A weekend with a bit of everything

Such a full weekend! I woke up at 5am on Saturday to drive to a girls’ retreat in Arkansas. I decided to make a slight detour on the way to surprise my parents-in-law for breakfast. It was absolutely precious. My mother-in-law started shrieking as soon as she saw me. I attempted to video it, but mostly it’s a video of the dog and floor as I walk in, but you can totally hear how excited she is so I’m going to share it anyway. 😀

I told her that you just never know who might walk in when you keep your door unlocked. 😉 We had a lovely time cooking & eating breakfast together before I headed out to the retreat site. It was such a short visit, but thankfully we’ll be back in just a couple of weeks to see them again!

group pic.jpg

Saturday was filled with hanging out with the teen girls. We sang, we prayed, we loved on each other, we hiked, we played, and we ate. It was a good sort of weekend. My favorite part was when we went out to Bee Rock.

rach bee rockThis photo wasn’t staged – we had some quiet time out at Bee Rock and one of the adults snapped this shot. I just love it! Me in one of my favorite places. 🙂

This place means a lot to me because it is attached to the camp where I grew up going (Camp Wyldewood) and we would often hike out here. I can’t summarize in a tiny paragraph all that Wyldewood means to me so that will be in a post forth coming. But let me tell you this, I met Jesus at Wyldewood when I was 14 years old. So today at 28 years old I have now lived 14 years as a follower of Christ. If I can’t summarize Wyldewood in a short paragraph, I certainly can’t summarize God’s faithfulness over these past 14 years in a short paragraph either. Just know this – He is so faithful to His children. There is never a day when I have walked alone. 🙂

rach and fawn

This is Fawn! She is in charge of this group of girls (along with a bunch more in Memphis) and she is pretty awesome. I have been so blessed by getting to know her over this past year as I’ve volunteered with these teenagers!

rach rachel and ms rachel

This is me with Rachel and Rachel. 😉 Of the 11 volunteers who came on the trip, we had two Rachels and a Rach (and one of the Rachels goes by Rach sometimes as well). So the girls distinguished us by calling us Ms. Rachel, Rachel, and Rach (me). We joked that if you didn’t know one of the volunteer’s names, you could call them “Rachel” and had a pretty good chance of being correct. 😉

girls collage

I took almost no photos this weekend so most of the ones in this post were either texted to me or I snagged them off social media. These are some of the precious girls I’ve gotten to know over the past couple of months. They are such sweethearts. 🙂

Road Trip.jpg

I had another 5am wake up call on Sunday morning so I could get packed up, spend some time in prayer at a favorite spot, and then hit the road to make it back to Memphis for my grandfather’s 89th birthday celebration!

rach and daddyken

We spent Sunday with family and it was just a wonderful sort of day! I am so grateful for my grandfather – he has impacted my life in so many huge ways! 🙂 Sunday night was spent with friends and then Christopher and I crashed at 9:30pm last night. While I was at this girls’ retreat he was hanging out with teenage boys all weekend doing the same thing. So we were both worn out! Thankfully we got some awesome sleep last night and are ready for the week! 🙂

Do you have a place out in nature that is a favorite of yours?

Have you surprised a family member with a pop-in visit before?

Love Rach

42 responses to “A weekend with a bit of everything

  1. So sweet that you surprised your MIL on your way up!!! Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend on the retreat and celebrating your grandfather 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

    • So it has taken me so long to respond to this comment that I’ve actually experienced all of last week, ha! So thanks for the well wishes! I did have a great week! 🙂 And I had lots of fun surprising my parents-in-law! 🙂

  2. What a beautiful weekend and what a pretty group of Rachel’s! Happy birthday to grandpa and I hope you feel recharged and ready to tackle this week!

  3. Happy birthday to your grandpa!!! What a fun weekend. I just love that you surprised your in laws – that is so sweet! And Bee Rock looks just gorgeous!!!

