Oreo’s Worst Birthday Weekend Ever

{I wanted to post something light hearted today because life itself has not been light hearted lately. There is a lot of hurt in this world. I grieve the loss of lives both here and abroad. So today, I charge you: love one another.}

This past weekend we celebrated 6 years since we brought Oreo home from the Humane Shelter where I volunteered. Unfortunately his birthday weekend was the first time we had available to take him to the vet to be treated for yet another ear infection. You guys, this poor pup hates the vet. So so much. He kept looking at us with this face of utter betrayal the whole time we were there.Β In fact, if he were to keep a diary, this is what it would’ve said this weekend:

Oreo’s Doggy Diary

Friday, July 8th, 2016

Dear Diary, You will never believe what mom and dad did to me!Β They took me to the vet (knowing how much I hate that place) and forced me to under-go a nail trim, blood draw from my jugular, sedation, and horrible goo in my ears that made it impossible for me to hear! And did I mention that the horrible lady in scrubs put a thermometer in an unmentionable place and HELD IT THERE for hours?! Well, it felt like hours. Maybe it was just one minute. But I digress. The point is, I was utterly betrayed by these people who claim to love me. Now they are giving me bad tasting medicine that makes me SO thirsty that I have to go potty all the time. They say something about a bilateral ear infection and that I’ll feel better soon, but I just don’t know what to think.

Saturday, July 9th, 2016

Dear Diary, ever since I started taking this medicine I am just so sleepy all the time. I can hear when mom whistles and other high pitched noises, but everything else is so distant and foggy. I’m glad to have mom and dad snuggle with me so much while I don’t feel good. I have more to say, but… zzzzz…..

Sunday, July 10th, 2016

Dear Diary, I can hear again today! My ears still feel a little funny with that goo in there, but at least I can hear mommy and daddy talking to me. I have missed hearing what a good boy I am all the time. I’m still sleepy and thirsty all the time, but I am starting to feel like myself again. Dad took some pictures of me and mom today. I think she wanted me to sit and smile for the camera, but I had trouble focusing through the drug haze. Thankfully she was pretty understanding about it. In other news, mom & dad gave me a new chew toy today for my birthday and it was SO delicious! I wanted to chew on it longer, but the sleep just keeps taking over…

oreo's birthday.jpg
oreo's birthday3
{Oreo is rocking the Gentle Leader in these photos in case you are curious about the strap on his face}

In the six years he has lived with this, this is definitely the worst birthday weekend he’s had. Usually the day is filled with things he loves (lots of treats, walks, and snuggles), but he was just so worn out on Sunday that we just let him sleep. ThankfullyΒ he seems to have forgiven us for Friday. He’ll be done with the steroids (that make him sleepy & thirsty) by the end of the week and we’ll be glad for that for his sake! We had allergy testing done (hence all the blood they took from my poor baby) so we are definitely curious to find out those results. We’re hoping his allergies are really easily remedied because this yearly ear infection business has to stop (last year he had an eardrum rupture because he was shaking his head so much from the ear infection). Next week we’ll make up for his bad weekend and do some things he loves for a belated birthday celebration! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

42 responses to “Oreo’s Worst Birthday Weekend Ever

  1. Awww! Poor birthday boy 😦 He will thank you sooner or later though because you’re just trying to be the best mommy you can be!

  2. My dog’s both hate the vet too! I usually take them both together so I don’t have to miss more work (or if it’s on the weekend, for convenience) but there really isn’t much convenient about it. So hard to wrangle them both! Hope he’s totally recovered now!

  3. awe bless his heart!! not my idea of a birthday party ha!! i have a feeling he’s not a grudge holder, though. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Oh no! Hopefully Oreo’s feeling much better now!

    Don’t worry, last year Chanel had to have surgery to fix a hernia on her birthday and I was so frantic with the emergency vet trip that I forgot all about her birthday until the vet was going over her paperwork for the surgery and said “oh, happy birthday Chanel”. Not the best birthday present πŸ˜›

    • He is definitely feeling much better! And he took his last dose of steroids today so hopefully he’ll be back to his normal self soon!

      I’ll let Oreo know about Chanel. I’m sure he’ll feel at least a little better that he’s not the only one!

  5. Awww, poor boy, having to see the vet on his barkday! Loved reading the diary, so cute.

  6. Awww poor thing! I hope he feels better soon!

  7. I’ve never dealt with a doggy ear infection, but Jake had five or six of them this past fall/winter before we finally got him ear tube surgery. It was awful! I hope Oreo feels better soon!

  8. Aw, Poor Oreo! He’s such a handsome pup though! Happy belated birthday!

  9. Awwwww poor little guy. I feel for him, I really do. Gracie had constant and persistent ear infections most of her life. It is what ultimately resulted in her untimely demise. You 100% have to stay on top of them no matter how much they hate it. I hope he is feeling better~

  10. Poor Oreo! Hope he is back to 100% for his extra birthday celebration!

  11. Hopefully Oreo’s allergy test will come back good! I’m sorry the little guy had a “ruff” birthday πŸ˜‰

  12. Aw poor little pup. At least he’s very loved every day (even when it’s not his birthday!) And sleep sounds like an amazing bday gift in my opinion. πŸ˜‰

  13. Oh my, I love these doggie blog posts! Not a fun birthday at all. But what a sweet & handsome pup!

  14. Oh no – the poor birthday boy! Not the best way to spend his birthday that’s for sure!

  15. This is so cute – but poor Oreo! I’m so glad he’s feeling better and that he gets a birthday weekend re-do. Happy belated birthday, Oreo!

  16. OREOOO, poor little guy! I hope he is feeling much better!

  17. Aw…happy birthday to him!! Hope y’all get the allergies figured out soon! This was too cute.

  18. ohhh poor oreo 😦 hope you learn more about it soon. funny story (not very funny actually) my best friend has a dog named oreo as well, and he has a lot of allergies and ear issues too. poor pups.
    hope he is feeling better and perhaps a belated birthday celebration is in order!

  19. Awww, so sorry Oreo!! I know your mom and dad will totally make it up to you! Feel better soon, sweet boy!

  20. Poor Oreo! I hope he is feeling better! It sounds like he still had a pretty good birthday. I hope you find out something to keep his ear ache from coming back every year. That sounds terrible.

  21. Awww, that is so sad and of all the days the birthday weekend!! Loved the way you wrote the diary though πŸ˜‰ He looks to be such a sweetie and I hope he is feeling better now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

