We’re headed back to Europe!

There are so many places in this world that Christopher and I want to visit, but several years ago we picked our top seven places (outside the US) that we wanted to see:

Italy (where Christopher’s family is from plus all the history!)
Greece (all the history!)
United Kingdom (seeing all the places where my family came from!)
China
(I’ve always wanted Christopher to see where I spent my teen years – plus all the history!)
Australia/New Zealand (the beaaaaaches!)
Caribbean (the beaches!!)
The Holy Land (we think it would be pretty amazing to see the places where Jesus walked)

walking on the beach in cozumel

We marked the Caribbean off our list in August of 2011 with our very first cruise. Since then we’ve been back three times (September 2014, August 2015, December 2015) and have loved the gorgeous water, perfect weather, and sandy beaches every time!

colosseum

Then three years ago we picked Italy as the next one to mark off our list. We absolutely LOVED it! And from the minute we came home, we were planning our next big trip. It wasn’t long before we chose GREECE! So we’ve been setting money aside for that here and there and this year is the year! 🙂

Except well… you see… it was supposed to be a Greece trip. But then we thought “wow, we’ll be that close to Italy… we might as well pop over there and see our favorite things again…” which then led to the conversation of “Melissa (my sister) and her family live in Prague… if we’re going to do more than one country we should totally visit them!” which then led to “Look at all these awesome countries in between the Czech Republic and Italy! We should visit Switzerland!” and then next thing you know our Greece trip had expanded into a MANY countries trip, ha!

So my friends, come this September we will be visiting:

Greece 
Italy
Czech Republic
Austria
Switzerland
France 
England (I hesitate to even put this on here since we’re only in London for a layover. But it’s a really long one so we’re hoping to be able to leave the airport and at least find fish & chips somewhere! We’ll be back to see all the sites on our official UK trip later on!)

Needless to say, we’re SUPER excited!

Have you been to any of these places? Feel free to pass on any advice!

What are your top hope-to-visit-someday places?

Have you planned a trip that was supposed to just be one major location, but turned into several?
Love Rach

64 responses to “We’re headed back to Europe!

  1. What an exciting trip! I went to London and loved it. I can’t wait to go back!

    • I am SO looking forward to returning to England someday so we can do London properly! We very nearly did the British Isles trip this time around, but Greece won out just barely. I’m thinking the British Isles might be the next one we mark off! 🙂

  2. What a fun itinerary! I went to Switzerland (Zurich/Lucerne) and France (Paris) in 2008. Zurich was absolutely gorgeous and the food was delicious (can’t go wrong with melted cheese and hot chocolate)! Paris was amazing…pretty much because it’s Paris. 🙂

    Have a great time!

    • Mmm! I do love good food! Thanks for the recommendations! I have heard such good things about Switzerland so I’m SO excited about that! And of course everyone seems to love Paris so I can’t imagine being disappointed there either! 🙂

  3. oh my gosh i am so so so so jealous! the only places i have been are rome, paris and london, and you probably know what you want to do in italy anyway. mmm fish n chips. yum! i hope you get to go to oz/nz one day!

    • Rome was one of my favorite cities in Italy which means we are totally headed back there this September! I just love it so much! Don’t be surprised if you see random searches on your blog for your Paris posts. 😉

  4. chelseajacobs

    Yay!! So exciting!

  5. Yes! Such awesome news! I’ve been to Lucerne, Innsbruck, Nice, Monaco, Paris, and England… I’ll try to think of my recommendations, it was several years ago. Definitely do Monaco if you can!

  6. Wow, what an adventure! Cannot wait to hear all about it!

  7. Heck yes!!! Amazing. This trip is going to be amazing. I cannot wait to read about it and see the pictures.

  8. When? Did I miss the when?

  9. Woah, what an amazing adventure you will have. Have you decided where in France & Switzerland you will be? I have been to Switzerland twice and I don’t think you can go wrong – it is SO SO gorgeous! Zermatt is one of the cutest towns of all time with amazing views of the matterhorn, so go there if possible! In France I have to suggest Chamonix. Set $ aside to hire a guide and go rock climbing (I had a blast) or something else – they have a ton of amazing options! Last summer I did the Tour of Mont Blanc through France, Italy, & Switzerland. Look up the route and plan to do a section of it. There are restaurants and hostels along the way. My 2 favorite places we stayed were Refuge des Mottets in France and Rif de Bonatti in Italy. Mottets is a short hike from a little town and Bonatti is a bus ride and short (but steep) hike away from the town of Courmayer (I think that is how it is spelled)!

    I’m so excited to learn about your trip so I can go check all these awesome spots out too! 🙂

    • And I just noticed Austria. I had a long layover there en route to Switzerland my first time, bit loved walking around. I’ma horse lover so I went to watch the Spanish Riding School’s morning training session of the Lipizanner Stallions (the white ones that do those cool jumps and leaps). So maybe that too! 🙂

      • Whaaaat?! I had no idea you could go and see their training sessions, but it sounds AWESOME!! I am looking into it right now! I’m hoping it will line up with our schedule for us to see the horses. Thank you for the recommendation! 🙂

    • ​For France we’ll only be in Paris for this trip, but you have me convinced that I will need to return in the future to do all of these other amazing things as well! Sounds like you really loved your time there! 🙂

      As for Switzerland we’ll be in the Bernese Oberland. I’ve heard the entire country is just beyond gorgeous so I am SO excited to go!! Zermatt sounds awesome, though! I wonder if we can squeeze that in there?! 🙂

  10. This is awesome news! I can’t wait to read all your updates already! 😉

  11. Congrats on your upcoming trip! I love hearing how people decide where to go and when. Happy planning (to me the anticipation of a trip is awesome) and I can’t wait to see pics.

