My 11 Favorite Snacks

A little over a year ago we found out that I’m insulin resistant. Which means my body doesn’t know how to process insulin properly so I eat a carbohydrate distributed diet (this is different than a carbohydrate restricted diet where you don’t eat them at all – I just eat smaller amounts of them throughout the day). It was a huge change initially, but I hardly even notice it now. With this comes the need to snack more throughout the day so I’ve discovered my favorite snacks to help keep me satisfied until the next meal and I want to share those with you guys (along with some key nutritional facts for those who are curious)!

When I’m At Home:

hummus & crackers

Sprouts Garlic Hummus with Van’s Lots of Everything Crackers
Hummus: Calories: 40, Protein: 2g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 5g, Sugars: 1g
Crackers: Calories: 70, Protein: 1g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 10.5g, Sugars: 1.5g
(I usually only eat half a serving of these crackers at a time – which is 15 crackers – so I’m reporting the stats for half a serving instead of a full serving)

boiled egg{image via}

Boiled Egg
Calories: 78, Protein: 6g, Cholesterol: 187mg, Carbs: 0.6g, Sugars: 0.6g

oikos yogurt

Dannon Oikos Triple Zero Vanilla Greek Yogurt
Calories: 120, Protein: 15g, Cholesterol: 5mg, Carbs: 15g, Sugars: 7g

banana and pb{image via – I was lazy and found this pic via Google images, but it looks the same as what I eat. Side note: if you check out the rest of the post where this picture is from, these pb & banana bites end up covered in chocolate and look awesome!}

Small Banana with Peter Pan Natural Peanut Butter
Banana: Calories: 90, Protein: 1g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 23g, Sugars: 12g
PB: Calories: 210, Protein: 8g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 6g, Sugars: 3g

cottage cheese & berries

Sprouts Original Cottage Cheese with Berries
Cottage Cheese: Calories: 110, Protein: 13g, Cholesterol: 20mg, Carbs: 5g, Sugars: 3g
Berries (approx): Calories: 25, Protein: 0.5g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 6g, Sugars: 5g

When I’m On the Go:

kashi mocha almond{image via}

Kashi Mocha Almond Granola Bar
Calories: 130, Protein: 6g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 21g, Sugars: 6g

think thin chocolate almond brownie{image via}

Think Thin Chocolate Almond Brownie Bar
Calories: 150, Protein: 10g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 19g, Sugars: 5g

think thin brownie crunch{image via}

Think Thin Brownie Crunch Protein Bar
Calories: 230, Protein: 20g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 25g, Sugars: 0g

lance pb crackers{image via}

Lance Whole Grain Peanut Butter Crackers
Calories: 210, Protein: 6g, Cholesterol: 0mg, Carbs: 25g, Sugars: 4g

sweet baby ray's beef jerky.png{image via}

Bridgford Sweet Baby Ray’s Beef Jerky
Calories: 90, Protein: 11g, Cholesterol: 25mg, Carbs: 6g, Sugars: 6g

skippyBitesPretzel.png{image via}

Skippy Peanut Butter Bites with Pretzel
Calories: 160, Protein: 5g, Cholesterol: 5mg, Carbs: 13g, Sugars: 6g

We also keep our kitchen stocked with some combination of our favorite fruits & veggies for us to snack on and those include:

watermelon
blueberries
raspberries
strawberries
bananas
pineapple
peaches
nectarines
tangerines
honey crisp apples
cherry tomatoes
carrots

You will notice that my “at home” snacks are far less processed and generally healthier than my “on the go” snacks, but I’m often out and about and bringing snacks that require refrigeration with me isn’t an option. So these are the ones I’ve found that are on the healthier side. 🙂

What are your favorite snacks both on the go and at home? I’m always looking for new ideas. 🙂

Love Rach

55 responses to “My 11 Favorite Snacks

  1. Those Think Thin bars are super yummy! I’m not sure if you’ve heard of Quest Bars, but they’re really good also. I recommend the chocolate chip cookie dough one 🙂

  2. I love hummus and everything pretzel crisps! Fruit, lara bars, celery and carrots, and nuts are always on my list too.

  3. What a great list of snacks! I’m actually saving this for my own list of healthier snack options. 🙂 I love the banana bites!!

  4. lauren markle

    I eat a 100 calorie pack of salted almonds or cashews in the early afternoon before lunch and then 100 calorie pack of pretzels with a to-go serving of sabra hummus around 3pm. keeps me from getting hungry and making bad decisions 🙂

  5. The banana pb is amazing!!! Stick some mini chocolate chips in there and it’s amazing!! I jisr found a healthy cookie recipe I’ll send you. You may have to remind me! It turned out great!

  6. These are all some of my favorite snacks! I also like Quest bars!

    • Several people commented about Quest bars on this post so they are obviously popular! I’ve tried them before and while I liked them okay, there was kind of a weird after taste to me. Not sure what that’s about. Probably just me. 😉

  7. Yummm. I guess that did shoot up my hunger pangs 😀 Guess I will have my lunch now 😛

  8. I’ve been reaching for Think Thin bars lately, and they’re really good 🙂

  9. All of these snacks look delicious – but especially those skippy bites! I’m glad I don’t live in America because I’d be pouting every time I walked past them in the grocery store because I’m guessing they’re not gluten free 😛

  10. Hummus all day every day here. Literally. Especially with some carrot sticks dipped in it. YUM!

    • Mmm! I love hummus with carrots! I actually had this on the list initially, but then realized that I don’t eat it often enough to really, honestly call it a favorite snack. I reach for those Van’s crackers to eat with my hummus more than anything, haha! So I was honest and took it off the list. But I do really like carrots and hummus together!

