Birthday Recap!

maggianos.jpg

My birthday week kicked off on the Sunday before my Saturday birthday with a celebration with my parents, grandparents, and one of my sisters. My younger sister lives in Nashville which happens to boast a Maggiano’s which I LOVE. Being the wonderful sister she is, she brought me TWO spaghetti meals to-go from Maggiano’s when she came to visit! I ate spaghetti all week long during my birthday week. It was delightful!

pizza night.jpg

Friday night (my birthday night eve) Christopher and I made homemade pizza like we always do, but we took time to take a few photos (something we’re always saying we should do, but never remember to). It’s such a small thing, but I love this Friday night tradition so I’m so glad we took the time to take a few photos of us making pizza. 🙂

blueberry bagel.jpg

Saturday morning aka BIRTHDAY DAY began with a trip to Panera for a blueberry bagel! My fav! Christopher gave me a sweet, handmade card and then surprised me with tickets to Pentatonix! I should also mention, Christopher made me the most delicious dessert and I absolutely ate five servings of it all throughout the day. More on that later this week when I share the recipe. 😉

Rach and Oreo at Shelby Farms.jpg

From breakfast we headed out to Shelby Farms (a huge urban park in Memphis with lots of trails and lakes and such). We attempted to take a family photo, but Oreo was so distracted by every little thing that all the photos are hilariously terrible. So instead Christopher snapped this one of Oreo and I walking together. 🙂 From there we spent the day browsing through a few stores. We found dried figs at HomeGoods and bought them because we both wanted to try them. Then naturally we made all of our friends try them too, ha! They are a bit of a weird texture and look super ugly, but actually taste like fig newtons. So random, but actually pretty good.

besties1.jpg

We met up with friends for dinner and it was such fun! Normally I have a terrible time picking and choosing who to celebrate with because we run in so many different circles of friends and I hate the idea of anyone feeling left out. Hence why last year for my birthday we ended up having nearly 50 people at our house. It was a lot of fun, but a bit chaotic. And since our dog sitter is out of town (she normally keeps Oreo busy in an upstairs room while the party happens so he isn’t underfoot), we decided to go small for my birthday this year and then host a big party in the fall with all our friends.

besties

So picking and choosing was definitely difficult for me, but I decided on the people who we have found ourselves confiding in the most over the past year. The friends who have prayed for us and loved on us and encouraged us. Plus this particular group I chose to celebrate with… none of them knew each other. 😉 So it was fun introducing our best friends to each other and watching them all get along so well! 🙂

bowling.jpg

After dinner we went bowling and had a BLAST! I started out with TWO strikes in a row (that has literally never happened to me before) and then several spares. I’m pretty sure that was birthday luck. 😉 But then my early luck faded and I managed a few gutter balls here and there later in the evening. 😉 We had a blast and I’m so thankful that we had these friends to celebrate my birthday with AND to live life with. I went to bed (late) that night feeling wrapped up in love and blessings. 🙂

Twenty Nine, I’m excited to see what you bring me! 🙂

Love Rach

50 responses to “Birthday Recap!

  1. Happy birthday! I love that you guys make homemade pizza together! 🙂 And Maggiano’s is AWESOME!

  2. Happy Birthday!!! It all sounds like fun and a great birthday weekend! I love that ya’ll invited friends that didn’t know each other over together. I am always wanting our different friend circles to hang out and be friends. Then we can all be one big happy friend group haha! I am glad you had a great birthday and I say keep celebrating this week too!

    • YES! We can all be one big happy friend group! That is my ideal situation! It would make our social life a lot less hectic if more of our friends knew each other better. I was so glad this evening went so well with all of them! 🙂 And girl, I will totally keep celebrating this week! I just got a gift in the mail yesterday and another one is on it’s way to me as well. Hooray for birthdays! 🙂

  3. Yay birthday girl! I’m so glad you had a good time! Your husband is the sweetest and I’m just tickled pink that so many people made it special for you! I love your top in the picture with all you gals and how awesome you had two strikes in a row, what a great feeling! I just know this week is going to get off to great start for you after such a great weekend!

