Lately

flowers from sv.jpg

Last Thursday we attended an appreciation dinner for the volunteer work we’re involved in here in Memphis. These beauties cameΒ home with us from that dinner. We actually got some difficult news on this day so spending the evening being showered with love was a blessing.

cottage cheese.jpg

I’ve discovered that I like cottage cheese. For the longest time I avoided it because the texture seemed really weird to me, but I finally tried it and… I actually like it! I’ve been eating it with strawberries and it has been the bomb dot com. Any other recommendations for good combinations with cottage cheese?

gym selfie.jpg

My sister, Holly, and I are constantly competing on Fitbit so even though we were out of town this weekend (and out of our normal routine), I couldn’t miss my work outs and let her win. πŸ˜‰ Since we were staying at a hotel, I used their gym and it turned out that I had it all to myself! So I took my first ever gym selfie.

oreo at the hotel

Speaking of staying a hotel… Oreo traveled with us this past weekend and he surprised us with how great he was all weekend. He hasn’t stayed in a hotel with us since 2011 (and he definitely had some serious separation anxiety back then every time we left him behind in the room) so we were a little unsure of how he’d do. But he was awesome! We were so proud of him!

fam2.jpg

Speaking of this past weekend, we were traveling because we were visiting Christopher’s family. I love the joy it brings my mother-in-law to see all six of us together.

fam

Christopher and his parents and brother. I’ve talked about her a lot on this blog, but my mother-in-law really is incredible. In fact, go back to my post from SeptemberΒ and read what I said about her then, it’s all still completely accurate.

kiddos

YesterdayΒ was ourΒ first official “school’s out, summer’s here” day with the kids that I nanny. During the school year I hardly get to see Will (who just completed 1st grade) so summer is an extra special time for us!

working

As you guys know, it’s a busy time of yearΒ for me with photography so there is lots of photo taking and editing happening right now. I know my blog posts lately have become snippets of many things instead of normal posts, but with work being so busy, something has to give a little. I may not be able to write as much as I want right now, but I can at least get these little tidbits out there to look back on later. πŸ™‚ Thanks for hanging with me, friends.

Love Rach

 

68 responses to “Lately

  1. Yay to Oreo, family, beautiful flowers and FitBit fun!! I have forgotten mine several days these last couple weeks and go crazy when I see how well you’re doing! Competitive much? Lol!! Go girl!! Totally get cha with somethings gotta give. With these two boys graduating and all the parties, I’m burning the candles at both ends, ha ha! Hope your week is going great! Can’t wait to see some of your photography goodness!!

    • Haha! We are just inspiring each other to do better!! That’s why FitBit is so great! πŸ™‚

      I bet you are swamped right now with the boys graduating! I’m so behind in blog reading! I need to catch up on your life!

  2. Pineapple is always a classic with cottage cheese, but grapes are good too!

  3. Haha my mom and sister in law and I like to compete on our fitbits too haha πŸ™‚

    I hope photo season is going well! I’m sure it’s keeping you busy!

  4. OREO! I don’t know that I’ve seen a picture of him before, he is so cute! I love my MIL too! think the whole “mothers-in-law are evil” thing is so weird. I mean, I know that some people have crazy MIL’s, but some have super awesome ones that they love!

    • Oh girl, I’m glad you said that. I feel like I way over share photos of him. Maybe it’s just that I take SO many haha! He shows up on my Instagram a LOT, haha!

      And I’m so glad to hear that you have a good relationship with your mother-in-law as well! It’s such a blessing!

  5. I used to LOVEEE cottage cheese!!! But then I started noticing that I break out more when I eat dairy so I cut it out 😦 I totally miss it all the time though! Enjoy it twice as much for the both of us πŸ˜‰

    That’s a great picture with you, Christopher and the rest of his family. You are looking cute as ever!! Love the shoes and dress πŸ˜€

    • Ooh I will definitely eat an extra serving for you today! Dairy upsets my stomach, but taking a lactase pill with it helps a lot! I understand avoiding the break outs! I’ve heard dairy does that to other people too!

      And thanks, friend!

  6. I love your dress!!! I need to start working out too! I am weakkkkkkkkkk!!!! I just have no motivation.

  7. Oh my that picture of Oreo is adorable!!!!! What a cutie! I like eating cottage cheese as part of my lunches, they sell them in single serving 4 packs and its a great way to get the added protein. Also, totally random…but I like cottage cheese and noddles. It sounds weird but it is so good. Love that you and your sister are competing with the fitbits! That’s a little healthy competition. See what I did there. Hehe!