  11. oooo i love this post!
    i eat a lot of the same things! (hummus & boiled eggs for the win!)
    I used to LOVE thinkthin bars – but they made me soooo bloated.
    I second the quest bars – they are DELICIOUS and soooooo full of protein!

    • Bummer that Think Thin bars don’t work well for you! They have become a favorite of ours this year. Yeah, several people mentioned on this post that they like Quest bars so those are obviously popular! I’ve tried them and like them okay, but there’s something about the after taste that gets me. I’m not sure what it is, but it’s just not my favorite. But it must just be me because lots of people are mentioned them on this post! 😉

  12. I didn’t know this about you! I had no idea this was a thing! Thanks for sharing that info and your snacks–I know that will be super helpful to others out there. And now I’m hungry 😉

    • You know, I don’t know if I’ve even mentioned the insulin resistance on the blog or not. It was a big deal at the time when we first found out because this girl loves a big bowl of spaghetti, but I really don’t even think about it now because I’m so used to the way I eat now. I get asked a lot about what snacks I’m eating so I wanted to have it all together in one place. 🙂

  13. These are some great snacks. I always have a granola bar or almonds in my bag. I do try really hard to limit my carbs but I do love them so much. haha

    • I hear you! Spaghetti and pizza are two of my favorite foods so I’m SO glad I don’t have to restrict myself from carbs entirely. I just make better choices and eat fewer at a time. It was a big change at first, but now it’s my norm and no biggie. 🙂

  14. I’m always looking for a good snack list, as I like to keep healthy snacks around at all times because you never know the jock the boys are going to be eating. Plus my husband is a huge slacker! I have never seen the Skippy protein bites, and those are right up his alley. I’m going to look for those at the store today. And don’t you love the sweet summertime for all the fresh fruit around. I can’t get enough, ha ha. I hope you’re having a wonderful week

  15. All of these snacks look and sound so yummy! I haven’t had an issues with insulin but I have found that snacking throughout the day has helped me lose weight or stay in maintenance mode. It also keeps me more awake during the day, I guess because I’m not hitting highs and lows because of blood sugar or anything like that.

    Also, I need to get some of that hummus!

  16. You should try dipping those hard boiled eggs into the hummus – Hummus Deviled Eggs perhaps?!

  17. Good and healthy 😉
    xx
    Mónica Sors
    MES VOYAGES À PARIS
    NEW POST: EASY SUMMER LOOK

  18. I’m a sucker for a hard-boiled egg! One of my fave snacks, for sure.

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com/

  19. Need to try Sprouts hummus! I love this snack list. So many good options!

  20. These are so great ! Thanks for sharing 😀

  21. This is a great and practical post! I actually have a hard time having a lot of sugars at once too! It used to be muchhhhh much worse a few years ago, but literally from eating a plain sweet potato or cereal I would get a terrible headache and feel super stimulated, followed by a crash. I was never diagnosed as being insulin resistant, but I definitely know my blood sugar can act kind of funky without enough protein/fat in my diet.

    With that said, I love these ideas! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • You are so welcome! I’m glad this was helpful! I’ve had people ask about the snacks I eat (because I’m always snacking, haha!) so I wanted to have all my favorites together in one place. 🙂

      Also, that’s crazy that just a simple sweet potato or bowl of cereal could have that kind of effect on you. I’m glad it’s not near as bad now!

  22. so many good snack ideas 🙂 on the go snacks are so hard especially because of the whole refrigeration thing, so i think yours are pretty good despite that. i am actually not much of a snacker, i prefer the 3 big meals because if i snack, i eat an entire meals worth of that snack haha. of course, i don’t have anything like being insulin resistant, so i’m sure i’d get used to it if i had to. i do love me some crackers and hummus though 🙂

    • Girl, I hear ya! I was a 3-big-meals-a-day person for forever. I never understood the idea of “6 small meals” that I would hear people talk about. I definitely wouldn’t have even attempted the change if it hadn’t been required. I still eat 3 meals, but only my dinner is a “big” meal. The other two are pretty moderately sized since I eat so much throughout the day. But it has been worked really well for me. I’m amazed at how well my body has responded to this!

  23. Loved reading this! I am always on the lookout for snack ideas. I love rice cakes with peanut butter and bananas 🙂

    • Mmm! Rice cakes with peanut butter and bananas are so good! I actually had that on here originally, but I honestly don’t eat it often enough to consider it one of my *most *favorite snacks. But I do really enjoy it! We’ll go through kicks where we eat them often. Sometimes we’ll even add cinnamon (don’t knock it till you try it, ha!). 🙂

  24. Now I am craving a snack! Those peanut butter covered pretzels look awesome!

  25. These all look good! I actually looked for those pb bites when we were in the U.S. on the weekend, because I’ve been curious about them since you mentioned them in a blog post quite awhile back (I think it was for Christopher’s birthday or something?) Sadly, I had no luck! I might have to see if I can sneak some my way via Amazon. Also, yes to pb and banana!

  26. I eat paleo, so I will definitely be trying the pb banana bites!

  27. Pingback: Learning to be healthy (and losing 18 pounds along the way) |

  28. I have been yo-yo dieting for years. I finally realized that managing or maintaining a good weight for my body type and age would require a lifestyle change. I really needed the healthy snack ideas. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

