Another Lately Post

Thankfully several of you have mentioned that you really like the Lately posts and I’m glad for that because I have another one for you today. ๐Ÿ™‚ So let’s pretend we’re having a coffee date and I’ll fill you in on things lately.

oreo.jpg

I was surprised in my last post how many of my newer readersย mentioned that theyย hadn’t seen Oreo before or recently. I take so many pictures of him that I guess I just assume that I must be sharing most of them (let’s be real, I totally text them to people all the time, ha!). But I guess I’m not putting as many on here or Instagram as I thought. So here’s a beauty for ya today. ๐Ÿ™‚

rach and ada

It’s summer time which means our small group from church is now meeting pool side on Sunday evenings. This is sweet Miss Ada Grace who you guys met in February. She loved her first pool experience! She did not, however, love looking at the camera. ๐Ÿ˜‰

fix it and finish it (2)

Re-runs of the Fix It & Finish It episode that we were on in 2014ย will come on TV from time to time and without fail weย will get a text or call from someone (or usually several someones)ย freaking out over seeing us on TV. Sometimes it’s someone who has known us a long time and already knows about it, but every now and then it will be someone we’ve met more recently who didn’t know about this happening. This past week the episode was playing again and we got texts from family and friends about it. Such a sweet reminder of a precious gift that was given to us! You better believe I am still so thankful every time I walk into that room. ๐Ÿ™‚

editing photos

Busy season is still in full swing for another couple of weeksย before the real heat of summer hits. I photographed a senior yesterday and tomorrow’s session isย withย an 18 month old. And of course, I’m still working on editingย previousย sessions (for most sessions I try to have photos back to clients within 2-3 weeks so I don’t give myself an opportunity to be too backlogged). I’m busy, but I’m loving every minute of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

You guys know that I love Memphis so I just have to share this video with you. For those who don’t know, Justin Timberlake is from Memphis. And trust me, everyone and their brother here in Memphis either knows him or knows one of his family members or knows someone who knows the family – there is a lot of pride over the fact that he’s from here. Anyway, Memphis made a video for JT’s song Can’t Stop the Feeling and it’s pretty awesome. Here’s a taste of Memphis (some iconic sights & foods & good dancing) for you!

Love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

And last, but not least (actually I put this last so it would stay fresh in your minds as you leave this post), I wanted to share with you guys that my friend, Julia,ย started a fashion blog called The Trendy Pharmacist about a month and a half ago and it is awesome! She shares fashionable clothes you can wear to work that are still comfortable. So go check it out!

Love Rach

61 responses to “Another Lately Post

  1. Whaaat? How cool you were on that show! I bet that would be such a surreal/cool experience. Dogs and babies…two of the best things to include in a post! So so cute!

    • It really was so surreal! I remember telling Christopher that all throughout the day when it was happening. And then after it was all over and done with I would think back on it and it felt like such a dream. But I can walk into that room and see the proof! We are so grateful still! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love the video with Memphis as the star. That’s really neat. I also always love pics of Oreo, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I love that video too! Memphis has had some rough days lately (we just had our 100th homicide of the year this past weekend and another police officer was killed last week) so I love the reminders of all the good in this city.

      And you know I’m all about sharing those photos of Oreo! I like to pretend that even though he hates every single cat that walks past our house (we have several neighborhood cats that roam about), that he actually would be besties with Kiki and Rue. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I love that Memphis video!! Our offices just got the big news that we are moving downtown and they played that video during our lunch downtown. Very peppy! Gotta add that to my gym music.

    • I saw that on the news the other day! I’m so glad that SM is staying in Memphis. That would have been really hard on a lot of people as far as jobs go if they had left! I hope your downtown offices are super swanky! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yes! I remember when you guys were on that show. I watched the video you linked on your blog. That would be crazy to see it on a rerun! Glad you’re enjoying your space ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh how fun, I didn’t know you were on a show!!! That would be weird turning on the TV and seeing yourself in a rerun! Oreo is so adorable!

    • Haha! It would be super weird to turn on the TV and see us on a rerun! That hasn’t happened to me yet but I definitely hear about it every time it plays. One time one of Christopher’s basketball buddies (who happens to be a cop) saw a rerun of our episode while he was walking through the precinct and he flipped out. He called out all his cop buddies to come watch his friends on TV, ha! That was definitely one of the more embarrassing times (I may or may not have talked about how we put clothes on our dog on TV… not exactly something I’d say to a group of burly cops… #facepalm). One of these days I just know I’ll be walking through a public place and see it on and just stare awkwardly at myself on TV, ha!

  6. Oreo is so cute! I love that Memphis video! Also, how neat that you were on Fix It & Finish It!

    • He is pretty cute, right?! And I am loving that Memphis video right now too! Our city has been going through some rough things lately (we just had our 100th homicide for the year over the weekend and another police officer was killed recently) so I love to celebrate the good things that are happening in our city as well! And yes! We are still SO grateful that we had the opportunity to have Fix It & Finish It renovate a room for us!

  7. I had no idea that you were on a show. So fun I totally want to watch it!!
    Xo, Evelina @ Fortunate House

  8. I had no clue you and your hubby were on tv, that’s so cool! I just read your blog posts talking about your experience. I loved all the behind the scene sneak peeks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

  9. Haha that video of Memphis is great! I had no idea you were on tv! I will have to try to find that episode.

  10. I’m gonna dance all night now, love JT to death!!! I too did not know You were on an episode of Fix it and Finish it!! Maybe I saw it and didn’t know it was you, you gorgeous duo!! What a fun thing to happen! LOVE Oreo!! I hope you’re having the best week!

