The 1,000th Post {Giveaway}

Well, my friends, WordPress has let me know that this post is my one thousandth post on this blog. I actually started my very first blog on June 9th, 2003 over at Xanga. Nearly 13 years ago! Anyone remember Xanga? That was back in the days of MySpace and AOL chat. I’m officially dating myself now, ha! It has been nearly 13 years since I started blogging and it has been such a fun journey. I’ve had a couple of blogs over the years, but I started this one on WordPress back in 2010 with a post about poop (it was a rough day πŸ˜‰ ). And today this blog officially reaches 1,000 blog posts. So it’s clearly time to celebrate!

And how do we celebrate?? PRESENTS! πŸ™‚

You guys know I love Memphis. This city is all heart. Grit & grind. We have awesome food and so many people who are passionate about caring for each other. It’s a rough city in some ways, but it’s also an incredible place to live. It’s also a great place to come and visit, but I know many of you are far, far away. So today I’m offering one lucky winner a little taste of Memphis! πŸ™‚

memphis giveaway.jpg

All the goodies! None of this is a sponsored post – I purchased each of these items as a way to say “thank you” to you guys for sticking with me through one thousand blog posts and for encouraging me along the way! I just wish I had a little care package to send to each of you, but at least we can go with the luck of the draw on this! πŸ™‚

bbq seasoning.jpg

So first up is the BBQ seasoning! Memphis is famous for her BBQ and while you have to come here to really enjoy the secrets of the perfectly smoked meat, you can have a taste of it at home by using these seasonings! πŸ™‚ I’ve blogged about how much I love both Corky’s BBQ Ribs and Rendezvous’ BBQ Nachos. If only 3 Little Pigs, home of my favorite pulled pork sandwich, had seasonings to sell. But you will just have to come visit Memphis for that particular joy! πŸ™‚

bartlett soap co.jpg

I’ve also shared with you guysΒ here on the blog how much I love Bartlett Soap Company and their products! I love that their productsΒ are plant based and all organic, not to mention absolutely luxurious! My favorite is the Good Morning Sunshine soap which is included in this giveaway. It smells so delightful and it is super moisturizing.

j brooks coffee.jpg

J. Brooks is Christopher’s favorite local coffee (not to mention several of our friends’ favorite as well). It is roasted right here in Memphis! We have a lot of overlap with this company including the fact that my old boss was a big financial part of the J. Brooks start up. Which meant that when they were just starting out, they would roast their coffee in the same building where I worked. Let me tell you, it smelled incredible! Randomly, Christopher also happens to play basketball with one of the owners of this company and they’ve become friends through that. So I know we sound biased, but it’s not just us! Lots of Memphians love this coffee! I chose the Gallant blend because it’s Christopher’s favorite. It’s stout, deep, with teasing shades of chocolate. Winner, eh? πŸ˜‰

ekata necklace.jpg

And finally, Ekata Designs is a company that offers employment, income, and training to refugees in Memphis. You can see more of their jewelry here on their website as well as read more about them and their mission on their about page. For this giveaway I picked out the Dreamer necklace (the chain is 24″ long for a visual)Β because I thought it was so pretty! πŸ™‚

To enter the giveaway just leave a comment below letting me know which item you areΒ most excited to receive if you win! The giveaway will be open until midnight on April 24thΒ after which a winner will be randomly chosen and announced! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

44 responses to “The 1,000th Post {Giveaway}

  1. Mmm, the seasonings and spices. Because I can’t wait to visit Memphis someday so you can show me some of you favorite restaurants.

    Congrats on your 1000th post! That’s so awesome. I’m so so glad that blogs connected us.

  2. Happy 1000! That soap looks great..

  3. Congratulations! I think the seasonings…or maybe the coffee, to make cold brew! πŸ™‚ But I really really love the mission of Ekata Designs! How awesome is that?!