  4. Happy 29th Rach!! Sounds like you had a blast!! Congrats babe!! Cheers to a new year!! ❤

  5. Happy, happy birthday! It sounds like you had the best birthday celebrations – all week long! Cheers to 29!

  6. Yay! Happy birthday! Um I think I got two strikes in a row once and it was a HUGE moment for me! Hahaha.

  7. Happy Birthday!! Sounds like it was a blast!

  8. Sounds like you had a fabulous birthday! I love that he made you a sweet treat, that is the best!

    • It was super sweet! And I say “was” because of the GIANT dessert he made me… there is one piece left. That I am now saving for him (since I had a piece already today). He’s eaten like a quarter of it. And the rest has been me. No shame when it’s birthday time. 😉

  9. Happy happy birthday!! Looks like some fantastic celebrations! If you haven’t seen Pentatonix live before, get ready for one of the best concert experiences ever! They put on quite the show. 🙂

  10. What a fun way to celebrate your birthday! I felt happy just reading this post! 🙂 I’m so glad that your day was filled with such loveliness, because you deserve it.
    (P.S. Panera bagels and Maggiano’s spaghetti?? YUM! That IS a special week)! 🙂

    • YES! It was a special week! And I started it off with steak and potatoes with my family (on the Sunday before my birthday) which is another favorite food of mine. And I had sushi for lunch on Saturday (another favorite). I honestly crammed as many favorite foods as I could into a one week period. And it was AWESOME! 😀

  11. Aw what a fun fun day! It sounds like you had a blast 🙂 Dried figs are AWESOME! You should try one dipped in peanut butter– it’s one of my favorite pre-workout snacks! 😀

    • Ooh I will definitely have to try that! We finished them off on Sunday evening with friends so I’ll need to buy another bag. They really were pretty good! And I love peanut butter so that combination sounds great! 🙂

  12. Rach, what a blessing it is that you had to CHOOSE who to celebrate with!!!! Soak this season up. 🙂 Also, I can’t wait to hear more about the big party you have in the fall with EVERYONE.

    I like how you party and what a role food and people have in it!!!! That blueberry bagel combo is one of my favorites too. Blueberry anything is GOOD.

    Happy birthday!!! May God bless you with a lovely year full of His grace and truth. 🙂

  13. I wish we lived closer so I could have celebrated with you!!! Miss y’all!

  14. This sounds like a great day, and an amazing start to 29. Pentatonix will be so fun to see! Sometimes the best memories are the ones made hanging out around the house, and they rarely get photographed. I am so glad you got a few of those sweet simple nights!

    • Yes! I am trying to be better about pulling my camera out to document just every-day life routines. This is such a sweet time in our lives right now and I want to remember it clearly. 🙂

      And thank you! I’m so excited about Pentatonix!

  15. I’m glad to hear you had such a lovely birthday for such a lovely person! hugs!

  16. A fabulous birthday week (mmm, spaghetti) for a fabulous lady! xoxo

  17. I am so glad you had such a lovely birthday week! I feel like I need to eat spaghetti all week next week for my birthday too! 😉

  18. TWO strikes in a row??!! What?? I’m a terrible bowler…so terrible that I’ll volunteer to join the kids’ lane and take care of the kids bowling so that I can use the bumper lane with them. 😛 Sounds like a pretty fantastic birthday this year!

  19. Looks like a great birthday for a great girl! How cool that you got Pentatonix tickets; they’re such a unique group!! 🙂

  20. i love that you have so many friends/different circles. that’s definitely a good problem to have. i struggle to find 5 people to celebrate with lol but i don’t mind, it is what it is and least they are the 5 best people 🙂 happy belated birthday! i love trying new random food i find at tj maxx or homegoods. speaking of food, now i really want a blueberry bagel. yum!

    • ​It’s our church more than anything. There are so many people our age there and everyone is so friendly so it’s easy to make friends. We only have a handful of friends who aren’t from church (they are from work & the gym). So there definitely are always lots of people to hang out with. As far as bear-your-heart-to friends, we have a much smaller number of those. The people in this photo are most of them! 🙂 ​

  21. Gah, you are seriously the cutest!! What a perfect birthday!

  22. thehipandthrifty

    PENTATONIX! SWEET! Happy birthday 🙂

  23. What a beautiful and happy birthday week! Yay for bowling those strikes and spares, too! I absolutely love the picture of you and Christopher making pizza and you walking Oreo. Candid-type shots like that are my favorite 🙂

    The shirt you wore to celebrate your birthday with your friends is so cute!

  24. Sounds like an amazing birthday Rach 🙂 And I love that pink top of yours ❤

Leave a Reply