    • Girl, I love pasta so adding it to cottage cheese sounds awesome! What’s your favorite brand? Do you notice a difference in different brands? I’ve only had the Sprouts brand. Just want to be sure I’m not missing out here. πŸ˜‰

      And I know, right?! Oreo is so stinkin’ cute!

      And your little pun… perfect! Definitely some healthy competition!

  8. I love the tidbit posts. They feel like catch up dates, which are fun.

    I like cottage cheese with pineapple and with mandarin orange slices. I’m intrigued by the suggestion above to combine it with pasta….

    Love the flowers and the family photos. Your dress is so pretty!

    • It is like a little coffee date with a friend you haven’t seen recently. Quick mentions of all the big things happening lately. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the cottage cheese recommendations! I really like pineapple so I definitely need to try that combination! Do you have a favorite brand of cottage cheese that is your go to?

  9. I just realized I asked you how you’re doing, and you have this post up! For some reason it didn’t show up on my Bloglovin’! Anyways, the FitBit is such a big motivator for me too! I’m sorry to hear you got difficult news. 😦

    • Weird that it didn’t show up in Bloglovin’. There was definitely like a 2 hour delay before it showed up in Feedly (which is what I use to keep track of blogs). Not sure what’s up with that delay.

      Oooh I love that you are motivated by FitBit too! I’ll totally look for you so I can add you! πŸ™‚ ​

  10. Ooh cottage cheese is fantastic! I love it as a topping on green salads, or in a bowl with fresh diced tomatoes, also just by itself with salt and pepper. πŸ™‚

    • Oooh all of those sound yummy! I’ve had it with salt & pepper because that’s how Christopher likes it, but I’ll have to try it over salad greens and also mixed with diced tomatoes. There are so many ways to eat cottage cheese that I’ve never thought of!

  11. You still update your blog WAY more than me (and I feel confident that you are busier than me–you seem to always be on the go!). I’m sorry that you got some sad news, friend! But I’m glad that you were able to spend some quality time with your family–your family family AND your church family. πŸ™‚

    • Haha! Girl, you have a toddler at home and are busy growing a baby – you are ALWAYS busier than me. At least when it comes to uninterrupted time to get things done. I am glad that you’ve continued to blog even if it’s not as often as it once was. I love your updates! πŸ™‚

      My mother-in-law and I definitely had a much needed heart-to-heart (actually we had two of them on two different days) and they were just such a blessing. She is so wonderful. And I loved that it made her so happy to have all her kids together. πŸ™‚

  12. Now I’m tempted to try cottage cheese with strawberries! Oreo is such a cutie πŸ™‚

  13. So cool that Oreo got to tag along on your weekend trip. Looks like he loved the bed πŸ˜‰
    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

  14. Ha! I love that you and your sister “compete” πŸ˜‰ GREAT motivation to keep it up!! πŸ˜‰ I NEVER EVER don’t work out, regardless of where I am!

  15. Those flowers are gorgeous! And I love the patterned blue dress you wore in that family photo. πŸ™‚ My siblings and I are competitive…but it’s never occurred to us to compete on working out regularly. Ha! We have yet to develop a strong commitment to exercise routines, apparently.

    • The flowers were SO pretty! They brightened up our house quite nicely. They are on their last leg now, but there are still some pretty blooms in the mix. πŸ™‚

      Haha! Well maybe you can be the one to start the competition on working out regularly. I bet if you started doing it, they’d want to beat you at it. πŸ˜‰

  16. Cottage cheese does take a bit of getting used to, but it’s protein packed and delicious!

  17. so many things going on right now for you! yay for oreo for behaving in the hotel. whenever i travel with charlie, the first thing he does is hop on the bed like a bunny!!

  18. Aw your pup is so cute! I have two big dogs that I’d love to travel with, but the though of staying in a hotel with them makes me nervous! They’re good boys, just very energetic!

  19. I like the little life update posts!

    I’m glad you got to spend some time with your in-laws. Time wit family is a true gift. And I can totally understand wedding season being busy. I was a 2nd photographer at a wedding a couple of weeks ago. It was fun but then editing thousands of pictures is where the real work comes in! I hope it goes well for you.

  20. My sister and I want to get fitbits so we can compete with each other. We have been using the health app on our phones to track our steps but both think the fitbit would be better. Right now, I’m winning too. haha

  21. Your gym selfie is so cute! And I need to try cottage cheese + strawberries; I’ve had it with peaches (interesting!), but wanna try your version. πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  22. Chick fil a honey mustard and sweet tea sounds so good right about now. I think I’m gonna have to make my tofu version soon haha. I’m glad Oreo did well. I always feel bad leaving my cats at home but I know that cats are unhappy when you move them anywhere. Dogs on the other hand can be good travel buddies.