  12. What an amazing trip- Greece is definitely on my bucket list!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  13. Oh my word – I cannot wait to hear about this trip!!! It sounds amazing!

  14. Wow that is so exciting! I can’t wait to read all of your posts from this trip. How long will you be away for?

  15. Wow you’re going everywhere. I’m very jealous.You should definitely go to Australia or New Zealand because the beaches are HUGE and so gorgeous, even in the winter

  16. Wow, that is an epic trip you are going on. Switzerland is my favourite country in the world, so you are going to have an amazing time.

  17. Ahhhh how exciting!!! I have never been outside of the US other than Canada. I would love to visit Italy, Greece and Australia! This sounds like it is going to be such as awesome trip!

  18. I bet you are counting down the days! What an exciting trip!!

    I’ve never been to Europe but it is definitely on my must visit list! To date, we’ve only travelled around Australia, New Zealand (in January this year), Indonesia and the US.

    • Definitely! And girl, I think it’s so cool that you live in Australia. One of my best friends when I was in high school was from New Zealand and I always loved hearing him talk about how amazing Australia & NZ are. One of these days I really will make it there to visit!

  19. Your trip sounds like it is going to be amazing!

  20. That is so awesome! I have never been to Europe, aside from Iceland, which was amazing. I would like to visit the other countries one day, though.

  21. YAY! I’ve not been to Czech Republic or Greece, so I am especially excited for those!!!

  22. So jealous of your upcoming vacation. I’m dying for another trip around Europe and that sounds like my dream destinations!!! Have a blast.

  23. thehipandthrifty

    Good for you guys, that sounds incredible! Have fun 🙂

  24. How exciting!!! This sounds a lot like my list. Italy and Greece at definitely at the top. I would also like to see Ireland, Switzerland, and basically anything in Europe.

  25. I’m so, so excited to read about this huge trip! You guys are going to have so much fun!

    As for placesI’d like to visit some day: Hawaii, MEMPHIS :), and Australia!

  26. Oh my goodness! I am super excited about your trip! I cannot wait to see pictures! I have tried to make a list of places but I can’t narrow it down. I want to go everywhere so I gave up on making a list and just jump at any opportunity that comes up to travel. Trey and I were actually talking today about not having a huge wedding just going somewhere random and getting married. We both said Switzerland! 🙂

  27. oh my goshhhh i’m jealous!! that will be an AMAZING trip!!!! so awesome. 🙂

  28. Whoa!! You will have a really exciting September! Europe has never really been on my radar that much, though definitely if a chance to visit ever comes my way I sure wouldn’t say no. haha! You guys must be so excited about getting ready for the trip! Probably the places Angel and I are most interested in going is back to China and to New Zealand–I think China is the most realistic of those two! My mom really wants the whole family to take a trip to Israel one day–she and my dad have been, and my sister lived there with family friends for a few months, but the rest of us have never been.

    • I think a family trip to Israel sounds amazing! I hope you guys are able to do that someday! I haven’t been to New Zealand, but the pictures I’ve seen are amazing. One of my best friends when I was a teenager was from there and I loved hearing him talk about it. One of these days we’ll make it there! Where in China do you guys want to go back to visit? Any particular place?

  29. This is so exciting! I’m definitely jealous! Justin and I have always said we’d like to take a trip like this for our tenth anniversary (which would be a year from now), but now that we know we’d be leaving behind a one year old and three year old, I’m not sure it will happen. Meaning. . .I’m not sure who would be up for the challenge of watching them both for 7-10 days, haha. Enjoy the freedom to travel while you can, before any kiddos come along!

  30. OH MY GOSH! What an amazing trip this is going to be! Have a blast and take lost of photos and enjoy every minute of it! I can not wait to hear all about it!

    Speaking of the holy land, my church is doing a trip to the holy land in October/November we wanted to go but ended up deciding against it and low and behold it was a good decision as I am due end of November early December anyway! One day we will get there!

    • Girl, I was so confused when I read this comment, haha! I went to check your blog and low and behold… a surprise pregnancy! How awesome! I am so excited for you! And it’s definitely good you didn’t have that trip booked! 🙂

  31. I did catch a few of your amazing photos in instagram and it was so awesome 😀 And you, oh my God, sister living in Prague and hubby from Italy, Europe is literally your backyard isn’t it ? 😛 (getting all green-eyed 😉 )

    • Well, if it makes it any better – Christopher never lived in Italy. He was born in the States. 😉 But we did get to visit the place his family is from the last time we were in Italy which was awesome! And yeah, my sister has lived in Prague for 12 year now! Crazy that it’s been so long!

Leave a Reply