  11. Wait me again, I just realized….Antonio Sabato Jr.!!! You were THAT close to him. Be still by heart. My husband has my heart but Antonio is so easy on the eyes!!

  12. Well now I have to go and watch that Fix It & Finish It! That is so awesome! Sunday meetings poolside sound sooo relaxing!

  13. lauren markle

    Oreo is so adorable. How fun is it that you were on Fix it and Finish it. Crazy!!

  14. Ah! I love that you posted that video for two reasons.
    1. I loved seeing places that we visited last October!
    2. I’m actually making a music video parody for work of Can’t Stop The Feeling! Will post on my blog when I’m done. Spoiler Alert: I’m Justin Timberlake ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. How fun that you were on that show. It’s pretty cool that they still show it too.

  16. oooh my goodness!!! i just read your linked post to the show stuff and then watched the reveal clip and totally teared up!!!! it looks so beautiful!!!! and i love that they made sure to film the genuine reactions, i aways wonder about that!

  17. Oreo is so cute! More pics of that handsome pup, please! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And SO COOL about Fix It & Finish It- I need to watch that clip!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com/

  18. You’re on TV AND kinda sorta know JT?! You’re practically famous! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hahaha! Yeah, *practically *famous. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I didn’t grow up in Memphis so I’ve never actually met JT, but I know a bunch of people who DO know him (or someone in his family). But since I know them, that’s practically like knowing JT. So yeah, you could say he and I are besties. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. That is so cool that you were on that tv show! You famous girl!!

  20. oh my gosh, how cool that you were on tv! i would freak out and be like i know that person!! i hope i randomly stumble upon it one day haha. and you know JT? hook a girl up! lol jk. seriously though why do babies hate looking at a camera?!

    • Haha! I’d be the same way if I saw someone I knew on TV! So I totally get it! I hope you randomly stumble upon the episode one of these days as well. Though if you do, don’t make fun of me for being so awkward on camera, haha! If you want a sneak peak of the big reveal, they have that clip on their website. ๐Ÿ™‚

      If you come to Memphis I can totally introduce you to people who know JT and his family. That’s sort of like you getting to meet him, right?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. I love that video of Memphis! How fun.

    • I love it too! We’ve had some rough days in Memphis lately (our 100th homicide happened this past weekend as well as another police officer was killed last week) so I love to celebrate the good in our city as well.

  22. Oreo is such a cutie!

  23. I’m guilty of only watching Fix It And Finish It until your episode aired, and then never watching it again. :-/ It just doesn’t compare to the bigger remodels that they do on HGTV. But what they did to your add-on room was AMAZING! I’m sure it’s the perfect place to edit your photos!

    • Don’t tell anyone, but I’m guilty of the same thing, haha! Mostly just because I rarely watch actual TV so if it’s not on Netflix or Hulu, I don’t think to watch it. Until our episode came out, I totally watched every single one. I really like the show! Just like I said before, I don’t think to turn on regular TV.

  24. Oreo!!! Hi you cutie! I am the same as you… I text people pictures of Lola constantly, haha.

    I bet it’s fun for people to find out about you being on TV! It must have been such a fun experience!

    Ada Grace is so cute! And yay for baby portraits! I hope you post some ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Yay for an Oreo cameo! I can’t believe it was 2014–it doesn’t seem that long ago!

  26. Your Oreo is adorable. I had no idea you guys were on a tv show! What channel is the show on? I’ve been watching a lot of Fixer Upper on HGTV, lately.

  27. I haven’t seen Oreo before either! I can’t believe you were on TV, I need to see that show! What channel was it on?! So cool!

  28. Girl!! I love this post! It’s so fun to see into your life a little more! And oh my gosh! That’s awesome that you were on TV!!! If I ever see the episode I’m defffff gonna freak out!!! โค SO cool!!
    xoxo Cailee!

    • Yay! I’m glad you enjoyed this post! Life has just been so busy right now, but I want to keep blogging as I can. So cramming everything into one post seems the best way to do it lately, ha!

      And yes! I hope you catch the episode sometime! Though, if you want to see The Big Reveal at the end of the episode, you can see it here on their website. ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Whaat! You were on a tv show ? I guess I should catch up on that ๐Ÿ™‚ And JT is from Memphis? Wow this post has been like an infographic to me ๐Ÿ˜›

    • It’s hard for me to believe we were on the TV show too! I don’t know if the full episode is online anywhere, but you can at least watch the big reveal online! It’s on their website here. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yes! JT was from Memphis! He is back to visit family and come to Grizzlies games pretty regularly. The whole city seems to embrace him and his family. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Its surreal to see ourselves in TV right ๐Ÿ˜€ And hey I might sound a lil dorky asking this, still could not resist it. Have you ever met JT ? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜› A huge fan here โค

        • Nope, I sure haven’t! But I know a bunch of people who know him or his family. Just this week one of my girlfriends was sharing the story of when JT’s grandmother was in the hospital and my friend (who is a nurse) was taking care of the grandmother. She said that at one point she walked in to check on the grandmother who had just hung up her phone and said, “Well that was Justin just checking in on me. He asked how serious it was and if he needed to come visit… I told him that I’m just fine and not to worry about it!” My friend joked that she should have told the grandmother, “Oh no, your condition is very serious, you need to tell him to come immediately” even though she was fine just so JT would come visit. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But yeah, a lot of people I know who grew up in Memphis have some sort of connection to Justin and/or his family. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

