Panama City Beach

DSC_4703 copy

This past weekend Christopher and I went down to Panama City Beach, Florida to photograph a wedding.

DSC_4718 copy.jpg

Big benefit of photographing a wedding on the beach… arriving early and hanging out on the beach. πŸ˜‰Β Originally we had planned to stay a few extra days at the beach, but we’re headed to Destin again soon so we decided to make this just a quick weekend trip. But we always love the beach so it was awesome!

DSC_4731 copy.jpg

The weather was perfect, everything went smoothly, and the photos are turning out gorgeous. I’m still sorting through the 2600+ that we took to find the best-of-the-best to edit and send them, but so far they are gorgeous. I couldn’t have done this without Christopher as my co-shooter. He was incredible!

rach photographer.jpg

One of my favoriteΒ parts of the wedding day was when one of the groomsmen gave a speech at the reception about how love grows. I was blinking back tears while trying to photograph it all. It was so beautiful and true. We were so honored to be chosen to photograph this day and to be included in all the wedding festivities. πŸ™‚

rae and holly

And as an extra bonus, my sister’s family lives close to the beach so we love getting to see them when we go down there. We went to church with them on Sunday morning and then ate lunch together and spent some time together before we needed to leave. It was sweet, sweet time. So glad we got to see them even if it was short!

It was a good sort of weekend, friends. And such a blessing after such a difficult prior weekend. Hope you guys all had a wonderful weekend too!

Love Rach

61 responses to “Panama City Beach

  1. Love those first two photos if you guys!

  2. Oh this sounds like a dream! I would love a beach right now. Our spring weather has been all over the place!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  3. Both so gorgeous! What a great weekend to recharge and enjoy the beauty of the beach, so glad you guys had this time to enjoy!

  4. Love the pictures!!! What a fun weekend trip and sounds like a great wedding to have been a part of πŸ™‚

  5. the pics are so pretty!

  6. What a gorgeous site for a wedding!! I bet you got some amazing photos. Glad you got to visit your happy place (the beach!) and see your sister as an added bonus on the job. πŸ™‚

  7. Awww I love it! Gorgeous photos, friend!

  8. What a great weekend! It seems like the weather was gorgeous and just your personal pictures look fantastic!

  9. Gorgeous photos of you two! I’m glad you had a great time shooting the wedding and got to see your sister!

  10. I’m glad you got to go!

    That area is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been too. I really love it and hope Dave and I can make it down there again sooner than later.

  11. I feel like you guys are at the beach ALL. THE. TIME. Trying not to be jealous! Was this a friend who you photographed, or someone who just heard of your business and wanted you to come? It’s so exciting that you’re getting so much photography work! I really hope that my sister will be able to do the same thing at some point, and turn her hobby into a profession. You are living the dream, friend! πŸ™‚

    • Haha! You might not like to see that we were at the beach two weekends in a row, then. πŸ˜‰ We do love to go to the beach and thankfully it’s not too far from us. πŸ™‚

      As for the wedding – one of the groomsmen lives here in Memphis and I’ve photographed his family every 6 months for the past couple of years. The bride has seen the photos I’ve taken of their family and loved them so she contacted me and asked if I would do their photos. I’ve been asked to do a couple of weddings, but normally I refer them to other photographers. But this bride was especially fond of my work specifically so I agreed to do the wedding. I’m so glad I did. It was all so fun! πŸ™‚ I hope it works out for your sister too!

  12. Everyone’s at the beach and it sounds fantastic, especially in Florida. Looks beautiful!

  13. That is a gorgeous beach–I can’t get over how clean the sand is! (We’re surrounded by beaches on this island…they’re fun, but ‘clean’ isn’t really the word to use…ha!). Glad you had a great experience photographing the wedding, that must make for a really cool job!

    • Yes! The beaches in Florida are so gorgeous! The sand is so pristine and the water is clear. I just love it. πŸ™‚ And yes, it was a lot of fun photographing the wedding. I definitely stressed about the weather and equipment failure in the weeks leading up to the wedding, but thankfully everything went smoothly! πŸ™‚

  14. laurensparkle

    so nice that you guys worked together, how fun! I’m glad you guys found some down time to enjoy the beach πŸ™‚
    xx, lauren

  15. Girl! You are so gorgeous and that sounds amazing!! What a great benefit of going to FL to take pictures… yay for beach time! You guys are the cutest!!
    xoxo Cailee!

  16. Sweet pictures! I love any excuse to go to the beach πŸ™‚

  17. I am so glad you had a fun weekend and a quick getaway. The pictures of you two on the beach turned out so beautiful, that I can’t imagine how great the wedding shots are going to be!

  18. Such lovely snaps! And what a location.

  19. love pcb!! so glad y’all had a quick getaway! it looked gorgeous there.

  20. Yay for little getaways! Love the shots of you guys on the beach. πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com/

  21. I love seeing you in action!! Gorgeous photos!

    • Thanks, friend! I have a bunch of photos of me working – I need to do a post with several of them. Some of them have been pretty comical (like when I climb a light pole or lay in the dirt to get the angle I need). πŸ™‚

  22. i would be the worst wedding photographer, i cry way too easily haha.

  23. DARN IT! I would have hired you to be my wedding photog!!!

    • Haha! You are sweet! This is actually the first wedding that I’ve accepted. Normally I refer people to other photographers who have a track record of beautiful work. The stress wedding leading up to the wedding (what if the weather is bad? what if the equipment fails? what if I get norovirus and can’t stand up?) makes it hard for me to commit to doing weddings. I just hate to be responsible for ruining someone’s big day. But this bride in particular loved my work and she seemed super laid back over the phone (I didn’t actually meet her until the wedding day because she lives far away). So I decided I do it. I’m glad I did because everything went so smoothly, but I haven’t decided yet if I can handle the stress of the days leading up to a wedding again, haha! I’m sure whoever you have will be AWESOME! But I mean, you are gorgeous so you could have Uncle Bob use his cellphone to take your photos and they’d still be beautiful. πŸ™‚

  24. How funnnnn to travel to the beach for a wedding! I’m sure the pictures are just gorgeous. So glad you had a fun weekend and you are going to get to enjoy more of the beach soon. Love those first few pics of you two!!!

  25. So cool that your hubby can help you take photos! Looks like a great time πŸ™‚

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

  26. Oooh! LOVING the beach and the gorgeous couples ❀ We so badly wanted to check out the beaches when we had been to Florida. The Clearwater beach was around only 1 hour from where we were staying but unfortunately it was raining so much that day! 😦 Next time we will surely visit this one. I love white sand beaches πŸ™‚
    You both look so adorable πŸ™‚ ❀ You know, I would also love to have a photo of us kissing but we become so conscious when we know we are being photographed while kissing πŸ˜€ For our wedding, the photographers tried a lot but we were either giggling or making weird faces it just did not come right! Finally, they had to do with him kissing me on the forehead! πŸ˜›

  27. What an awesome place for a wedding and to take photos! The sand looks so small and soft and … incredibly white! My parents are headed down that way soon for vacation. I’ll have to mention this beach to them. Hope everything else is going well for you guys!

  28. What a beautiful and blessed weekend! Just what the doctor ordered, I’m sure!!

    I bet the groomsmen’s speech was just awesome. Love moments like that!

  29. Pingback: A Beach Wedding |

Leave a Reply

