An Anniversary Celebration!

Back in January my family got together to celebrate my grandparents’ 58th wedding anniversary. I blogged about how my oldest sister surprised them by coming from Europe for the celebration, but then I never did a follow up post about their celebration. So today, I give you a post of sweetness. πŸ™‚

nana and pepaw cake.jpgMy grandparents, Nana & Pepaw, sharing a piece of anniversary cake
{photo by Steve Shaner}

girls with the dress.jpgTaking pictures of my nieces & cousin with my grandmother’s wedding dress
{photo by Steve Shaner}

talking with uncle george.jpgTalking with my Great Uncle George who we hadn’t seen since our wedding.
{photo by Steve Shaner}

the fam.jpgMy grandparents with their three children and their children’s families. This is all of us minus my brother and his family who couldn’t make it. So imagine 2 more adults and 3 more children crammed into this photo and that’s my dad’s side of the family. πŸ˜‰
{photo by Steve Shaner}

rach with nana and pepaw

I am so grateful for my grandparents. IΒ actually lived with them for a summer after I graduated high school and moved back to the States before my freshman year of college. And since they lived in the city where I went to college I was usually at their house onceΒ a week for dinner, laundry and a quiet place to do homework during that first year. They were missionaries in Africa and have long been involved with blessing other people’s lives. I’m so glad I get to be their granddaughter. Happy 58 years of marriage, Nana & Pepaw! I love you!

I’m curious, of those who read my blog, who has been married the longest? Let me know in the comments how long you’ve been married! Anyone come close to 58 years of marriage out there? πŸ˜‰

Love Rach

58 responses to “An Anniversary Celebration!

  1. This is so beautiful Rachel! What an amazing family you have!! my husband and I have been married a long long time but nothing close to 58 years yet, but hoping to make it there some day and I hope we can do it with the beauty and grace that your grandparents have had! Blessings, anniversary hugs, and love to you all!

    • Congratulations on your long marriage as well! Christopher and I are working on year 8 right now and we love to spend time with couples who have been married longer than us to guide us along the way. πŸ™‚ It seems like divorce is so common so I’m always inspired by couples who choose to stay together. πŸ™‚

  2. They are adorable! We have only been married 6 1/2 years. What a blessing to be married that long! What a blessing for you to have gotten so much time with them while in college!

  3. Oh my how sweet is this!

  4. Cute family…!
    xx
    MΓ³nica Sors
    MES VOYAGES Γ€ PARIS
    NEW POST: KNIT ON KNIT SPRING LOOK!

  5. What a special day!!!! I think it’s really neat that your Grandma brought her dress out! She is so tiny!!!! Did anyone else wear her dress to be married in after she did?

    It’s amazing how two people can have such a large family – especially for only having had three children of their own! Simple amazing. πŸ™‚

    Happy Anniversary to them and congrats to you all on being part of their legacy!

    ps – I’m not married, but my Grandparents will celebrate their 51st anniversary on Friday. I think that’s the longest running marriage I have in my family as of right now! Obviously my great parents were married and never divorced or separated, but I honestly don’t know when any of them were married or how long they had been married when one of them passed away.

    • My grandmother offered the dress to me for our wedding, but I would have wanted to alter it and I hated to do that to a dress that one of my other cousins might want to wear just as it was someday later. So far no one has worn it, but one of my cousins is getting married later this year so maybe she will!

      Two of my grandparents kids had two children each. And then there was my dad. He and my mom have 5 children and 7 grandchildren. Hence all the ridiculous number of people in our family photos, haha! There’s 18 people in my immediate family and so far we have no children and my younger sister isn’t married and doesn’t have children yet either. So there’s still room for more growth! πŸ™‚

      Congratulations to your grandparents!! 51 years is awesome!

  6. This is the sweetest celebration! I love the dress you wore! Our seven-year anniversary is in July! πŸ™‚

  7. Such a sweet celebration!! I love the big family photo.

    And K and I are only 55 years short of that big 5-8. Wow! 58 years. Good for them!

  8. awww they are so sweet! 58 years! that is amazing. KC and I have been married.. um.. well, technically 3.5 years but not technically, almost 3 years. hahaha!

  9. Such a sweet celebration!!! Reminds me of that Love Like Crazy song that Lee Brice sings. That couple was married for 58 years! I love your dress in those pictures, the color is so pretty! Chris and I have been married for almost 4 years.

    • I love that song! As cheesy as it is, I’ve totally given the advice from that song to newly weds (while obviously crediting my source). It’s just solid advice. I didn’t even think about it when I was writing this post, but that song is perfect for them! Thanks for reminding me. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much! I love the color of this dress and all the lace! It’s a favorite of mine! πŸ™‚

      And congratulations on four years of marriage! That’s awesome!