    • I LOVED surprising them! My mother-in-law is such a fun woman. She gets so excited over little things so surprising them was a huge cause for excitement that morning! 🙂

      And yes, I just love Bee Rock! It’s so beautiful out there!

  4. Happy Birthday to your grandfather..
    That is so great how your surprised your in laws..
    Looks like a wonderful weekend.

  5. Love that your surprised your mother-in-law! How cute! Happy birthday to your grandpa! 🙂 Love the photo of you on the rock.

  6. How sweet are you!! Happy Birthday to your grandpa! Also, that trip looks like so much fun! I’m loving the view! And how cute is that! All the Rachel’s! I love it!
    xoxo Cailee!

  7. Oh my gosh, your mother-in-law is crazy excited haha! Y’all look like you had a great time. Beautiful spot and I would not mind hanging out on that rock, either.

  8. Looks like you missed some weekend sleep but so much of awesomeness to make up for it! The retreat sounds so much fun 🙂 I loved that you took a detour to surprise your mom-in-law 🙂 That is so sweet and these kind of surprises are loved by them more than the materialistic ones I feel 🙂 I have done it a couple of times on my mom 🙂 My hearty wishes to your wonderful grandad 🙂 Grandparents make the world a little more better to live in sooo many ways 🙂 And as usual, you look stunning in all the photos. One of these days you must do a post on your beauty secrets Rach 😉

    • I love that you’ve surprised your mom like that! It’s such fun to see them get SO excited! I love knowing that I made their day that much better! 🙂

      Grandparents DO make the world better! I really love all of mine! 🙂

      And girl, you are too kind. There aren’t a lot of secrets at play here. Especially when my hair is thrown up in a bun, ha!

  9. Awwh, that’s so nice that you have such a great relationship like that with your mother-in-law. I bet she loved the surprise.

    • She is really a precious soul. She has loved me like her own daughter since before Christopher and I were even married. We’ve dealt with some family stress, but thankfully none of it has come from my parents-in-law not liking me. I know that’s really common so I’m glad she has been so great!

  10. What a great weekend! I love pop in visits! They are the best especially when you are the one doing the pop in and surprising someone!

  11. Ohhh yes, nature is my happy place. What a lovely post, and a heart warming adventure!

  12. Such a busy but rewarding weekend- and your mother-in-law was SO excited! Yay!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  13. This makes me want to go on a retreat again. And that video is priceless! Best daughter-in-law award goes to you!

    • Haha! That’s what my husband said too! He told me that I had knocked him down a notch in his mom’s list of favorites because clearly I was the favorite now. 😉 But he’s her baby so I’m pretty sure the next time we see them, he’ll bounce right back to the top. 😉

  14. Sounds like your weekend was packed with good things 🙂

  15. Aw, I love this! All of it! You are the sweetest daughter-in-law!

    • Haha! That’s what Christopher said too! He told me that I had knocked him down a notch in his mom’s list of favorite kids because clearly I was the favorite now. 😉 But he’s her baby so I’m pretty sure the next time we see them, he’ll bounce right back to the top. 😉

  16. so many wonderful things to celebrate in this post!! i grew up in a small town where no one locked doors, so family would just walk in.
    happy birthday to him!! 89 looks great on him.
    what a great retreat with the girls!! i know they will always treasure those memories.

  17. thehipandthrifty

    That video is hilarious–I’m laughing out loud in front of my laptop like some kind of manic! That is so nice that you did that! 😀

  18. What a full and perfect weekend!! That is so great that you surprised your mother in law, and your grandpa looks fantastic! 89! What an inspiration.

    That is really special that you got to go back to a place that is so significant to your history with Jesus. Very cool.

  19. I love that picture of you sitting out on the rock… and the meaning behind it too! I can’t wait to read your post on that. Also, your grandfather looks awesome for his age!

  20. Whew, what an awesome and busy weekend! Your mother-in-law screaming in excitement and joy is seriously the best!!

  21. The video of you surprising your mom-in-law is so sweet! Looks like such a fun weekend with the girls, and celebrating your Grandpa 🙂

Leave a Reply

