Weekend Happenings

Most of SaturdayΒ was spent working around the house. Mowing, pulling weeds, planting herbs, Goodwill donation run, and such. And most of Sunday was spent doing church stuff (we were home for about 2 hours mid-day yesterday other than when we were sleeping). It was a good sort of weekend. Very productive. We even ran. Yes, ran. Which is so unlike us. We both dislike running, but Christopher needs to do it for his knee to continue healing (from ACL surgery) so I ran with him to encourage him. I used to love to run in high school and college, but after running last night I have found that I definitely don’t miss it. πŸ˜‰

at jennifer's wedding.jpg

On a more exciting note we attended a wedding for one of Christopher’s coworkers this past weekend. I know it looks like I’m wearing a white dress to a wedding, but I’m really not! MostΒ of the dress is black, just the empire top isΒ an off-white/creamΒ color. But of course at first glance in these photos it looks like a white dress, ha! If it’s taboo to wear an off-white or cream colored top to a wedding, don’t tell me. I asked lots of people before I decided on this dress and they all made me feel good about wearing it. Don’t take that from me. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, the wedding was fun and I enjoyed getting to know several of Christopher’s co-workers better.

rach and kelsi.jpg

This weekend we also hadΒ a going away party/blessing time for Kelsi. She’s been mentioned quite a bit on this blog because she was part of the group of girls I mentored from 7th grade on. She graduated high school last year, but decided to stay in Memphis for college so we have stayed close with her. She’s like a sister to us. πŸ™‚ Anyway, she has an awesome opportunity in New York for the summer so off she goes! You can keep up to date on her travels at her blog: Journey with Kelsi.

letters

As an extra blessing/going-away gift I gave Kelsi a pouch of letters for the summer. 23 letters to be exact. The first few are time sensitive (open on the plane, open on your first day of work, etc), but the rest are on an “as needed basis”. So letters for days when she is worried, overwhelmed, tired, struggling to get along with people, etc. Christopher even wrote one and titled it “Read me when you need advice from your big brother”. πŸ™‚ I tried to think through all the scenarios that might play out this summer and wrote her a letter of encouragement for each one. πŸ™‚ We’ll miss her, but we are so excited for all of her adventures!

Love Rach

62 responses to “Weekend Happenings

  1. Can y’all write me some of those letters :-)?

    • James, I will totally write you letters! In fact, I took pictures of all the ones I wrote to her before I sealed them so I can read some of those to you the next time we see you. πŸ™‚ And I’m sure that Christopher will be happy to write you a letter for a day when you need advice from your big brother. πŸ˜‰

  2. The letters you gave Kelsi are so sweet (and such a great idea!). Sounds like you had a productive and fun weekend! πŸ™‚

    • I wanted a way to bless her all summer and this seemed like a good option. πŸ™‚ I wish I had thought of this when my little sister did her first internship, but hey! Now I’ve got a solid idea for the future. πŸ™‚

  3. That is so sweet of you to write all of those letters for her. I am sure it will be such an encouragement to have new ones to open up throughout the summer. I have picked up running again, and as much as I dread it, I always feel so much better afterwards. Dan has even gone with me a few times, so I think I am actually kind of loving it.

  4. You looked gorgeous at the wedding! And I love this time of year of gardening, makes for fun but exhausting weekends!

  5. Aww.. ❀️ The letters gesture is so sweet!

  6. That dress is pretty! I wanna get back into running but yeah time. Love the gift you gave your friend! So sweet!

  7. Those letters will be a blessing to her! That is really sweet of you πŸ™‚

    • I hope so! I know it’s different than sending off your own child that you raised, but it feels a lot like that. I’ve been her mentor for 7 years and she has become like family to us. I know she is going to face so many challenges this summer and I hate that I will be so far away when she needs someone. But that’s part of the growing process I suppose. I hope these letters are a little taste of home and encouragement when she needs it most. πŸ™‚

  8. Girl, I hear you- I’m not a runner, either- but my boyfriend is like a crazy marathoner! We meet in the middle with bikes. πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com/

    • Bikes I can do! Running just isn’t my thing anymore. I still have shin splints from running TWO DAYS ago! Ha! I’m glad you and your boyfriend found something you can do together for fitness! Usually for us it’s walking or hiking. We love being out in nature. But running… ugh… not normally our thing, ha!

  9. Ugh, running. Hate hate double hate loathe entirely! I think your dress is pretty and totally fine to wear to a wedding! And that letter gift is so sweet and thoughtful!!!!!

    • ​Glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t like running! It’s two days later and I still have shin splints, ha!

      And thank you for the vote of confidence toward the dress! Honestly, at our wedding, I didn’t notice anything anyone wore so I’m pretty sure that shy of someone showing up in a white ball gown, I wouldn’t have noticed even if someone had worn something white or white-ish. Ha!

      And thanks, girl! It took a lot of time to write all those letters, but if they will be an encouragement to her this summer, then it is totally worth it! πŸ™‚

  10. That was so sweet of you guys to write all those letters for Kelsi! What a creative idea and I’m sure it will be a huge blessing to her. I know if someone did that for me, it’d make me cry because it’s so sweet! ❀

  11. What a fun and busy weekend. I love love love the letters you wrote for your friend. I bet those letters will be such a blessing to her when she needs them during the summer.

    • I sure hope so! It’s so hard for me to let her go after being so involved in her life for the past 7 years, but I just keep reminding myself that she’s coming back in August, haha! I told her that she absolutely may not fall in love with some boy and move there permanently. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I wanted a way to be a blessing to her throughout the summer at the times when she needs it most. I hope this helps!

  12. lauren markle

    what a thoughtful gift, this is just the sweetest thing. I really wish I would’ve done that for my little sister going away to college!