  10. This post was SO precious!! I love hearing about couples who stuck it out through thick and thin. πŸ™‚ Marriage can be hard sometimes, especially when life gets hard. But commitment and love can overcome any obstacle (especially when God is the center of a relationship) and leave a couple standing stronger than ever before.
    Couples who have been together that long is being a rarity, so it is encouraging to younger couples like us!! πŸ™‚
    Oh, and Nate and I have been married 7 1/2 years! Wow, how time flies!!

    • Yes! I’m always encouraged when I hear about couples who have been married such a long time! I love asking people questions about how to stay married for a long time. They always tell us things like “She’s always right” or “Communicate” or “Love each other well.” And it’s those simple (and sometimes funny) responses that remind me all over again that it’s about choosing to stick it out and choosing to make the best of it. I love that. πŸ™‚

      Congratulations on your 7 1/2 years! We’re right there with you! πŸ™‚

  11. This is so sweet! I love the picture of them feeding each other the cake! The longer I am married, the more I realize what an accomplishment it is to stay married for THAT long! No offense against my husband, but relationships are complex and really hard work–more work that I totally understood when I first agreed to get married. There’s a reason that divorce rates are so high! Even more reason to admire your grandparents and the legacy that they’ve created for your family. I would love to hear what advice they have for young marrieds!

  12. Amazing journey for these two, a fine example indeed!

  13. Awwwh, how sweet! I hope I will be married for 58 years. Just 5 years of marriage here, but we have been together for 16 years.

  14. 58 years! That’s amazing- and you guys sure celebrated them well! πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  15. How sweet! Wow, 58 years! That’s amazing. Will and I are only at 1 year so I don’t think we’re in the running hehe πŸ™‚

    • Haha! One year is still awesome! Those newly wed years are such fun! πŸ™‚

      Ps. I haven’t forgotten about your email! I’ve just gotten really behind this week in responding to everything. Response coming soon! πŸ™‚

  16. How cute are they?! Such sweet pictures!

  17. Oh my gosh!! This is so sweet! Congrats to them on 58 years! They’re adorable!! Also, you’re so pretty Rach! I love your long locks! ❀
    xoxo Cailee!

  18. Oh my goodness, this is just amazing! 58 years?! That’s so insanely admirable. And they still look absolutely thrilled to be together!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  19. How sweet! I love that her wedding dress was displayed!

  20. I absolutely LOVE this post. Happy 58th anniversary to your grandparents! And it’s so nice that everyone took pictures with your grandma’s wedding dress! Mine have been married for 52 years now I think. My husband and I are waaaay behind and will be celebrating our 4th anniversary in August haha!
    Evelina @ Fortunate House

  21. And a post of lovey-dovey sweetness it was πŸ™‚ I absolutely adored each and every photo and you have such a wonderful family ❀ Belated anniversary wishes to your graceful and amazing grandparents πŸ™‚ 58 years? Oh my Gosh!And their lifestyle is quite inspiring as well.Missionaries in Africa. Wow. You sure have an inspiring family Rach πŸ™‚ I love that your grandma's wedding dress was on display πŸ™‚ And your blue lacey dress is gorgeous as well ❀

    • Thank you! I love this dress! It’s one of my favorites so I have definitely been photographed in it a time or two (or twelve, ha!). And yes, my grandparents are pretty great people! It’s incredible how many lives they have blessed over the years!

  22. Your grandparents are soooooooooooo cute, you can see that they still really love each other! My husband and I have only been married since last August, but before that we were already together for 13 years.

  23. that is precious!! what a happy anniversary for them!!!

  24. Oh how sweet! I love that your grandma’s dress is on display. That’s a nice idea.

  25. What a beautiful celebration! Your grandma and grandpa look so happy! If my calculations are correct, my dad’s parents have been married 55 years and my mom’s parents have been married 52 years. Hopefully the whole family will be together for a family photo before too many years pass by.

  26. This is such a sweet post! Your grandparents are such a great example for todays generation ❀

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

  27. I love seeing stories like this! Long marriages and large families. My grandparents will celebrate 63 years next week, my parents just celebrated 42 years, and my husband and I will celebrate 10 years the end of this month. I hope your grandparents get to celebrate many more!

  28. They are the CUTEST!! And I am obsessed with your blue dress, Rachel! You look gorgeous in those pictures! So cool you lived with them for a summer πŸ™‚ I bet it was such a special experience! I am probably married the least amount of time- 2 years in August!

    • Thank you, girl! I love that dress! It’s a favorite of mine to wear for occasions like this which means I’ve been photographed in it quite a bit, haha!

      And surprisingly you aren’t the newly-est wed! There are a couple of who have been married a year or less. So you’re practically an old married lady now. Welcome to the club! πŸ˜‰

  29. This is so sweet! Congrats to your grandparents! It is incredibly refreshing to see a couple who has stayed together for so long!!

Leave a Reply