    • Chick Fil A definitely has some awesome staples! What’s your tofu version? I’m curious!

      Yeah, cats are so much more self reliant than dogs. I’m always amazed that my sister can leave her cat at home for a weekend and he is totally fine. Oreo (our dog) would eat all his food in one day and probably tear apart the house out of boredom, ha!

  23. I have been under the impression that I hate cottage cheese for years. Maybe I should give it another shot! Ah, summer days with school age kids…so many fun possibilities!

  24. i don’t like cottage cheese! but…. i’ve never actually had it so i might be like you and actually really like it. hahaha. i’m too afraid to try it though! love your gym selfie! i take way too many of those.

  25. One of my college roommates would eat cottage cheese every day for lunch. She always just loaded it down with black pepper! Your blue dress is super cute! And those flowers are lovely. Sorry you got some bad news, though. All the love helped I bet πŸ™‚

    • Christopher eats it with salt & pepper so that’s the first way I tried it! It was pretty good! Though I like the sweetness of strawberries better so far. πŸ™‚

      Thanks friend! It definitely was encouraging to spend some time with people who loved on us. πŸ™‚ And the flowers were definitely an awesome bonus!

  26. So sorry about the tough news, but I’m glad you could be showered with love and flowers!

    Cottage cheese is a weird thing, isn’t it?! I like it too, but also avoided it for a while because I thought the texture didn’t match the taste. Like that makes sense, ha. It’s really good with jam mixed in, too!

    Love the pictures with your in-laws! And go Oreo!!! So proud!

    • Thank you, sweet friend! It was such a blessing to be surrounded by love on Thursday. And spending the weekend with my mother-in-law who just dotes on me was awesome too. πŸ™‚

      Yes! The texture totally doesn’t match the taste. I thought it would be a lot more sour or at least tangy. I was so surprised by how mild cottage cheese is. Also, I love the idea of adding jam to it. I definitely need to try that!

  27. I will be emailing you this weekend, but I wanted to pop onto your blog to say ‘hi’ here too! So while I’ll write so much more in the email… I wanted to say that I loved catching up here as to what’s going on in your life! AND – well – you are just such an incredible person! xoxo

  28. lauren markle

    what a beautiful bouquet of flowers, glad they helped to soften the bad news. all my life, I could not get into cottage cheese. it’s so good for you!

  29. There were lots of nice things in this post — Oreo behaving well, a nice time with your in-laws — but strawberries and cream cheese? Is that even legal! πŸ™‚

  30. Aw Oreo in your hotel room just makes me happy. And go girl on working out in the hotel! I can never manage that one. πŸ˜‰

  31. Fitbit competition!! So fun! And oh my gosh Rach… I love Oreo! And I’m kind of obsessed with his name! SO fun! Hope that you’re having a great week girl!
    xoxo Cailee!

  32. I never realized how much I like cottage cheese until about a year ago either. I have never tried it with strawberries, but love it with grape tomatoes. I love your dress in the photo of all six of you!

  33. It’s awesome you got to take Oreo with you. I’m always nervous to travel with our pup, but he always impresses us (it’s like he knows he’s being watched ;))
    Nothing beats an empty hotel gym!!
    -Linds

    • I hear you! I was definitely nervous to travel with him, but he surprised us by being so great! We traveled with him again this past weekend and he did great again! Definitely a relief to know that he can come with us when necessary! πŸ™‚

  34. So awesome to catch up πŸ™‚ Feels as if you are talking to a friend after a few days gap over a coffee πŸ™‚ ❀ It is amazing when we have a bond with our mother-in-law isn't it πŸ™‚ I have been blessed with an incredible one too πŸ™‚ I had seen your gym selfie in insta πŸ˜€ I joined insta finally !! Love your photos πŸ™‚ The wedding editing pic was also so cute!

    • Yay! I love that you are close with your mother-in-law too! Isn’t that such a blessing?! πŸ™‚ And hooray for Instagram! I just now realized that I wasn’t following you on there. I thought for sure that I was! Yeeps! Glad I double checked. πŸ™‚

      • Yes indeed, a huge blessing πŸ™‚ Esp when you grow up hearing nightmares about that cliched relationship!
        Haha, I had been commenting on every other pic of yrs(they all are so cute!) and realised you have too many fans and you wouldn notice me anyways πŸ˜› Thanks for the follow dear πŸ™‚ ❀

Leave a Reply

