The Kitchen Nook: Before & After

Tomorrow will mark 6 years since we bought our house. That’s longer than I’ve lived anywhere since I was a little girl so you better believe I’ve grown to love this place we call home. So in honor of 6 years in this house, I thought I’d finally share all the work we’ve done in the little nook area of our kitchen! πŸ™‚

2010 (1)

This is what our kitchen looked like in April of 2010 when we bought the house. Did I mention we bought a foreclosure? It was in pitiful shape and we spent 5Β weeks renovating it before we moved in. We had help from friends and family (and Youtube and Google), but no contractors or professionals. And of course we continued to work on the house long after we moved in. It was a long process, but so worth it! If you want to see a short video showing some of the before & afters in the house, you can check outΒ last year’s post right here.

2010 (2)

This is the “after” from 2010 when we completed the kitchen. We knew eventually we wanted to do more in here, but we just needed it to be functional for the time. Well that “time” turned out to be for the next six years, ha! πŸ˜‰

kitchen nook after2.jpg

And this is my kitchen now as of April 2016! The old table is gone and in its place is a new cabinet giving extra storage and more counter top space! And across from it is our little bar & bar stools so we don’t have to give up our breakfast eating area. πŸ™‚

before and after2.jpg

So before & after of the left side of the kitchen. You can see that the table is gone and in its place are beautiful new cabinets and more counter top space!

before and after

And the kitchen from the other side. You can see the counter top to the left as well as a great view of the new bar & bar stools!

kitchen nook after5.jpg

You guys, my husband BUILT this. Everything new here, he built. Cabinets, counter top, bar, bar stools – all custom built. I helped with the sanding, staining, and painting, but he did all the precision work. He is SO talented!

kitchen nook after6.jpg

This wall is a lot of what slowed us down in the process. Originally this was going to be a cut-out into the dining room, but after looking into it further, we realized that we couldn’t put a hole here due to the way the wall is built on the other side (sorry Joanna Gaines, we tried!). So then we thought that we would put up shelves. So Christopher built shelves and we didn’t like them here. So those went into the dining room (which by the way, I will need to show you later because they look GREAT in there!). Which led to much Pinterest searching. Which led to putting up a big mirror whichΒ looks perfect in here! It was our final touch and we finished it just a couple of weeks ago. πŸ™‚

quiet time

One of my favorite things about this remodel (besides the fact that it looks better and is more functional), is that it gives me a beautiful place to have quiet time. I love sitting at this bar in the morning and spending some time with Jesus. {for those curious: I love the She Reads Truth devos as well as this Common Prayer book that Shane Claiborne put together – I start my mornings with both along with some prayer journaling πŸ™‚ }

kitchen nook after.jpg

If you’d like to read back on posts about this kitchen project that you may have missed, you can find them here:

Kitchen Sneak Peak (we have cabinets!)
Kitchen Renovation: We Have Counter Tops
Kitchen Project: The Cooking Tribute Collage (we changed from calling it a “renovation” to “project” around this time because we realized that we couldn’t tear down the wall we originally intended to thereby making this a lot less of a renovation and more of just a remodel. πŸ˜‰ )
Kitchen Project: We Have a Bar & Bar Stools

Now… on to the next project! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

74 responses to “The Kitchen Nook: Before & After

  1. Good job!! This looks great and I love the color choice. I’ve recently started getting into more DIY projects around the house and it’s so great that y’all were able to do that without a contractor! Where did you find the cute cabinet?!

  2. I love how much space you have created in your nook!!! That cabinet is perfect there and gives you more room for storage. Love it!

  3. I get so excited to see before and after posts. We have done some work on our house over the past couple years, and I have only remembered to do before and after pics a few times. Maybe it is that feeling that we are never really “done” and there is always more that we will do to a room in the future. It is great to have the after shots though, even if they end up turning into in-between shots like your 2010 one. Anyway, LOVE this kitchen nook! That window lets in so much light, and you made it such a beautiful part of your home.

  4. Rachel, it looks SO good!!!!! πŸ™‚ My dad is into carpentry (and makes beautiful pieces), so I can appreciate all the hard work that goes into crafting furniture and cabinets. I’m truly amazed! Everything looks so beautiful and cozy… You’ve definitely turned this house into a home, for sure!!
    I love home improvement projects, although they really do take so much longer than expected. πŸ˜‰ But that’s part of the fun too. I never let lack of time or money frustrate me, because I always say that it’s just more time to consider what I truly want. πŸ™‚ I’ve been working on our bedroom for awhile now, and it’s finally almost done! After that, I get to pick a new room to work on… But I definitely haven’t made anything out of wood like Christopher did. πŸ˜‰ That’s SO impressive! He could seriously sell things that he’s made!! Love it!!!

    • Oh girl, I can’t wait to see your bedroom once it’s all finished! I know it’s going to look so great. πŸ™‚ Home projects really do take so much time, but it’s worth it in the end! I’d love to see pictures of some of the things your dad has built. That seems like it would be a fun blog post! πŸ™‚

  5. I love this space! That’s awesome you guys did it all on your own, I don’t think I’d have the patience to do that! I love the pop of teal in your kitchen!

    xo, Kristina

  6. You guys did a fantastic job. The woodwork is so beautiful and I love that it all just looks very natural – it fits what was existing in the kitchen and looks so congruent. I bet you smile every time you walk into this space now!