  4. Congrats on 1000! I think the seasonings would be awesome-my husband loves trying all different kinds!

  5. Wow! 1,000 posts is amazing! Congrats and here’s to many more!

  6. This is awesome! Congrats on the 1000th post. I remember Xanga. I started out on livejournal way back. I’d be very excited about that gorgeous necklace and the soap!

  7. What a super lovely giveaway and congrats on the 1,000 post, that’a a HUGE feat! I really love the necklace most, I love their mission! πŸ™‚
    xx

  8. Happy 1,000th post!!!!! What a fun giveaway. There is nothing better than receiving items specific to another city. That necklace is gorgeous! Cheers to 1,000 more!

  9. Happy 1000th! I think the seasonings most, but will definitely be looking into the other two companies

  10. 1000 – that is amazing!!! Congrats. I would loveeeee to get some of that Memphis seasoning. We’ve gone down for the 4th and just love to eat all the amazing food there!

  11. Coffee!!! A good tasting coffee sounds awesome! The soap sounds wonderful too! The necklace is also beautiful! If I won you could decide and send something to me! Haha.

  12. Happy post 1000! I remember Xanga-that was fun back in the day. I would love to try the coffee!

  13. Congrats on your 1000th post!!! πŸ™‚

    I would love to try the coffee!!

  14. Congratulations on 1,000 posts. That’s a milestone for sure! I started blogging on xqnga way back when you! Crazy how far we both have come!

    I’d be excited to try that soap! Mike and I love new and homemade soaps!

  15. Congratulations on your 1,000th post! It’s crazy to think that you started your blog right around the same time I started following you! πŸ˜‰ What a great idea to celebrate 1,000 posts. I have to say that I’d be really excited to get the soap. I definitely have a thing for handmade, or otherwise smaller-company-made soap. The necklace would be a close runner-up, though, because you’re right–it’s gorgeous!

    -Tia

  16. Love this post! Congratulations on 1000!!! I would love that necklace! It’s beautiful and would be perfect for everyday!:)

  17. congrats!! that is awesome!! i’d love the coffee πŸ™‚

  18. So nice of you! I am excited about everything! But if you make me pick, I’d say the soap πŸ™‚ Yay! Hope I win!

  19. That first post!! HAHAHA. I remember xanga! I hardly thought of it as blogging at the time, but I guess it was! Great giveaway.

  20. Congrats on the 1,000th post! I would love to try out the coffee.

  21. Happy 1000 Sweet Bella!!! The coffee sounds fantastic…what a joy it’s been to follow your journey ❀

  22. congrats on the 1000th post! i had to go and read the 1st one. hilarious!! i don’t think we ever had xanga, or at least it wasn’t a thing at home. but i do remember myspace lol

  23. I have really enjoyed keeping up with your blog over the years–and I have had the extra privilege of meeting up with you TWICE! And watching you on TV once! I guess I started reading after you had been blogging for about a year. 2011 seems like a long time ago, now! I would love to win any of these things, but I would probably be most excited about the jewelry. πŸ™‚ Regardless of winning, I’m so glad that you’re blogging! I hope that you don’t let it fizzle out (like I do from time to time). πŸ˜‰

  24. I would love to try that soap!!

  25. So you probably think my favorite item would be one of the food items, right? Get this my favorite item is actually the soap! The reason is the natural aspect and the cute little Cow on the front because my son shows steers in our county fair so we are Cow crazy! What a fun giveaway and congratulations beautiful girl! You know I always love your voice, grace, and beauty!

  26. Wow, 1,000 posts! Congratulations!!! I’m SO glad that I wandered onto your little, special corner of the internet. When I read that first post and left my first comment, I had no idea that I was embarking on a beautiful friendship. Thank YOU for sharing your encouragement, recipes, travel adventures, and beautiful pics with all of us over the years. We should all be sending you a care-package as a ‘thank you’. πŸ™‚
    (And oh my goodness, I forgot about Xanga! Ha, ha. I totally had one of those blogs too…).
    Such a FUN giveaway!!

