Chocolate Eclair Squares (and a video with bloopers)

Today I want to share with you guys the delicious dessert that Christopher made for my birthday. If I remember correctly this recipe originally came from my mom. It’s one that we’ve been making in my family since we found out about my heart condition (see here for more info on my heart and why I limit sugar in my diet) so I can’t remember exactly where we first found this recipe. But it’s delicious!

Chocolate Eclair Squares {No Sugar Added}  (1).JPG

Chocolate Eclair SquaresΒ {no sugar added}

Ingredients:

24 chocolate graham crackers (we buy the ones with the lowest sugar and then shake off the excess sugar crystals before using them)
2 (3.4 oz) boxes of sugar free white chocolate instant pudding (also delicious with vanilla flavor)
3 cups unsweetened almond milk (or preferred milk)
1 (12 oz) container of sugar free Cool Whip
1 (3.4 oz) box of sugar free chocolate instant pudding
1 1/2 cups almond milk (or preferred milk)

Directions:

1. Place 8 crackers in the bottom of a 13 x 9″ pan.

2. Mix white chocolate pudding and 3 cups almond milk and let set for 2 minutes. Gently fold in Cool Whip. Pour 1/2 on graham crackers then top with another layer of crackers. Pour remaining pudding over crackers. Top with last 8 crackers.

3. Mix the chocolate pudding with 1 1/2 cups almond milk and let set for 2 minutes. Spread over top layer of crackers.

4. Chill 6 hours. We usually just make it the night before.

Chocolate Eclair Squares {No Sugar Added}  (2)
Chocolate Eclair Squares {No Sugar Added}  (3)

Why yes, yes I do eat it straight out of the pan sometimes. No shame in my game. πŸ˜‰

It has been awhile since I made a chatting-with-the-camera video for the blog so on Sunday I decided it was high time. In this video I briefly confess how many pieces of this chocolate eclair dessert I ate on my birthday and then I go on to show how out of practice I am at making videos. πŸ˜‰ Enjoy watching me be terrible on camera, haha!

As bad as that freeze frame is, you should see the other two options Youtube gave me. πŸ˜‰

Are you good at sitting down and talking to a camera on the fly? Obviously I am way out of practice, ha!

Do you have a favorite birthday dessert?

Love Rach

44 responses to “Chocolate Eclair Squares (and a video with bloopers)

  1. The dessert was your grandmother’s recipe which I adapted to make a “lowest possible sugar” version. I think Mother started making the recipe when I was a teenager.

  2. This recipe looks awesome, Rach! I will definitely try it out soon:)

  3. OMG! I swear I’m gonna try your recipe, because it looks delicious!
    What a lovely birthday for you πŸ™‚

  4. i would eat that entire dessert in one go hahaha. i have had something similar, but not sugar free (or like, low on sugar). i suck at talking to the camera, i filmed a video just once for my blog and was like…. nope. hahaha.

  5. this looks absolutely delicious!

  6. That sounds SO AMAZING. Omg, I love pudding-y no bake desserts. SO GOOD.

    Okay sooo with Instagram Stories or whatever the Snapchat ripoff is called, my mind was BLOWN today hearing the voices of like 5 bloggers that I hadn’t heard before. (I follow like 10 people on Snap, I follow way more on Insta…Snapchat overwhelms me with too many people because then it’s like an hour of everyone’s stories.) And now I heard your voice too and the point is… It’s so weird to hear someone’s voice that you’ve never heard before! I don’t know if I have expectations of peoples’ voices and then they just sound different, or I have no expectations at all and it’s just weird to hear someone’s voice with no idea how it could possibly sound haha. (I had to tell someone about this…sorry! Haha. And no, your voice isn’t weird. Just hearing someone’s voice you’ve only seen in pictures and read their writing. Okay…I’ll stop now.) πŸ™‚

    • Ooh then girl, you will LOVE this dessert! It is so good!

      And I know exactly what you mean! I think the same thing every time I hear a blogger talk for the first time. I usually hear that people are surprised to hear that I have a southern accent (even though I live in the south, it’s still not something your inner voice provides for you when you read my blog) and that my voice is pitched so low. I use lots of exclamation points and smiley faces when I type which comes across as bubbly which we associate with high pitched. I am definitely a bubbly sort of personality, but with a solid alto voice, haha!

  7. You’re so cute. I am at work and can’t listen to the video now but will later at home. I’m sure that you did fantastic in front of the camera though.

    That dessert looks tasty and very similar to a dessert that we make in our family a lot – chocolate Γ©clair cake. It is really one of my favorites but NOT sugar free by any means!!

    • Ha! This video definitely has zero direction to it. Just showing how much I can’t talk to a camera, haha! So you aren’t missing much. πŸ˜‰

      I bet the chocolate eclair cake you guys make is absolutely every bit just as delicious (if not more so with all that real sugar goodness in it)! πŸ™‚

  8. HAHA I so enjoyed your bloopers! I think they are better than anything constructive anyway! πŸ˜€

  9. The Chocolate Eclair Squares look delicious, and I love that there’s no sugar added πŸ™‚

  10. ahhh you’re adorable on camera.
    happy belated!

  11. That dessert looks AMAZING- and how cute is your blooper reel?!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  12. That dessert looks so delicious!!!! When I get cookie cakes for my birthday, no joke…I eat like half of it by myself in two days. No shame. Your blooper video is so cute. I haven’t filmed yet because of this very reason. I would keep starting over and I would get nervous and oh my I cant even think about it!

    • ​No shame on birthdays!! You eat that cookie cake like a boss! πŸ™‚

      And girl, I bet you’d be great on video! Just… you know… maybe have a plan of what you might want to talk about before you sit down in front of the camera, haha! ​

  13. I think the freeze frame looks great. haha, but don’t you love it when YouTube gives you three options that are all as bad as each other!
    This dessert looks delicious. I would be happy with this for my birthday.

  14. That recipe looks so good! Definitely going to try it sometime. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re doing well, lady! I’m slowly coming out of the post-surgery daze, so I haven’t caught up on posts yet!

  15. My mouth is seriously watering! How thoughtful AND delicious!

  16. Your video is way to cute and this recipe looks AMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAZING!

    I’m still yet to decide on my birthday dessert but this sounds like a winning idea!

    • Haha! You are too nice. πŸ˜‰ I laugh when I watch this video because… really… wow… how can I be that directionless with talking to the camera?! πŸ˜‰ Obviously I need to practice a bit more!

      Good luck deciding on your birthday dessert! I look forward to hearing all about it! πŸ™‚

  17. HAHA I love this!!! OMG that dessert though….I’d have had six pieces.

  18. This looks so good! I have tried “vlogging” a few times for the blog, but I am just SO bad at speaking to the camera. I get myself rushing and messing up all of my words. I love watching other people’s videos though so maybe I should just practice more. :p

  19. This dessert looks amazing!! I need to make it soon! For my bday, I love a good carrot cake with cream cheese frosting or cheesecake! Or really anything, I have a huge sweet tooth! πŸ˜‰

  20. Hahaha, your blooper video is seriously the best!! Made. My. Day. Also, loved Oreo trotting around in the background, haha.

    What a happy birthday dessert! The recipe for your chocolate eclair squares reminds me a lot of a dessert I make called “icebox cake.” So delicious!

  21. Again, you are the cutest thing ever! Please do more of these!

Leave a Reply