  13. Those letters are a GREAT idea!

  14. I love that dress, and I think it is fine to wear some white to a wedding. Someone wore a totally white dress to my wedding…hmmmm…

  15. Those letters are the sweetest idea, you’re such a good friend!

  16. I’m trying desperately to make myself like running haha. not sure if I’ll ever get there!

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

  17. So sweet about the letters to Kelsi. You just gave me an idea!! I’m going to do this for the boys for their first few months of college. You look amazing in that off white and black dress.

    • Yay! I am so glad to pass on the idea! I wish I had thought of it for my own little sister when she went overseas for her first internship. But it’s definitely one I will use again for future mentees and nieces & nephews. πŸ™‚

      I will say, I did send my sister weekly cards of encouragement during her junior and senior year of college and she said it was just the best. I don’t know if your boys will feel the same way or not, but she absolutely loved it. I thought it do it for her because my mom sent me a couple of cards of encouragement (often just a cute card that she signed “love, mom” – not anything elaborate) every month during my senior year of college. Just opening my little mailbox and having something fun in there was awesome. And knowing that my mom was thinking of me was sweet. πŸ™‚

  18. You look so cute at the wedding and I could see it wasn’t all white and it looks super cute! You guys are so sweet to Kelsi. She will cherish those letters as she opens each one and I’m sure she will keep them forever πŸ™‚ You seem like such a great example to her!!

    • Thank you for your encouragement, friend! I sure hope those letters are a blessing to her this summer! She’s opened a couple of them already and texted me every time. I love knowing where she’s at in the journey and how she’s doing. It’s hard for me to let go of her for the summer, but I know it’s going to be such a good and growing experience for her!

  19. I love a classic black/white combo! Looks like fun – we’ve got our first wedding of the season this weekend.

  20. The letters are so sweet! I don’t like goodbye parties as a rule, but this sounds like it won’t be too, too long of a goodbye to her. πŸ™‚ I will probably never run with Angel, although the theory of exercising together sounds fun…he runs way too fast and I don’t like running to begin with.

    • Yes! This definitely won’t be too long of a goodbye. She’ll be back before we know it! πŸ™‚

      Yeah, if that were the case I totally wouldn’t run with my husband either! As it is, I had shin splints for 3 days after running with him so I’m not sure if he’ll be able to convince me again. He probably will, though, because I know it’s encouraging to him since he also hates running. I’m so weak, ha!

  21. The pouch of letters is so sweet! There have been times in my life when I wished I had a letter of encouragement waiting for me πŸ™‚

  22. You are the sweetest! Seriously, I would be so antsy and excited to read those letter… But I would not cheat, NO NO I would not! I bet you do the sweetest things and surprise Chris all the time too! Kelsi is so blessed to have you in her life! πŸ™‚

    • Haha! I hear you! If it had been me who received a pouch of letters like that I would’ve been dying to know what they all said as well! But like you, no matter how tempted, I wouldn’t cheat. Partially because waiting is what I’m supposed to do, but also partially because I would’ve known that I would need encouragement later and didn’t want to spoil it. I’ve been given a letter that said “do not open until…” but I only had to wait like a day, ha! A whole summer’s worth of letters would be a lot harder to resist. But so far Kelsi has only opened the first couple (that were time sensitive). She’s a rule follower, that one. πŸ™‚

  23. That dress is gorg! Since it can’t be mistaken for a wedding dress I don’t see any issue with it being worn to a wedding. Those letters sound so sweet, I hope Kelsi has a great trip!

  24. Aw, those letters are so sweet, what a nice idea that was!

  25. my mom has a dress very similar to yours and wore it for a wedding. you looked great!! that is so sweet about the letters!

  26. I love that you wrote those letters. It shows your beautiful heart, and I know that she will find comfort (and a smile) when she reads them. πŸ™‚
    I LOVE the dress you wore to the wedding!! I have a very similar dress, and I definitely wore it to a wedding before and received compliments on it. (I had totally asked around ahead of time too though. Ha, ha). You were definitely okay to wear it, for sure! Sooooo BEAUTIFUL! πŸ™‚

    • I so hope that those letters will be encouraging to her! I know that they would have meant a lot to me when I went out on my own for the first time. I kept trying to think through all the different emotions and fears I faced during those first few months and I wrote her a letter for each one. Honestly I hope there are a couple that she doesn’t need to read this summer (like “read me when your heart is broken”) and she can just open those on the plane ride home, but if she does experience the really hard things – I want to have a little piece of me there with her.

      And yay! Thanks for the vote of confidence on the dress! Love that you have one similar and have worn it to a wedding as well! Great minds, great minds. πŸ™‚

  27. How incredibly thoughtful and positive! I know I’ve said it before, but how incredibly lucky those girls are/were to have you as a mentor.

  28. I’m with you–I am not a runner. I don’t understand the “runner’s high” thing at all. I think you must have to run so hard you nearly barf to get to that point. By the way, your idea with the letters is so sweet! I love it!

  29. Your letters to Kelsi are probably so beautiful and amazing. Rach, you are such a blessing! I can’t wait to check our Kelsi’s blog!

    Also, you looked beautiful at the wedding!

  30. The wedding looks fun. I think the glasses really completed the look of the dress – did you ask if you could keep them?

  31. Heehee. I love those photo props πŸ˜€ And you guys look so cute ❀ Wishing Kelsi all the best in her venture πŸ™‚ And the letter concept. OMG! Its sort of movie material . πŸ™‚ I wish someone wrote me like that. πŸ˜€ But with my nature, I might open it all at one go πŸ˜€ I can hardly wait for surprises πŸ˜› You are so sweet Rach.

Leave a Reply