  27. Congrats on 1,000 posts! I had no clue that you’ve been blogging for 13 years, so cool!! I’m most excited to win the dreamer necklace. It’s so beautiful and I’m a like to dream big πŸ™‚

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

  28. Congrats on so many years of posts! That is dedication for sure… and I love reading your thoughts here. I love trying new coffee so I think that would have to be my favorite.

  29. I’d be most excited about the coffee! I always love trying local coffees =) Congratulations on 1000 posts!

  30. What! Congrats! 1000 is so many posts! What a great giveaway. Love that necklace!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  31. Congrats on 1,000 posts! That’s so exciting! And, the Dreamer necklace is pretty πŸ™‚

  32. Raises hand* I’m a fellow Xangan too! I was a more avid blogger when I was on xanga back in the day , because it had better community and readership. What’s been your experience since joining WordPress? I really miss my old friends on xanga- I’m slowly building friends through WordPress but it’s at a much slower pace.

    I don’t really need anything from the giveaway but I think it’s awesome you are supporting an organization that equips refugees with skills and jobs. As the daughter of former refugees and through my daily work with refugees as well, I know first hand how jobs help provide sustenance, opportunity, and new life. πŸ™‚

  33. Wow, you have been blogging for 13 years? That’s awesome! I had a live journal account about 10 years ago and I am so glad that I deleted it, as I would hate to read the crap I wrote haha.

  34. I totally remember the Xanga days! I had a blog or two on Xanga and loved it. Jimmy and I talk about AOL every now and then and how much we miss it, haha. And Myspace. Ah good old Myspace!

    Anyways, congrats on your 1,000th post! I hope to read thousands more! If I won, I think I’d be pumped about the coffee! Yum πŸ™‚

  35. Hey Rach!! Wow 1000!?? That’s huge, right? I’m glad I have been a part of this incredible journey of yours. I have loved reading your posts. Still remember when the kid you nanny was just crawling, the one time you got featured on Tv and your room got an amazing makeover, Christopher’s knee injury and recovery, trip to Italy!! There are so much more 😊 Keep writing!! My favorite is the Ekata jewellery. It’s wonderful what they do 😊

  36. Woaaaah o_O 1000 posts πŸ˜€ You deserve a huge party Rach πŸ˜‰ Congrats. You were one of the first few blogs I discovered in my early days of blogging and I must say I have loved every single post of yours, whether it is marvelling at your cooking,DIY or photography skills or enjoying the bond you and your wonderful hubby share or appreciating your awesome family πŸ™‚ The list can go on πŸ™‚ Stay blessed and keep writing πŸ™‚ Cheers to our wonderful blogging relationship ❀
    And oh, if I won no doubts I would be excited about the coffee πŸ˜‰

  37. Congrats on 1,000 posts!
    I get my mom to buy me Corky’s barbecue sauce regularly since I can’t get the good Memphis sauces here in Louisiana (these down here are either too sweet or too vinegary for my taste)!! The seasoning is delicious too!!

  38. Oh, how fun! I love the soap and the ekata necklace so much! Miss you guys, but looks like things are going well over in the cove. πŸ˜‰

  39. congrats, girl! I’ve only been to memphis once, and I really liked it!
    xx, lauren

  40. reasonstocomehome

    What a neat idea for a giveaway! My husband has always wanted to go to Memphis but we’ve never made it there. How neat for you to share your town with your followers! Being 6 months pregnant, I’d be most excited about the BBQ seasoning! I’d love a good plate right about now!

  41. Dang girl!! That is so awesome, congrats on 1000!!! I’m glad I made it in time for the giveaway πŸ™‚ That is SO sweet of you to give these things away!! I am most excited about the necklace because it is cute and also goes towards a good cause! Here’s to 1000 more posts πŸ™‚

  42. Congrats on 1000 posts!! I read your first post and loved it (but also didn’t because the situation sounds terrible, haha.) I’m so bummed I missed the giveaway. That’s what I get for being such a slacker blog reader!

Leave a Reply

