Lately

And we’re back to lately posts, ha! It’s 100 degrees here right now so I keep thinking the photography business will soon slow down dramatically. Instead I keep having people book July sessions which is awesome for business! But, you know, hot. So we’re attempting to beat (some of) the heat by having early morning sessions. Tomorrow I have a 7:45am session and on Friday a 7am one. On the bright side – I’m an early riser – so this is no biggie for me. Hopefully the kiddos (and their parents) will be bright eyed and bushy tailed! 🙂

post gym selfie{awkward post-gym selfie from today – I was trying to not look bald by turning my head, but now it just looks weird. Obviously I need to work on my selfie game, haha!}

One thing I’ve been really proud of myself for during this busy photography season has been prioritizing time at the gym. I really enjoy working out and I feel great all day when I kick off my morning at the gym. The only times when I don’t go regularly are during photography busy seasons (spring-early summer and then fall-Christmas). So after this past fall/Holiday season when I was crazy busy and missed a TON of gym days, I decided not to let that happen again. So while I’m not present here as much as I’d like, I am still getting in that much needed gym time. Thanks for hanging with me while things are busy. 🙂

spraying the ceiling.jpg

Ever since our A/C leaked through our ceiling three weeks ago we’ve been attempting to repair the damaged ceiling. We’ve tried two fixes and both haven’t matched the texture that is already on the ceiling. Which required RE-scraping the ceiling. Yuck! So last night we pulled out the big guns and rented a ceiling texture sprayer to fix it. Thankfully the third time was the charm and the ceiling looks way better now!

from 2004

This deserves more than just a passing mention, but since blogging has taken a backseat lately, I don’t want this week to pass without me at least acknowledging this. A friend of ours from college passed away very suddenly this week. I remember when his wife and I were freshman and we were having a slumber party and giggling together about these super cute boys we were dating and how we both thought that they just might be the ones we would marry. We were right. And now, at a ridiculously young age, he is gone. My heart just breaks for her and their young son. Please take a moment to pause and say a prayer for them. Hug those you love a little tighter today.

kiddos2.jpg

Speaking of those I love… these two hooligans have kept me busy this summer. It’s so nice to spend some quality time with them without having to worry about school or schedules. And if you missed last week’s post about them, check it out here. These two are so near and dear to my heart. 🙂

world relief

Christopher and I recently began volunteering with World Relief here in Memphis. We are volunteering with a refugee family from Syria who are just absolutely precious. We don’t know all of their story yet, but I am already so amazed by their resiliency and eagerness to adapt to life here. I’m not sure how many stories or photos I’ll be able to share here due to privacy, but this is what we’re doing on Monday nights now.

I know this post is such a mix of lighthearted and heavy things, but I suppose that’s life. I may not be blogging like normal right now, but there are definitely some things I want recorded to look back on. Thanks for hanging with me, friends.

Love Rach

42 responses to “Lately

  1. Ahh, so good to read your words. I’m delighted that your photography business has been so busy and that you’ve been prioritizing the gym! Good for you. Yay for a fixed ceiling too! Good job, guys. Glad third time was a charm.

    My thoughts and prayers are with your college friend’s family and friends. How heartbreaking.

    • I’m so glad I’ve prioritized the gym! I was so worn out by the end of every day last fall/Christmas season and I think a lot of it had to do with not getting enough exercise. I just have so much more energy when I start my day at the gym. I’ve missed writing here as much as normal and I feel like I’m perpetually behind on blog reading (I eventually catch up, but I read several posts at a time so I’m always behind-the-times), but it’s worth it in the long run. I’ll be back to writing regularly eventually. 🙂

      And girl, I’m so happy to have the ceiling finally fixed! It has been such an eyesore for these few weeks!

      And thank you for your prayers. I know his family appreciates it.

  2. Hooray for being able to get the ceiling repaired, and getting to the gym regularly! I am so sorry to hear about your friends from college. I will keep up praying for his wife and son. I can’t imagine the pain they must be facing right now. I hope they feel God’s loving hand even in the hardest times.

