bars, kale chips, beef jerky, Parmesan cheese (because it’s his fav), peanut butter bites, and other healthy snacks. ๐Ÿ™‚ That Easter Bunny is pretty great. ๐Ÿ˜‰

easter eggs.jpg

After church we came home for pot roast with veggies, mashed potatoes, and deviled eggs. So yummy! And then we dyed Easter eggs with our friends, Stephen and Julia. This was actually Stephen’s first time to dye Easter eggs so I was excited we got to be a part of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

sunrise

Easterย is definitely a day for celebrating!ย It’sย the day we celebrate the fact that the tomb was empty. Jesus is alive. This past week has held some difficult moments so I love the promise of Easter. In the endย everything will be made right. Jesus wins. And thatโ€™s the Gospel truth. ๐Ÿ™‚

Did you give or receive an Easter basket this year?

Did you dye Easter eggs while you were growing up?ย 

Love Rach

44 responses to “Easter

  1. Isn’t it crazy how nosey people are about other peoples lives. Drives me nuts sometimes! I read your Friday post but have yet to comment because I ran out of time it’s coming though! Love the easter basket! What a great idea! I think this is the last year well be doing candy!

  2. The story of Jesus just swells my heart and I just love to sing he is risen praises around this holiday! I also love that you get your hubby an Easter basket, so so sweet. I just got mine a bag of speckled peanut butter M&Ms, LOL. I hope this Monday is off to a marvelous start for you beautiful

  3. How cute you made an Easter basket for your husband! I love that shot of you two at the beach too! I love moody beach days. Happy Easter! Happy Spring!

  4. I admit, I was reading your last post hoping to find a big announcement. *SIGH* One of these days…

    Your Easter sounds lovely! I like that you really reflected on the message. I definitely had a moment of reflection/fresh revelation during the Easter service at my church, but I felt like it was too personal to post, so I just kept things light! Thanks for keeping things REAL on your blog and not being afraid to share. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • HA! Totally okay! I’m pretty sure you aren’t the only one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Tell me more about your moment of reflection. I understand not putting personal things on the blog – you know there’s a lot that I don’t share in this space so no judgement. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. oh people are so nosy!! i am too, no lie. i wouldn’t NOT click on a blog post that had that title, you know? i’m just too nosy ๐Ÿ˜‰ i never dyed easter eggs, i don’t think. the pot roast meal sounds ahhhmazing.

  6. His Easter basket sounds delicious! I did not dye eggs this year but we have before. It is pretty fun. I was in a wedding this weekend so my weekend was jammed packed with wedding festivities.

  7. I think that you guys have every right to your privacy! Nothing wrong with keeping some things to yourself ๐Ÿ™‚ That easter basket sounds delicious. So impressed that you kept it healthy!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  8. How sweet that you gave your husband an Easter basket! I kind of miss getting an Easter basket, but I made sure to get some Cadbury eggs at Target ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Those “think thin” protein bars are so yummy! I had one for the first time yesterday and was in HEAVEN!! It looks like you had a lovely, Easter. I love coloring eggs too, so fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

    • Oh my goodness, I love these bars! I switch between these and the Kashi mocha almond ones. So so good! And way less sugar than most bars. Christopher really likes them too so I thought they’d be perfect little filler items for his basket. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. The power of social media sharing, huh! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sounds like you guys had a fun Easter. For us Easter is allllll about the chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Sounds like such a fun Easter! I had no idea there was such a thing as peanut butter bites and I have no idea how I will live my life now without them! Also, that beach picture is so cute of the two of you!

  12. People always love hearing about other people’s plans when it comes to kids haha.
    Sounds like you had a good Easter! We had a very relaxed one involving lots of chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. What a cute idea for an Easter basket for someone who is trying to be healthier!!! Sounds like you guys had a wonderful weekend!

  14. DANG that’s so many people from FB who wanted to see your baby post!!! haha that is awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ And like I said in my other comment, whenever you have/ adopt kids will be the perfect time for you guys!! But yay Easter! And yay cute wifey doing a fun basket for him! So smart to fill it with healthy snacks, stealing that idea!! So glad you had a fun day with yummy food and friends!

    xo C

    • โ€‹I know right! I expected some people to be curious, but not quite that many. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You are totally welcome to steal that idea any time! I was pretty proud of myself for coming up with stuff that he’d like, but was still healthy!

  15. That was so sweet of the Easter bunny to leave healthier options in the Easter basket! ๐Ÿ˜‰ And kale chips- yum!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  16. I dyed eggs, I easter egg hunted, I ate lots and lots of chocolate – I DID IT ALL!!! Man, I really miss those days! Easter was such an awesome holiday when my grandparents were alive ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  17. Mmm, your Easter meal sounds delicious! I love your basket for Christopher – I made one for Nick because he gave up chips for Lent (his biggest vice) so it was just tons of bags of chips, ha! Gorgeous sunset, too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh my gracious, Christopher LOVES chips. We can’t keep them in the house regularly as snacks otherwise he’d eat them all, ha! Good for Nick for giving up his biggest vice for all of Lent! That’s awesome! I bet he reaaaally loved his Easter basket!

  18. What a fun day!!!! I love that you took over the easter basket thing this year!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ And that your MIL makes sure you BOTH get easter baskets! ๐Ÿ™‚

    We haven’t done Easter Baskets around here in a few years…The “kids” have said they don’t want to hunt for eggs anymore (I tell them they are CRAZY), so we haven’t done a big hunt…but, every year either my Mom or I can’t take it so we do SOME kind of small hunt as a surprise and then those “big kids” are ECSTATIC and can’t stop hunting until they know they’ve found all of whatever we hid! This year it was 14 eggs with candy hidden around the house in places where they would come across them on the day AFTER easter. The eggs were bright and had funny faces on them. It was a showdown after the first egg was found!

    Your dinner sounds nice and I love that you guys got together with friends to dye eggs too! That’s interesting that your one friend had never dyed them before!!!

    • Yes, my mother-in-law is such a precious lady! She is so thoughtful and I just love that about her!

      Haha! I love that they go crazy for the egg hunt once it has actually begun! How fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I know, right?! I couldn’t believe that Stephen had never dyed eggs before! It was fun getting to experience that with him for the first time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Aww your such a sweet wife to do an Easter basket for him! Glad you had a fun Easter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. You make a pretty darn good Easter bunny, if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m all about the healthy treats! Rhythm kale chips are AWESOME!!!

  21. Love, love, love the beach shot of you and Christopher!! So happy to hear you had a wonderful day celebrating our risen Savior!

  22. The Easter bunny really is awesome…that is a great basket! I’m curious about those pb bites…they look like they’d be right up my alley, but I’ve never seen them here! I’ll have to keep an eye out ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like you guys had a fun Easter!

Leave a Reply

