Birthday Week!

It’s my birthday week! This Saturday, on July 30th, I’ll be 29-years-old. Twenty nine, you guys. Closing in on thirty. And yet I find that I don’t mind aging. I love the confidence, growth, and wisdom that has come with each year. I love looking back on life and seeing how far I’ve come in so many different ways. Life has had it’s hard moments for sure, but all in all, it has been very sweet to me. It helps that I have the best guy ever to live life with (it’s my birthday week so all of you other happily married ladies can’t argue with me just this once, haha)!

Disclaimer: the photo you are about to view below is kind of risque. Okay, not really. But for us it is. Especially to share on the internet.Β But we took it last week and I love the sweetness of itΒ soΒ I’m sharing it here today. πŸ™‚

us july 2016

I was 17 when we started dating. How is it that I blinked and suddenly I’m 29. I’m afraid I’ll blink again and be 60 with a lap full of grandchildren. What an amazing life this is with this precious man.Β It’s true what they say: time flies when you’re having fun. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

60 responses to “Birthday Week!

  1. YOU precious angels!!! LOVE that pic and I am going to celebrate you all week and in my prayers, ask that your birthday be filled with all the things you love!! A wonderful gal like you deserves a wonderful day!!!! Hugs!!

  2. Happy birthday week! My 30’s have been the best age range for me, so don’t worry about getting closer to it πŸ™‚

  3. The picture is just pure sweetness! 29 was a good year for me! I was sick a lot, but I didn’t mind it. 29 changed my life. Love you and happy early birthday!

  4. I laughed out loud when I scrolled down to see your “risquΓ©” photo, because I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it wasn’t THAT. That picture of you guys is really sweet! But I somehow don’t feel as scandalized as you thought I would. πŸ˜‰

    Side note: the photographer who did our wedding photos contacted me after the wedding to let me know that they also did a whole range of other type of photography, including “burlesque” photos, which they said would make a great gift for my husband. They sent me some samples of burlesque photos that they took of other women, and while they weren’t exactly Playboy material, I still felt really weird looking at them. There’s no way I could do a photo shoot like that! So embarrassing!

    • Haha! Okay good! It’s probably way tamer than it feels to me, but it’s just not really our style to put up photos like that. I originally was planning to post it to social media, but I know that I’d never hear the end of it from our friends here in Memphis if I did, ha! Only a few of them read my blog regularly (that I know of) so I figure they can deal with it since it’s my blog. πŸ˜‰

      Oh man, those types of sessions are getting SO popular! I’m honestly surprised that I haven’t been asked to shoot one yet. I’m not quite sure that I’d say. I do have a couple of friends who have done them as gifts for their husbands, though! One girl shocked my socks off when she told me (she’s totally the super sweet, very quiet girl from church). I’m not so sure I could do it myself, but I’m glad it makes other women feel empowered and more confident. πŸ™‚

  5. I LOVE that picture of you both! IT’s beautiful and precious. The love you have for each other is sooo evident.
    Happy birthday week!!!! May it be filled with happiness and blessings. πŸ™‚
    I have to say that the 30’s have been my favorite so far. As you mentioned, there’s a confidence that comes with growing older. I feel as though I’ve learned to embrace life a bit more and to not sweat the small stuff. πŸ™‚

    • You know, it’s funny… I remember when I was in college and “old” people (you know, people in their 30s) would talk about how great it was to be 30 and have all this confidence and wisdom that comes with growing up and I honestly just thought they were saying stuff like that to make themselves feel better about being “old”. HA! And now here I am saying the same things. It really is true!

      And thank you so much for the compliment! I was really hesitant to share the photo, but now I’m glad that I did! πŸ™‚

  6. That picture is really sweet πŸ™‚ We are taking family pictures next weekend, and I’m excited! Happy birthday week, Rachel!

  7. Grr, tigers! πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. That picture is pure sweetness. Happy birthday week!! 29 is going to be an amazing year for you, I’m sure of it.

  8. Such a sweet photo. The love both of you have for each other is just so evident. ❀ I hope you have a wonderful birthday week!!

  9. What a wonderful, loving picture!! Happy, early, birthday Rachel!! πŸ™‚

  10. That picture is so sweet! Happy Birthday Week!!! I have to say that my 30’s have been my favorite so far so don’t fret.

  11. Such a romantic picture! Happy birthday, enjoy it big time!

  12. YAY! Happy birthday week beautiful!!! Love that picture of you two! Hope you feel extra loved on this week!

  13. Happy birthday week!!! I turned 31 a few weeks back! I was dreading my 30s, but it’s not as bad as I thought! lol It’s just a number! And I’ve been with my hubby since we were 18! Time really does fly by!

