Why we love High Valley

Four years ago Christopher and I went to a Lonestar concert and fell in love with the band who opened for them. Lonestar was great too, but we knew that going into it. What we didn’t expect was to love the opener so much. They were a little known group called High Valley. You can read all about that first concert experience here. Over the years, we have continued to follow their music and just loved it more and more. And now, finally, they have a song in the top 40 which has put them into the spot light a little more.

This past Monday, High Valley was in Memphis so naturally Christopher and I went to see them. It.Was.Awesome. I don’t think either of us stopped smiling the entire time. Their music is just so great! And going to a concert where you know all the songs is awesome too! Not only do they have great music, but they are hilarious. The guys are brothers and they kind of pick on each other and have a lot of laughs throughout the performance. It’s just awesome. 🙂

high valley!.jpg

Their lyrics are wholesome which honestly is probably a part of why they aren’t more famous. I love country music, but there are a lot of songs that spend a lot of time objectifying women and/or talking about poor choices with alcohol. Regardless of how catchy the song may be, I don’t want that stuff stuck in my head. And High Valley delivers great music with awesome lyrics.

In their song, County Line, there is a lyric that says “Got my honey on my arm, Jesus in my heart…” and Christopher loves to reference that part of the song as he and I walk around hand-in-hand. He just really relates to them. To their country upbringing, to their deep religious convictions, and to how respectful they are to women in their lyrics.

It’s impossible for me to pick just one favorite song to share with you guys so I’ve decided to just share the one that has reached the top 40 since it’s obviously popular. But my gracious, you guys, all their songs are amazing.

us with high valley

Oh, and as awesome as listening to their music live again was, the best part of the evening was getting to meet the guys. It was a smaller venue so we were able to chat with them for a few minutes. When Christopher told them how much he loved their song On the Combine because it reminded him of his childhood, they asked where he was from. I know that seems like a small thing, but it was awesome to have these guys whose music we’ve been listening to for 4 years, ask about us. They so related to Christopher’s small town up bringing and it was just really sweet. We left the venue with huge smiles and happy hearts. It was an awesome night, my friends. 🙂

Have you met an artist you really love?
Love Rach

24 responses to “Why we love High Valley

  1. How special! I need to check them out – they sound right up my alley.

  2. I love Lonestar, I have never heard of High Valley but I am off to check them out!

  3. I was sooooo close to being able to see Danny Gokey in concert last month, but it didn’t work out. I would have LOVED to see him in concert, for sure! Someday I’ll hear him sing “Hope in Front of Me” in person. 🙂
    That’s AWESOME that you not only got to see a band that’s such a favorite of yours but that you were also able to meet them!! What a memory!

  4. I love this – there is honestly nothing better than going to see a band you love live! It’s so calming and exciting all at the same time! I’m definetely going to check out High Valley since you gave such a great review!

    xx, Caitlin
    http://www.wandererandwolf.com

  5. that is awesome!! i love it when a band is good live!! and consistently good live.

  6. Lucky you 🙂 I have never met any artist whom I love :\ Though I guess maybe its for good 😀 I might go ballistic 😛

  7. That’s so awesome that you guys got to meet them! My husband and I had a similar experience the first time we saw Twenty One Pilots. They were the opener at a free show in Philly a few years ago and we fell in love. Now of course they are so much freaking bigger, but they are my favorite band and have a special place in my heart. I agree with you about finding lyrics that speak to you personally.

  8. Oh this is so fun!! Gotta love seeing a great band live and getting to meet them!! Hope that you are having a great weekend!
    xoxo Cailee!

  9. laurensparkle

    I love that first photograph with the lights, and memphis marquee! looks awesome.
    xx, lauren

  10. Looks like loads of fun! I couldn’t agree more about country music. I grew up listening to it and loved it. Nowadays all these new artists are objectifying women and talking about drinking in like every song?! I liked the George Strait and Shania Twain days better 😉

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

    • I didn’t grow up listening to it, but my husband did. He’s the one that convinced me that not all country music was terrible (because like you, he grew up listening to quality stuff). We definitely love when we find good songs/artists now! 🙂

  11. Looks like it was a great night. I love when a band is nice. That is so cool that you got to meet them.

  12. This is so neat! I’ve never heard of this band before, but it reminds me of a band that I followed when I was in college. I used to like a Christian rock band called Forever Changed ( http://www.amazon.com/Need-Feel-Alive-FOREVER-CHANGED/dp/B0007NFLOA/ref=sr_1_4?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1462843985&sr=1-4&keywords=forever+changed). They were kind of local to Tallahassee, but they did tour all over and have CDs out in stores. They never hit national fame, but my friends and I were huge fans! We always went to their shows whenever they were in town, and it was so fun to sing along to all of their songs live and even get a chance to talk to them after the show! During my senior year of college, they decided to disband–not because they were angry at each other or anything, but simply because so many of the bandmates were getting married and starting families and needing to settle down instead of being on the road all the time. I remember their final show so well–we were so sad!

    • That’s awesome! I was like that with an Acapella group called The Firemen. I loved them! But like Forever Changed, they never hit national fame. Though they should have because they were really good. I’ll definitely look into Forever Changed! Do you have a favorite song?

Leave a Reply