  3. I am so glad to hear you’ve been so busy with work! What a blessing!

    I am so sorry to hear about your friend 😦 I can’t imagine how much they must be hurting right now!

  4. I’m so glad your photography business is doing so well! I have not yet read about the air conditioning…that looks like some intense repair work. I’m sosorry to hear about your friend; prayers are with you guys and his family.

    • Oh girl, that ceiling… it was a mess, ha! Thankfully not only is the A/C fixed, but now the ceiling is fixed too! So glad that the third time was the charm! 🙂

      And thanks for your prayers. I know his family needs them.

  5. I am so sorry for your lost! How terrible to lose someone so young! On the flip side, super excited for your that your business is keeping you busy this July. AND that you guys were finally able to get a fix for your ceiling!

    • I know. I can’t even begin to imagine losing Christopher! So heartbreaking.

      And thank you for the congrats! Keeping busy with photography has been such fun. And having the ceiling fixed is SO great! I’m glad I don’t have to walk under that eye sore for another day, ha!

  6. So sorry to hear about your friend! Such a young soul gone far too soon ❤ I'm glad to hear that your photography business is going well. I couldn't imagine getting up at 7 AM and having my pictures taken. I'd look like a zombie, ha!

    • I’m an early riser so I don’t mind the early sessions, but then I also don’t have to be looking picture perfect since I’m the one behind the camera. 😉 I always give the clients the option of later sessions, but right now everyone is going for early morning ones because it’s so hot!

  7. I understand not being able to blog regularly! I’ve only been blogging once or twice a week myself… Life gets busy sometimes! That is SO awesome that you’ve been prioritizing the gym though. I’ve been doing much better at working out, and I feel SO good! You’re right, the rest of the day feels great when you’ve started it out right.
    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend passing away. 😦 How devastating. My heart is breaking for his family, and they are in my prayers! I can’t imagine what his wife is facing right now. Please, Jesus, hold that family close!

    • I know you understand better than most people our age what it feels like to sit beside a hospital bed and beg for your husband’s life. I just can’t imagine. Thank you for praying for you them – I know they need it so much right now.

      I’m so glad that prioritizing those work outs has been a blessing for you too! It really does make a huge difference in the day!

  8. Rebekah Johnson

    Sometimes the blog life is okay with ‘lately’ posts. I feel like I do that a lot too but I’ve realized that I’d rather live life than blog. I admire people who work full time and blog full time!

    I’m so sad to hear about your friend passing away. My hurts for them and I will pray for them. Every day is a gift. I try to remember that when Dave and I have a disagreement. I just never know when God might take someone out of my life so it is good to invest time and love on those around us now.

    I wish you could blog more about that Syrian family! I saw a Muslim lady at Walmart a while back and I totally stared at her because she didn’t look Middle Eastern. I was trying to figure out where she was from. Then she, and her three kids, showed up at my swim classes. ha! I asked her where they are from and she said Syria. They are so nice. Her daughter, who is 5, was in my class and she said, “My Mom had to come to America because the helicopters were trying to kill her.” I had no words! I’m not allowed to have people over that are in my swim classes, and they are done with lessons for now, so I’m hoping in a few weeks I’ll see her at Walmart again and can invite them over for dinner.

    • Yes! And I’m glad to at least have a “lately” post up to try and cram in as many things as I can than to not blog at all. I only have a handful of sessions in the next couple of weeks so I’m thinking the heat of summer is finally scaring most people off so I can finally get back to regular blogging. 🙂

      I know what you mean. Life is so short and I don’t want to have regrets if something tragic were to happen.

      I don’t know how much I’ll be able to blog about the family just simply for their privacy. From what I’ve heard from other volunteers, some people never want their stories or images online because of safety reasons (there is a reason they fled after all) and on the flipside there are others who have Facebook accounts who friend you and post photos with you. And of course all instances between. So we are just waiting to feel them out more. They did share their story with us this week (of why they left Syria) and it was just heart wrenching. It reminded us both of how much we take for granted. They really are an amazing and very resilient family! I hope you do see that family again so you can invite them over! What a blessing that relationship would be!

