My hands bear the proof

Christopher has had a lot on his plate lately so I decided to show him some love in a very tangible way. We have a normal size front yard, but a huge backyard. And since it’s summer our grass needs to be mowed every week. Which is very time consuming and in the 100 degree heat – exhausting as well. Christopher enjoys yard work so for the 8 years we’ve been married – he’s always done all the mowing. And I’ve happily let him. Which means that it has been at least a decade since I used a lawn mower at all (when I was in college and mowed a yard or two for some elderlyΒ people). But I purposed in my heart that I would do this for him. So on Wednesday morning, I did.

mowing3.jpg

It’s hard to tell the actual size here, but our backyard is massive. Do you see Oreo and Christopher in the corner of the yard? See how far away they are? Also, this is the majority of the backyard, but my phone couldn’t capture it all. There’s more on both sides of the frame.

mowing1.png{a still of me mowing the front yard from our security camera}

It took me three hours (twice as long as it takes him), but I got it done. I was a nasty, sweaty mess by the end of it, but I got it done. Our push mower’s “self propelled” feature doesn’t work, but I got it done. Two days later I still can hardly lift my arms above my head, but I got it done. I have blisters on my hands, but I got it done.

mowing{yes, that is a princess bandaid – don’t judge}

And when he came home on Wednesday night and saw it all – every minute, every ache, and every pain was worth it. πŸ™‚

As a side note, I totally skipped the gym that day and yet I felt like I gotΒ a full body work out and my Fitbit logged just under 10k steps that morning alone. So you know, I think it was okay to have my first gym skip day of the year. πŸ˜‰ I was so glad to be able to bless him this way and show him a tangible “I love you”. But I did point out to him that it would probably be another 8 years of marriage before I mowed again. πŸ˜‰

Dear Christopher, I love you for always. This week my hands bear the proof. πŸ™‚

When was the last time you mowed a lawn?Β Anyone do so regularly?

Love Rach

48 responses to “My hands bear the proof

  1. I tried mowing our back yard once. I didn’t quiet make it. That was over 4 years ago! Our neighbor saw me and came over to pick up all the sticks in our yard. Our back yard is bumpy and huge! Alan now has a riding lawn mower that I would be afraid to use so ill leave it to him! What are some other tangible ways to show your love besides yard work? Ha.

    • Oooh having it be bumpy would be really hard too! And girl, I have seen your backyard – I know how huge it is! I totally understand that! I’m glad Alan has a riding mower to take care of it now!

      One of Christopher’s biggest love languages is acts of service. So really anything I do for him or with him in mind is something he loves. I remember when we got married, the minister who married us asked Christopher what one of the biggest ways he felt love from me was. He said that he loved when I would surprise him at work with a Sonic drink. Such a small thing that was so easy for me to do and I had no clue how much it meant to him when I would do that. So I’ve always kept that in mind and tried to show him love in tangible ways whenever I can. Even if it’s as simple as picking something up for him at a new grocery store. He really likes to try new foods so any time I’m in an new grocery store, I’ll usually pick something up for him that I’ve never seen before (usually something weird because he’ll get a kick out of it). Or I’ll wash and fold all his laundry (he does his own most of the time, but here and there I’ll do it for him). Just normal life things. πŸ™‚ The 40 day Love Dare challenge has a lot of fun ideas if you are trying to brainstorm for things to do. πŸ™‚

  2. You are better than me, my friend! I have never mowed before, and it’s something that I probably won’t do. We have a much smaller yard than you, but both the front and the back are sloped, which I’m sure makes it difficult to mow. I will just continue to show my love in the kitchen instead. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh yes! Our front yard (which is pretty normal sized) is sloped and it was SO hard to mow! So I definitely understand that! And girl, it’s the first time I’ve done this in the 8 years we’ve been married… I don’t see it happening again anytime soon so don’t be too impressed. πŸ˜‰ I’m with you on liking to show love in the kitchen instead!

  3. i love this!
    ❀
    what a tangible way to show your love and appreciation for your husband.
    ps i ALWAYS use a rag to grip the lawnmower so i don't get blisters πŸ™‚

    • That would have been a great idea! I ended up putting gloves on about 3/4ths of the way through because my hands were hurting so much, but at that point they were definitely already blistered. I’ll keep this in mind for 8 years from now when I mow again. πŸ˜‰

  4. What a good idea of something to do for him! I don’t think I’ve cut the grass since high school! lol And that was on a riding lawn mower. We just have a push mower and I’m not sure if I know how to start it exactly.

  5. I’m allergic to grass, so I get to skip yard duty, but what a sweet way to show your husband you care πŸ™‚

  6. thehipandthrifty

    AWWWWWWW man that is so sweet :’)

  7. Battle wounds to prove it!! Bless your heart for moving and “mowing” outta your comfort zone for your Mr. Very very sweet!! Thank goodness our oldest son mows so neither of us have to do it anymore. Well not like I did much before, lol. Happy weekend gorgeous!!

    • Oh yes! I look forward to the day that we can designate lawn duty to our kids! πŸ˜‰ I totally did my fair share as a kid growing up. One of my sisters has kids old enough to mow the lawn and I remember the first day her son & daughter were out there mowing & picking up sticks and she sent me a pic of her with her feet propped up on the back porch watching them. It made me laugh so much!

  8. Your backyard is so pretty! Wife of the year award for you!

    • It’s definitely a good mix of grass and weeds back there, but it sure looks nice when it is freshly mowed. πŸ™‚ We keep saying that we should do more work to the backyard to make it look nicer especially with plants and things, but we’re pretty notorious for killing plants so that hasn’t happened yet, haha!

