Four precious, wonderful years

Yesterday my little Mallory turned 4.

mal

How is she so big already?! I’m pretty sure it was just yesterday that she was this size:

rach and malbw.jpg

And then I blinked and four years flew by.

mal3

Oh Mallory, you sweet, hilarious little girl. May your life always be filled with so much love and laughter.

mal2

May you keep your sense of humor and pair it with kindness and humility. May your tender heart be protected from the cruelty of the world as long as possible and when the day comes that life hurts – may you remember that you are always surrounded by people who love you. And sweet Mallory, as you grow up, may you always seek after the heart of Jesus. This is my constant prayer for you and your brother.

rach and the kiddos.jpg

Four years ago when we met our financial goals and I left my desk jobΒ to be a nanny I had no idea what was in store. I knew I would love what I was doing, but I had no idea just how much. I had no idea how precious this family would become to me. And how these children would be like my own family. Watching both of them grow and change has been such a delight over the years. I do get a little weepy seeing them growing up on me, but I love the awesome little people they are becoming.

rach and the kiddos4.jpg{please ignore my wet hair. I wasn’t originally planning on being in pictures yesterday when I threw my hair up in a bun after a shower and walked out the door, ha!}

I also had no clue that taking a nanny position would give me the freedom to pursue things I am passionate about. Like my photography. Will and Mallory were some of my first subjects that I photographed regularly. And nap time gave me plenty of time to learn the book side of photography as well as to edit photos. Their mom was one of the first to Β brag on my photography on social media and make me feel like I might be able to make my hobby into something bigger. And then when the photography business picked up and I found myself needing to make a decision between the two – my nannyΒ hours changed from 6:30am-3:30pm to 11:45am-4pm (about a year and a half ago). This has given me the opportunity to still see the kids during the week (especially in the summer when Will is out of school) while still pursing my photography business full time. I love that instead of having to make a choice between two things I love doing, I got to choose both. Blessing upon blessing. πŸ™‚

rach and the kiddos2.jpg

Happy fourth birthday, Mallory!Β Four years ago, I had no idea howΒ much you and your family would bless me. I love you for always.

Love Rach

45 responses to “Four precious, wonderful years

  1. Amazing, and inspirational!! I love that you are doing what you enjoy. I often think about becoming a nanny, maybe one day!

  2. How wonderful to have a job that involves two little cuties πŸ™‚

  3. Cute photos! I’m glad you found something that lets you do what you enjoy doing. Happy birthday to her!

  4. So sweet!!! I feel like I’ve watched them grow through pictures! When we come visit with our kids, we will have to meet them!

  5. Aw, so sweet, she looks like a very happy girl!

  6. So glad that you have been able to pursue your passions!

  7. Oh my gosh, they are too cute!!!

  8. Happy birthday to her!! She sounds precious!!

  9. This is SUCH a sweet post! Maybe it’s because I’m all hormonal right now, but reading it made me cry! I want all of the same things for my boys! Those two children are so blessed to have you in their lives! πŸ™‚

  10. What a sweet post and what a sweet little girl. You both are very lucky to have each other. I was a nanny years ago and loved it. The children are all grown up now and I still keep in touch with them.

  11. AW! Happy Birthday! This is totally going to happen with my sister and her daughter. She just turned a year old about 2 weeks about and I know the next thing we know, she’s going to be turning 18 years old!

  12. What a sweet little soul! Nannying is such a rewarding job! I used to loveeee full time nannying as I really felt like I was making a difference.

  13. I think it’s awesome that you have such a connection with these kids.

  14. wow, what a blessing to have them in your life, and for them to have you!!! this is the sweetest. happy birthday to her!!!

  15. This was so precious! They are so blessed to have you in their life! I love how God works things out like that… You needed a job, and I think they needed you. πŸ™‚
    P.S. Your hair is actually adorable up like that! πŸ™‚

    • I’m so glad you think my hair is cute like that because it is up in a bun nearly every day in the summer, haha! I wear it down on Sundays and for date nights, but otherwise it’s either in a bun, pony tail, or braid. I feel like it gets repetitive sometimes, but it’s way too hot to have it down on my neck every day!

      And yes absolutely! I am still amazed at how it all worked out! I heard about them looking for a nanny because I had visited their church one time a year before and was put on an email list. The guy who put me on the list was a friend of mine so I didn’t want to hurt his feelings by requesting to be taken off the list. And I’m SO glad because one day after a loooong day at work I had an email from someone at their church who was looking for a nanny. I had never met them, but I thought it was worth sending them an email just to see where it led. Fast forward four years and here we are. πŸ˜‰

  16. this is so sweet. lucky you and lucky kids for having you!

  17. These are the sweetest pictures ever. My first real job was nannying. I loved that little girl (and the whole family) so much that it didn’t even feel much like a job. She was like a niece to me, and I still love keeping up with her today. That job was one of the biggest blessings that God could have given me at the time, and I am so glad that he has blessed you with these two to love. They are also lucky to have gotten a nanny that cares so much about them and the people that they are growing up to be.

  18. Pingback: Lately |

  19. So sweet. They are such cute kids. Your families have been a blessing to one another, I’m certain. Happy belated birthday, Mallory!

    • It really is an all around blessing for us and for them. And the fact that we’ve become friends with the parents too has just been really cool. I’m hopeful that after I’m no longer keeping their kids (ack, school time is coming far too quickly for Mallory!), that we’ll still stay close with the family so I can see the kids from time to time. πŸ™‚

  20. I love that you are able to do what you love, and not have to choose one or the other! Such sweet photos of them too πŸ™‚ And I like the bun!

    • Yes! It has been such a blessing to be able to do both! πŸ™‚

      And thanks, friend! My hair looks like this (but dry) pretty much all summer, haha! I wear it down on date nights or Sunday mornings, but that’s about it. It’s too hot to have my hair down right now. πŸ˜‰

  21. What a beautiful letter for such a lucky little girl. It makes me happy that you’ve been able to follow your dreams.

  22. Ahhh, this post is making me weepy! I can’t believe Mallory is four already! I’m so happy that you get to pursue photography and nannying. What a huge blessing! I love your prayers for Mallory and Will. Amen!

  23. Aww… Precious photographs! She sure has grown up so much. God bless her always.😊

Leave a Reply

