Destin 2016: Things I want to Remember

We just got back from Destin. And it was lovely. So lovely. We went with our friends Brodie & Lyndal just like we did this time last year and we had a wonderful time!

us.jpg

us with brodie and lyndal.jpg

soaking up the sun1

Christopher and the bird.jpg

destin eats.jpg

Things I want to remember:

– All the delicious seafood!
– Long walks on the beach (I’m not kidding about “long” – Christopher and I walked 30,000+ steps on both Saturday & Sunday!)
– How incredible Mimmo’s Italian Restaurant was (review & pictures here)!
– Listening to comedians on the car ride (Brian Regan always makes me laugh)
– Coloring (adult coloring books for the win!)
– Communion on the balcony with Brodie & Lyndal
– Soaking up the sun
– McGuires – oh, how we love McGuires (previously blogged about here – we have eaten here every year since 2012 with the exception of 2013 when we went to Italy and didn’t travel much else that year. They make a GREAT steak!)
– The perfect weather. It was 80 degrees, full sun, and breezy. Perfect beach weather. I didn’t break a sweat once!

It was a great sort of getaway. 🙂

Love Rach

49 responses to “Destin 2016: Things I want to Remember

  1. Nothing like good weather, yummy food, and being with the ones you love! I’ve never been to Destin before, but it looks beautiful. Florida sun is the best sun 🙂

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

    • Oh my goodness, yes! And if you ever get the chance – go to Destin! I’ve visited beaches on the east coast and west coast and even in the gulf and nothing is as beautiful as Destin. I just love it there! 🙂

  2. walking (get it!!), eating good food, sunshine, friendships, lounging – sounds like an excellent get-away!

  3. All of your beach eats look amazing!!!!! What is even more amazing at the beach is when you hit perfect weather like you did! Sounds very relaxing and rejuvenating! Destin is just beautiful! It has been a few years since I have been to Destin, we always go to Gulf Shores, Alabama every year.

    • Oh my goodness, it was all so delicious! And yes, the weather was unreal. I just couldn’t believe how perfect it was every day. We go to Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan a couple of times a year because my parents live really close to there. It’s a fun spot! 🙂

  4. lauren markle

    I’m glad to hear you say you didn’t break a sweat. our wedding is in may of next year in the destin/pcb area and I’m hoping it’s not too warm. glad you guys had an amazing trip!
    xx, lauren

  5. I want to go to Destin in the worst way! I have heard nothing but good things about it!

  6. Oh my goodness Rach, these pictures are gorgeous!!!!! I love the one of you looking at Christopher. You look amazing! I’m glad you had so much fun my friend!!! XO

  7. i’m wearing a mcguires tee shirt right now! it’s one of my must-eat places there–i love the bean soup, lol. glad to hear you had a wonderful trip.

  8. That first photo is the best! You guys are too cute. Glad you had a great time!

  9. I love that first picture of you two. It’s so amazing! Looks like it was a great time in Destin.

  10. That first picture is beautiful! I need to go to Destin, I’ve heard wonderful things!

  11. LOVE these memories you shared!! Your two get cuter every time I see you!! Glad you had fun!!

  12. Such great photos!! And such great memories! You guys are seriously so cute and you’re just so gorgeous! Love that dress and your hair 🙂 Also, these eats look amazing!!
    xoxo Cailee!

    • Definitely such wonderful memories. It was a great weekend! 🙂 And thank you! I love that dress! I bought it for our five year vow renewal in Italy a couple of years ago. I don’t wear it near often enough so I was glad to pull it out for this weekend!

  13. I’m drooling over all of that delicious food! wow!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  14. These pictures are beautiful! And the food looks amazing! I’m jealous! !

  15. The food definitely looks good! And your comment about how the walks on the beach were definitively ‘long’ made me laugh–and reminded me of a time when my friend said he wanted to show us some dunes on the Michigan lakeshore that he knew were somewhere in the vicinity…that ended up being a 2-mile walk down the lakeshore. Fun to spend time on the beach with friends!

  16. thehipandthrifty

    Oh, GOD.
    *the*…*food*. (she gasped like a catfish sucking in air)
    …and, oh, yeah…the whole vacation thing.
    haha, jk. I’m on a diet ;D
    Really though, your vacation sounds awesome, so glad y’all got some ‘you’ time 🙂

  17. SEAFOOD!!!! HEART EYES x 10000 🙂

    I also really adore that photos of you and your man holding hands on the beach!

  18. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! I loved following along on your Instagram. You got some gorgeous photos!
    Evelina @ Fortunate House

  19. Sounds like you made plenty of memories, how wonderful!

  20. Yay for fun couples trips! Love the shots, lady. 🙂

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  21. This post made me so happy, Rach! The pictures are beautiful, and you guys look so relaxed! The seafood, coloring, communion, laughter, and perfect weather sound like they made for an amazing getaway!

  22. Sounds like a great getaway with lots of great food!

  23. Gosh these pictures are beautiful! It looks like absolute paradise!

  24. so many steps! looks like you had an amazing time. the food looks delicious.

  25. Pingback: The truth behind our “picture-perfect” beach photos |

Leave a Reply