  9. That’s SO awesome!!! πŸ™‚ I’ll bet he was so excited to not have to mow that week. What a sweet act of love!
    I haven’t mowed my lawn forever either. I used to regularly, when I lived at home with my parents. And I actually don’t mind mowing (although your lawn sounds massive, so I probably wouldn’t do it regularly either). Ha, ha. However, I actually physically can’t do me and Nate’s yard. The hill behind (and to the left of) our house is really steep. (Unfortunately, we don’t have a flat yard… at all. But we’ve tried to be creative by gardening with it or using it for sliding in the winter. Ha, ha). It’s actually very difficult to mow. (Since Nate got assaulted, he has struggled to mow the lawn as well, and he has fallen several times doing it). I think we might landscape on the steepest hill so that we don’t have to worry about mowing that portion too much longer. I think it’d look nice with bark mulch and plants. Or maybe we could dig into it, put in a retaining wall, and build a patio. πŸ˜‰ Hey, it’s fun to dream!
    So all that to say… No, I don’t mow either! πŸ™‚

    • Our front yard is really sloped so as you decide what to do with your steep backyard please let me know! I’m always trying to figure out how to make our front yard look better. We’re both so bad about letting plants die so I’m hesitant to plant anything, haha!

      Also, go you for not minding to mow! Even if our backyard wasn’t huge, I still wouldn’t enjoy it. Not one bit, haha! It’s a SOLID workout, though! I should probably do it more often. But well… yeah… that’s not going to happen. πŸ˜‰

  10. Such a beautiful way of showing someone you love them. πŸ™‚

  11. awwww you go girl!! you are so nice. KC and I do the lawn together – i mow, he weed eats. i hate the weed eaty thing. when we get to the backyard, which is nowhere near as big as yours, we take turns finishing. i love when i’m able to do something like this for KC though, like do everything myself or clean the kitty litter (his job) so he doesn’t have to. it’s such a nice way to say i love and appreciate you πŸ™‚

    • You are such a good wife! The only thing that kept me going as I was mowing was knowing how surprised and happy he would be. I can’t imagine doing it regularly. I don’t mind pulling weeds or picking up sticks and such, but for some reason I just really don’t like to mow. So I’m always impressed by people who do it (whether they like it or not)! πŸ™‚

  12. How sweet of you! Acts of kindness like mowing the yard are great ways to show your love to someone. I help my family do the yard every week and it’s HARD work. I have no idea how people do lawn mowing as a career?! I would have bandages all over my body, lol πŸ˜‰

  13. get it girl! there is something to be said about saying you’re going to do it and doing it no matter how hard it is. but, yes, hopefully it will be a while before you do that again. such a sweet demonstration of love.

  14. I love this! Go you. Your yard is huge!! And yes, I’d say you DEFINITELY earned a gym skip day (or week!).

    • Haha! I made it back to the gym the very next day for cardio, but I actually still haven’t lifted yet (usually I lift weights MWF, but I skipped Friday & today and just did cardio). My muscles aren’t near as sore today so I think that by this coming Wednesday (a full week from when I mowed) I’ll be able to lift again. But I’ll definitely start small. I don’t want to risk pulling anything. It’s amazing how many muscles there are to be sore, haha!

  15. I love this, as it just shows that there are so many different ways that we can show our love for someone. I do let Dave do all the garden work though πŸ˜‰

  16. Kudos to you!! I have never mowed a lawn! I have princess banaids too!!

    • Oh man, I mowed SO many lawns growing up. My dad would always take us over to elderly peoples’ homes and we would do all their yard work. My sister would pick up sticks while I used the push mower and my dad would weed eat. I’m glad I learned to serve, but I really wasn’t a fan of mowing lawns, haha! I think that’s part of why I’m so glad that Christopher enjoys doing yard work. I never feel bad about letting him handle most of it. πŸ˜‰

  17. Go you!!!! It is a serious workout to cut our grass!!! I did it nearly every weekend the last two years we have lived in our house. In my current situation I cant cut the grass this summer and Chris is now paying someone. He says life is too short hahahaha. It is a massive undertaking!

    • I totally understand paying someone! We are generally DIY type people, but if Christopher didn’t enjoy doing yard work so much, that would absolutely be something I would pay someone else to do. I love all the DIY stuff we do with our house, but yard work is not my thing, haha! Also, kudos to you for mowing the lawn every weekend for 2 years! That’s awesome and super impressive!!

  18. So sweet of you to work to the point of blisters on your hands. I am sure he appreciated it so much!

  19. Oucchhh! Yard work is tough! Way to go, girl!

  20. Wow, your lawn is MASSIVE! I can’t believe you mowed that by yourself with the self propeller being broken! Our lawn takes me about an hour to mow, but if I didn’t have the self propeller… I don’t think I could do it, LOL. I love this post. I love the way you showed Christopher your love for him. You two are so sweet!

    • Girl, don’t I know it! That backyard is huge, haha! I was definitely super proud of myself. And it gave me a better appreciation for the way that Christopher does it *all the time*! I’m impressed that you mow the lawn regularly. Go you! I’m pretty sure I’ve tapped out for the next 8 years or so. πŸ˜‰

  21. Wow, your yard is ginormous! You should get the best wife award for sure! I have a small garden home so my yard is tiny but I still hate to do it. I don’t have anywhere to store a gas or big electric mower so I use a small weed eater and a reel mower. Not my favorite part of homeownership…

  22. Mowing the lawn is no joke especially a big lawn! Kudos to you!

  23. Oh wow, seriously I love how you both are so much into each other all along the journey πŸ™‚ You give the rest “couple goals” πŸ™‚ None is judging you for the bandaid babe, esp after all the hardwork you did to put a smile on your man’s face πŸ™‚ *hugs*

Leave a Reply

