My favorite way to eat asparagus

I love asparagus. Steamed, roasted, baked, tossed in a casserole – all delicious. Asparagus drizzled with olive oil and covered in garlic is a common side dish in our house. But do you guys remember that one time when we went to Carrabba’s and I raved about their prosciutto wrapped asparagus with fontina? Right, well we naturally recreated it at home and have had it several times since then and I am finally getting around to sharing it with you guys!

prosciutto wrapped asparagus with fontina (1)

prosciutto wrapped asparagus with fontina (2)

prosciutto wrapped asparagus with fontina (3)

Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus with Fontina
(inspired by Carrabba’s)

Ingredients:

1 bunch asparagus (thicker stalks hold up better)
Olive Oil Spray
salt & pepper
4 oz fontina cheese, thinly sliced
6 slices prosciutto, each cut into three long strips
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Remove ends from asparagus and lay each stalk flat on a baking sheet. Mist with Olive Oil Spray and then sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper over the asparagus. Allow to roast for about 10-12 minutes until asparagus is nearing tender, but not quite there.

3. Meanwhile, pour balsamic vinegar into a small pot on the stove and bring to boil, then reduce to simmer. Allow to thicken/reduce for about 10 minutes then remove from heat.

4. Remove asparagus from oven and wrap each piece with a small piece of cheese and then a strip of prosciutto. Pop them all back in the oven for 3-5 minutes until cheese is soft and begins to melt. Remove from oven and serve immediately topped with the balsamic reduction.

 If you are looking for an appetizer to delight your dinner guests – this is the one. Or if you want to just make an entire meal out if it like we do sometimes – that’s totally acceptable as well. 😉

What’s your favorite way to eat asparagus?

Love Rach

39 responses to “My favorite way to eat asparagus

  1. Okay, this sounds like perfection. I absolutely need to make this!

  2. Drool!! So good!!!

  3. i think i just drooled on my desk at work, so thanks for that. 😉

  4. Shut up! That’s perfect!

  5. lauren markle

    gosh this looks good. I love the simplicity.
    xx, lauren

  6. I don’t eat a lot of asparagus, but that looks really good!

  7. This looks and sounds amazing. Definitely going to try it at our house.

  8. YUM! I’ve always wanted to do it wrapped in bacon but I love the balsamic addition!

  9. That looks awesome and very Italian:) also what exactly is prosciutto? I had it in a dish at macaroni grill the other day and it kind of tasted like beef jerky to me, but I’m still not sure…

    • Hi friend! 🙂 Prosciutto is a really thinly sliced, dry cured ham. You’re right that it’s similar to beef jerky since they are both cured meats! We need to make a couple of our favorites for you guys! This recipe will be on the list as well as these sandwiches that we were introduced to in Italy. They have prosciutto, fresh mozzarella, and arugula on them and they are SO delicious! I’ve actually been eating them for lunches this week. 🙂

  10. Oh BIG YUM!! I am so making this, thank you so much!!

  11. I do prosciutto wrapped asparagus all the time but maybe I need to slide a piece of cheese in there now too!!! Yum!!!!

  12. I bet these rock! Bacon over anything is delicious

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com/

  13. This looks so fancy! I love recreating restaurant meals.

  14. Love love love asparagus! Especially on the grille! This recipe though makes me want to stop being vegetarian just so I can try it! Looks amazing!

  15. i can’t get on the asparagus train, even trying it this way, but i will say this looks lovely–great presentation. it’s the smell and taste i don’t like. but again, this looks great.

  16. Oh this looks so good.

  17. Oh, yum!! We usually do bacon wrapped asparagus, but we’ll have to try this out!

  18. Asparagus is one of my favorite vegetables! It’s just so good! Prosciutto, fontina, and balsamic vinegar take it to the next level!

Leave a Reply