    • So glad to hear that your 30s have been good to you so far! I’ve heard that from some of my other friends who are there (and several people commenting on this post as well). So I’m excited to see what the next few years bring! πŸ™‚ And hooray for you and your husband being together since you were so young as well! I love that! πŸ™‚

  14. Happy birthweek, girl! That photo is so so sweet! ❀

  15. oh whaaaat a gorgeous photo!!! it doesn’t come off risque at all to me, but very sweet and romantic and loving!! and also, i happen to love your bday! my baby girl will be 4 on that day, too! happy early birthday!! πŸ™‚ and i wish i felt as balanced and positive as you do about aging. of course we are blessed to have many years ahead… but… my 30 is in november and i’m all… like… no thanks. working on it, though. πŸ˜‰ but!! HAPPY 29!! now, i have to say 29 has been a great age!!!

    • Oh good! I’m so glad it doesn’t look as risque as I thought it might. πŸ™‚ And happy early birthday to your little girl! July 30th has been an AWESOME birthday for me (summers out of school, hooray!)

      I hope by the time November comes around, you are able to wrap your head around 30. I’ve heard from several people (in the comments of this post alone) that their 30s have been the best age yet! πŸ™‚

  16. Happy Almost Birthday! That photo is gorgeous! FYI it is not risquΓ© at all!

  17. Happy birthday week, doll! Have fun + enjoy yourself! πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  18. That picture is so sweet! I hope you have a wonderful birthday πŸ™‚

  19. Happy early birthday, Rach! It’s been so nice to get to “meet” and become friends with you through the blogging community. I hope you have a wonderful birthday! ❀

  20. Happy Birthweek babe!!! This is so exciting!! And you’re so sweet! That’s awesome that you and your hubby have been together since you were 17!! ❀

  21. Gah, I love this! First of all, your long hair is so amazing! Secondly, you’re the cutest couple ever. Third, I met my husband when I was 18. When you know you know! ;-)I never minded aging either, even now that I’m thirty! You wear 29 well my friend!

    • Thank you, sweet lady! I have some dead ends that need to come off so I appreciate your compliment! πŸ™‚ I love that you met your husband at 18! So sweet! There’s something special about growing up together in those formative years. And I love hearing that you haven’t minded aging and that 30 is treating you well. I hope the same holds true for me in the future! πŸ™‚

  22. Happy birthday week to youuu!! 29 was a good year for me, so here’s a wish that it’s your best yet!

  23. Aww!! Happiest of birthdays to you–it’s already Saturday here! Hope you have great fun celebrating. That is the sweetest photo–glad you guys are having so much fun getting older together each year. Time does fly like crazy! I met Angel when I was 17 too. Although somehow it sounds a little “risque” as well that our first kiss happened when I was 17 and he was 24 so he doesn’t like to remember me as a minor. ahaha!

  24. Happy happy birthday to such a special girl!!! You are such a sweet person and I hope this day treats you just as sweetly!!

    By the way– LOVE the pic! πŸ™‚

  25. Awww I just love you two. Happy birthday, sweet and beautiful friend!

  26. that photo is so risque! hahaha. it’s cute though! and your hair as always is so fabulous it’s not fair πŸ˜‰ i’m with you on aging. i embrace it! i feel more myself and i wouldn’t want to go back to not knowing myself, if that makes sense. again, happy belated birthday, i hope it was fabulous!

    • When I saw his… ahem… hand placement… after we took the photo I burst into laughter. I told him that the photo was adorable and going to be my phone home screen (which it is!), but that there was no way I was sharing it on social media. He kept telling me that it was more innocent looking than I thought so I got brave enough to post it here, but I’m pretty sure it won’t be going on Facebook or Insta which both more people we know in person who are likely to tease us, ha!

      I’m glad you’re with me on aging! I love reading your posts about how much more you like yourself now than you did in the past. I am so with you on that and I love it! πŸ™‚

  27. Happy belated birthday, Rach!! LOVE the picture. You and Christopher are so sweet together. I hope you’re still blogging when you’re 60 and have a lap of grandchildren πŸ™‚

  28. Ok, I actually googled the meaning of risque to confirm we are on the same page πŸ˜› The photo is so sweet and romantic and I am yet unable to find the “risque’ part of it πŸ˜€ Entering 30 sounds weird right? I mean when I was in my college, 30 was like grown up and adult thingy. And I am no where near “grown up” now πŸ˜› I have got a couple of years (2 to be exact πŸ˜› ) to hit 30 so let us see if I “grow up” by then πŸ˜›

    • Haha! After seeing everyone’s comments I realize that maybe I was being a little overly worried about this photo. I know some people are really weird about PDA so I was afraid this might be a little much for them. πŸ˜‰

      And girl, I hear ya! 30 used to see SO old! And now I’m knocking on its door!

Leave a Reply