  9. oh, i am so so sorry about your friend. his poor family. i can’t even imagine.

    on a lighter note, i always look bald and weird in photos haha so i understand you turning your head. good job on making the gym a priority, it can be so easy to let it slide when we are super busy but it never makes me feel good when the busy is over and i have extra lbs hanging around or just feel like crap in general.

    have a good weekend darl xx

    • Thanks for making me feel better about that picture, ha! I literally took like 12 selfies in a row trying to get a non-bald-looking picture and then realized that there just wouldn’t be one so I turned my head and took another one and made myself go with it. 😉 But yes, you totally get the gym day thing! I have loved hearing how you’ve made being healthy such a priority this year! Your gym-days-in-a-row count that you had going always made me smile. 🙂 I’m so glad it’s routine for you now! You totally get how great it feels! 🙂

  10. Get it girl! Fitting in that fitness can be hard when it is so hot! Look at you being all smart about when you book photo sessions. You gotta work around the heat, it doesn’t work for us! Haha!

    • No joke! Summer really doesn’t care if it’s too miserable to take photos. 😉 Much like the ice storms of winter. At least in the summer I can do earlier sessions. In the winter it’s either the very brave (and heavily bundled) or indoor photography. Because BRR!

  11. I’m sorry to hear about your friend. That is so tragic. Saying a prayer for them! I’m glad you are prioritizing time at the gym. I am trying but it’s hard! I do feel so much better when I work out, though.

    • Thank you for your prayer! I know his family appreciates it.

      I think you have been doing great from what you’ve shared! I’m not sure what I’ll do about the gym when we have a baby someday. It’s so easy for me to go (on my own schedule) and do my thing when I don’t have to consider the needs of a tiny person. I’m hoping that I’ll still be able to make it a priority, but I imagine it will shift and evolve and probably include more cardio that happens outside the gym. But until then I’ll enjoy my work outs whenever I please. 😉

  12. I’m definitely going to check out world relief. you guys are awesome!!

  13. so much is going on for you. I always think of myphotographer friends this time of year. Whew! So hot! My cousin is in Syria right now helping with the refugees. I’m in awe of the work he does. That’s great y’all are volunteering.

  14. So happy to hear that the business is going so well for you! We have horrible weather here at the moment and it is cold and grey 😦 Send some sun this way please!

  15. Look at you go girl! Prioritizing the gym! Way to be 🙂 Also, that’s so exciting that your photography business is going so well!! And I’m glad that you guys were able to get the ceiling fixed! Hope that you have a fantastic week babe!!
    xoxo Cailee!

  16. That volunteer work you are doing is so important! How wonderful of you! And 7:45am shoots?! Those families are brave!

  17. As you know girl, I’m catching up and getting back from vacation and I was so sorry to read this about your college friend. Lost is tough and sometimes little more when the person is so young. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I am so proud of you Both for your volunteer efforts. You make this world a brighter place beautiful girl!

  18. So glad you guys were able to get your ceiling back in good condition and looking great. Third time is indeed a charm! Also, how amazing the way you’ve been spending your Monday nights. You and Christopher have always come off as very selfless with your time. That is something I aim to be better at on a daily basis!

    I really like your post-gym selfie and the picture of Will and Mallory is too cute! Also, I will definitely be praying for your friend and their family after such a devastating loss. ❤

  19. I’m so sorry about the loss of your friend. I’m glad there were some good things this past week, too.

  20. Gym selfies are hard to master, haha. I love the tank, though!

    So sorry to hear about your friend- dealing with loss is never easy, but when it happens so early in life it’s even more difficult. 😦 Thinking of you!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  21. Rach, I know I am late to catch up but now that I have started reading, it all the more weighs down how much I have been missing. So amazing to hear you and your hubby doing volunteering for the refugee family. And good for you with your continued motivation in gym 🙂
    Really sorry about your friend. My prayers and thoughts with his family.

Leave a Reply