  7. Wow, it looks great! Michael is not handy like that so if we bought a home that needed work we’d have to budget for professionals! So this is super impressive!

  8. Wow so awesome Rach πŸ™‚ I started following you half way through your kitchen remodelling and now to see it after completion is so awesome ❀ It is indeed a great pleasure to decorate one's home and then to look back on our work and enjoy it πŸ™‚ So glad you are enjoying that right now ❀

  9. Your kitchen is so pretty! You guys did an amazing job πŸ™‚

  10. It looks so much brighter in there! LOVE the cabinets he built. They look awesome and additional storage is always a good idea!

  11. So cute! I love how the space opens up post-remodel. You guys nailed it!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  12. I didn’t realize your house was a foreclosure! Ours is too. This turned out super cute πŸ™‚

  13. wow! you can tell lots of work has been put in, looking good!
    xx, lauren

  14. I love everything about this! That color is amazing – love how it’s perfectly bright, chic and comfortable! X

  15. AH! I love it!!! Real life HGTV!!! πŸ˜€ I cannot wait to get my own place with my man and we can decorate and design our dream home!

  16. That is such a cute little nook. Really bright and fun too.

  17. I love it when you show pictures of your kitchen! Not Only did you guys do such a good job, but Adore that color so much!

  18. i love it!! i love how you were able to make it work for you and your space. everything he built is so beautiful!!!

  19. It looks amazing!! Isn’t it so satisfying when you finish a project like that??

  20. reasonstocomehome

    Kitchen renovations are no joke! Y’all have done a great job. I’m blown away that your husband made all of that though. Talk about talent!!! Love the bright color too!

  21. Holy moly, this looks incredible! I can’t believe your husband built everything! I guess that explains how perfectly custom everything looks πŸ™‚ Love it!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  22. This is so so cute! I love the teal in there. I’m trying to convince that our reddish doors need to be teal =)

    It’s fun to have a kitchen nook where you can read your Bible and pray. I really enjoy the SRT devotionals too. They are really good.

    I like that mirror. I think a mirror makes a room look a lot bigger than it is.

    Lastly, that before picture – did they board up the window? That is so strange.

    • Oooh that would be super pretty! Good luck with the convincing! πŸ™‚

      Yeah, the mirror is great! Originally we wanted to open that spot up, but we couldn’t because of the wall on the other side being too short (our house is super weird, ha!). So when we put the bar there, it felt like you were eating and staring at the wall and felt kind of closed-in. So the mirror was a perfect solution! It opened the space WAY up! I love it!

      And yes, the window was boarded up when we bought the house. It was a foreclosure so it had been boarded up all around and winterized. It was definitely a lot of work to renovate, but worth it!

  23. i seriously love it!! it really looks fabulous, he did a great job!

  24. WOW! Rach, the kitchen looks awesome!!! Christopher has some serious skills!! You both did a great job πŸ™‚

  25. Heyaa Rach πŸ™‚ I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award for all the cheer and sunshine you are spreading in the world of blogs πŸ™‚ Looking really forward to your answers ❀ You can find more details in the post below πŸ™‚
    https://gameplanhappilyeverafter.wordpress.com/2016/04/23/its-raining-awards/

  26. I absolutely love this space! So modern and beautiful! Really using the space you have to the fullest. This completely makes me want to redecorate 😳

  27. Your kitchen is so pretty! I love the paint color and the cabinets, so lovely ❀

    Blessings,
    Edye // Gracefulcoffee

  28. IT LOOKS AMAZING!! You guys need to have your own fixer upper show!! haha seriously! I LOVE those barstools and the cabinets. Everything looks perfect! If you guys ever want to practice on someone else’s house, I mean, I would totally volunteer!! πŸ˜‰

  29. I absolutely love this nook! Your husband is SO talented and I want to hire him to custom build things for my house haha! I just read today’s post and noticed that your comments are turned off. I hope you’re hanging in there and that everything is ok. Sending hugs!
    Evelina @ Fortunate House

    • He really is so incredibly talented! I love how all of this turned out!

      And thank you so much, sweet Evelina, for checking in. It was a pretty terrible Saturday, but thankfully time seems to be helping. And prayer, lots of prayer. πŸ™‚

  30. Love love love your kitchen. They way you have styled and decorated it is just perfect!

  31. Rach!
    I just love this – y’all made it not only functional but BEAUTIFUL and your own! mad props to the husband!

  32. Y’all did such an amazing job!!

  33. Love all of these pictures, Rach! Christopher is so talented! It always amazes me at what you two do together. Can’t wait to check out the books you recommended for quiet time with Jesus!

  34. thehipandthrifty

    WOW! I’m so happy for you! You’ve come so far in this project, and did so well. Nice one! Also, the prayer journaling is such a nice idea–I don’t think I’ve heard of that before πŸ™‚

    • We are just so glad to have it complete! I love this area of our house now! πŸ™‚

      And yes, I’ve loved prayer journaling. I started it when I was 14 and it has been so awesome to look back over the years and see all the amazing ways God has answered prayers! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

