Cayenne Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

I know a lot of people adore Martha Stewart’s recipes, but I tend to be more of a Ree Drummond or America’s Test Kitchen kind of girl. Not to mention all my family recipes that I love so much. But I do have one tried and true Martha Stewart recipe that I love. I had this for the first time when visiting family several years ago and I loved that it was so simple and full of fresh ingredients so I brought the recipe home with me!

cayenne rubbed chicken with avocado salsa

cayenne rubbed chicken with avocado salsa2

cayenne rubbed chicken with avocado salsa3

Martha Stewart’s Cayenne Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

Ingredients:

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
4 (6 oz) boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 medium red onion, finely diced
Juice from 1 lime
1 avocado, pitted and cut into chunks

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, combine salt, pepper, and cayenne; rub all over chicken.

2. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium. Add chicken, and cook until browned on the outside and opaque throughout, 8 to 10 minutes per side.

3. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine onion and lime juice; set aside. Just before serving, fold avocado chunks into onion mixture; season with salt and pepper. Serve chicken topped with salsa.

Recipe originally found here on Martha Stewart’s Website.

The cayenne chicken alone would be really good even without the avocado salsa, but I like the addition of it to help balance out the spice of the cayenne. 🙂

Do you have a favorite celebrity chef? If I had to pick just one I think it would have to be Ree Drummond. Her recipes are just SO good! But I do love this M Stewart recipe!

Love Rach

51 responses to “Cayenne Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

  1. Those looks heavenly! I am a big Ree fan, too! Her and Trish Yearwood are too of my favorites on tv.

  2. You had me at avocado salsa, this looks delicious!

  3. This looks delicious! I’m kind of obsessed with anything avocado.

  4. Oh my this sounds delicious!

  5. Mmm, this looks so delicious! And easy to make. We’ll have to try it.

    I really like basically anything that The Pioneer Woman makes. I also really like The Barefoot Contessa and I’m not a big Rachael Ray fan exactly, but I liked a lot of her recipes from 30 Minute Meals!

    • Let me know what you think of it when you try it! We really love it! In fact Christopher texted me yesterday to say that he had just read my blog post and it made him hungry for this recipe again, haha! I’m thinking it will become even more of a staple around these parts. 🙂

      Rachael Ray definitely has some good quick meal ideas! I don’t know if I’ve tried anything from the Barefoot Contessa, but I should! What are a couple of your favorites from her?

  6. Cayenne and avocado are two of my favorite ingredients for any meal, so this sounds amazing to me! And since the chicken is cooked in a skillet, I can actually try it…I only noticed how many recipes involved ovens once I no longer had an oven. (Once, years ago, I was making a dish and the recipe called for dill. I didn’t have any dill, so I just put cayenne pepper in instead….because obviously cayenne is a great replacement for dill….hahaha! Still tasted great to me! 🙂

    • Hooray for a meal you can make! You’ll have to let me know what you think of it. 🙂

      Haha! I love that you replaced dill with cayenne! Totally the same thing. 😉 But hey! Since it was good that’s all that really matters!

  7. We make this avocado salsa often and literally put it on everything. It goes really well on salmon too.

  8. Mmmm, go Martha Stewart! This sounds delicious! I don’t know if I could pick a favorite celebrity chef for their recipes. I tend to find recipes all over the place! I need to check out some Pioneer Woman cookbooks from the library!

  9. I’m usually more of an America’s Test Kitchen person too (I LOVE their podcast and they have a great vegetarian cookbook!) but sometimes Martha surprises me too!

  10. YUM! Rach this looks SO good! Avocado and salsa are literally two of my faves!! So I love how you mixed them!! Also, I used to LOVE Giada!! ❤ Happy Friday!
    xoxo Cailee!

  11. Oh this looks so good! I wish I was a better cook.

  12. Why are you so good at everything????? Those food pics are beautiful!!!

  13. This looks so yummy! I am a total avocado lover, but can’t seem to get anyone else in the house to go near one. This recipe looks so simple, which always wins bonus points in my book.

  14. That looks delicious! Chicken is a staple in my house, so I might have to try this 🙂

  15. I can’t do spicy food because I’m not a big fan and sometimes my mouth swells up when I eat certain spices (wimpy mouth, lol). But I looove avocado on top of lots of things. I think I’m going to get a vegan BLT with avocado today.

  16. lauren markle

    love love love avocado. so good and good for you! I like ina garten, her tomato basil soup with orzo is to die for.

  17. This looks really good and easy! I’ll have to give it a try. I like Ree because her blog is so darn funny!

    Also, I drove by her farm a while back! I didn’t even know I was going to but I definitely saw it while driving to see my cousins. I thought about popping in for a visit but figured she wouldn’t love that.

  18. I love avocados, but I have such a hard time picking a good one! Do you have any tips? My favorite celebrity chef is Giada. Her recipes are easy and so stinking delicious! I actually taught myself how to cook with her cookbooks!

    • Yes, definitely! When you are picking out avocados, hold them in your and and just slightly put a little pressure on the fruit (don’t squeeze, just a little pressure). If there is no give then it’s not ripe yet, if there is a lot of give or if it’s really mushy then it’s over ripe, but if it gives just a little – it’s perfect! 🙂

      I need to check out more of Giada’s recipes! I love her as a TV personality!

  19. This sounds and looks delicious and will be perfect for summer!

  20. I thought it was guac or something on top! This looks like it has a lot of interesting flavors!

  21. this looks pretty good! without the cayenne hahahaha. KC would like that. the avo salsa sounds delish. i will have to check out more of martha’s recipes, or ree’s. i don’t have a tried and true person.

  22. this looks SO good!! i am absolutely addicted to avocado lately!!

  23. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

