Back to school for my little loves

swimming

I blinked and summer is over. The kids I nanny and I had an awesome summer together! But now August has arrived and Will goes back to school today and in a week Mallory will start two-day-a-week preschool. So I’ll hardly see Will at all and only see Mallory a couple of days a week. I don’t even want to think about next year when she starts kindergarten. Thankfully they live just a few minutes away from us so I’m sure I’ll still see them some, but it won’t be the same as being involved in their daily lives. Oh the tears…Β I’m definitely not ready to think about this yet, haha!Β Β On a much happier note, I wanted to share two videos of the kiddos from the past couple of weeks. πŸ™‚

In case you can’t understand her. Here’s the beginningΒ dialogue:

Mallory: “DaddyΒ tells me not to sleep in socks.”
Me: “Why is that?”
Mal: “Because only psychopaths do… and we’re not psychopaths.”

Makes me laugh every single time I watch it. She’s just so matter-of-fact about it. Even if she has no clue with a psychopath is. She just knows that she isn’t one and therefore doesn’t wear socksΒ to sleep in. Also, now we all know how her dad feels about people who sleep in socks, ha!Β Β πŸ˜‰

You guys, this video is the essence of childhood dress up and playing. I just love it.Β Will came up with the idea and script for this video which just makes it even better. The only thing I did was actually hide Spiderman (they really didn’t know where Spidey was), film it, add dramatic music, and put it together in a video. Side note: in case you can’t hear Will at the 2 minute mark he is looking inside the pantry and says, “If he was in here, he would have a Thanksgiving feast!”

We’ve had an awesome summer! I’ll miss seeing them all the time, but I’m excited to see how much they will grow and learn this school year.

Who or what did you dress up as when you were a kid?

Tell the truth… do you sleep with socks on? πŸ˜‰
Love Rach

40 responses to “Back to school for my little loves

  1. Awwww sounds like you nanny for some pretty great kiddos!!!

  2. The sleeping in socks thing killed me! I DO NOT sleep in socks. I get too hot if I do (no matter what pajamas/blankets I’m wearing, I swear) but I’ve never heard of someone being so against it they said only psychopaths do it! Hahaha.

    • I get too hot sleeping in socks too (even in the winter if I wear them to bed I’ll wake up in the middle of the night to tug them off because my feet are so hot). So I totally am with you!

      And that is just how her dad is. He’s pretty tongue-in-cheek funny so him saying things like this doesn’t surprise me. It’s just hilarious coming out of the mouth of a four year old. I texted him this clip that same day and said, “in case you ever wonder if your kids listen to you…” πŸ˜‰

  3. Haha, so funny! i don’t trust people that sleep in socks either.

  4. hahahahahaha psychopaths?!
    i sometimes sleep in socks and now i feel like a horrible person.

    • Haha! Don’t feel badly! That is just how her dad is. Turns out this is a long standing joke between him and his wife because she wear socks to sleep. He’s pretty tongue-in-cheek funny so him saying things like this doesn’t surprise me. It’s just hilarious coming out of the mouth of a four year old. I texted him this clip that same day and said, “in case you ever wonder if your kids listen to you…” πŸ˜‰

  5. The summer went by SO fast! I can’t believe how quickly your littles are growing up!

  6. Thank goodness I do not sleep in sock!! What precious and smart children, and they are sooooo lucky to have you!!

  7. Oh my goodness, those video’s cracked me up AND made my heart melt, all at the same time! How adorable! Those two children are so blessed to have you. πŸ™‚
    And I definitely fall asleep with my socks on in the wintertime. πŸ˜‰ Even with flannel sheets, it gets soooo cold that I can’t warm up my feet fast enough when I get into bed. (And for some reason, Nate doesn’t like it when I stick my icy feet on his legs to warm them). πŸ˜‰ I usually end up pulling them off halfway through the night though. Ha, ha.

    • You are nicer than I am. πŸ˜‰ I hate waking up in the middle of the night to take off socks (because if I fall asleep with them on, I absolutely will wake up to take them off at some point) so I don’t sleep with socks on. So in the winter I totally warm my cold feet up on Christopher. πŸ˜‰ Of course it is MUCH colder for much longer where you live so I can see why Nate might not appreciate that for half the year, haha!

      And aren’t they just precious?! I love these two so much!

  8. Those are absolutely the sweetest videos. Can’t stop laughing at the psychopaths part. So matter of fact she is! I’ll remember never to sleep in them! Haha

  9. Awww!! These videos are sooo cute!! The kids! Oh so priceless!😊❀️

  10. Aw!!! So precious! The 6 yr old goes back this week and I’ll miss her. I was a superhero when I was little using my Granny’s dish towel as a cape. My superhero name? God Bless This Kitchen–lol!

  11. Haha too cute. Greg insists it’s weird I DON’T wear socks to bed. I like my feet to be free at night.

  12. So cute! Although now I’m concerned about what wearing socks to sleep says about me πŸ™‚

    • Haha! I think it says more about how her dad feels about it than it says about you. πŸ˜‰ That is just how he is. He’s pretty tongue-in-cheek funny so him saying things like this doesn’t surprise me. It’s just hilarious coming out of the mouth of a four year old. I texted him this clip that same day and said, “In case you every wonder if your kids listen to you…” πŸ˜‰

  13. I am not a psychopath and I slept with socks on half the year when we lived in Michigan! A drafty farmhouse in the winter is crazy cold!! Now, I barely wear socks when I’m awake because I can rarely bear to wear tennis shoes in this heat. Sandals forever!!

    • …but isn’t that what a psychopath would say too?!

      Just kidding! I think it says more about how her dad feels about it than it says about people who wear socks. πŸ˜‰ That is just how he is. He’s pretty tongue-in-cheek funny so him saying things like this doesn’t surprise me. It’s just hilarious coming out of the mouth of a four year old. I texted him this clip that same day and said, “In case you every wonder if your kids listen to you…” πŸ˜‰

  14. When I was a kid – I would dress up like a boy! AHHAHAHA! I was such a tomboy! I wanted to fit in with the boys – You know πŸ˜‰ hehe he!

  15. Kids are so cute! When I was younger my grandma and I would put ear muffs over our ears and pretend we were pilots, haha πŸ˜‰

  16. you are seriously the best nanny ever. i bet they absolutely adore you!!!! and i’ll admit i sometimes sleep in socks. in the winter!!!

    • No worries, I’m pretty sure you aren’t a psychopath. πŸ˜‰ That is just how he is. He’s pretty tongue-in-cheek funny so him saying things like this doesn’t surprise me. It’s just hilarious coming out of the mouth of a four year old. I texted him this clip that same day and said, “In case you every wonder if your kids listen to you…” πŸ˜‰

  17. TIL I’m a psychopath πŸ˜‰

    • Haha! I think it says more about how her dad feels about it than it says about you. πŸ˜‰ That is just how he is. He’s pretty tongue-in-cheek funny so him saying things like this doesn’t surprise me. It’s just hilarious coming out of the mouth of a four year old. I texted him this clip that same day and said, “In case you every wonder if your kids listen to you…” πŸ˜‰

  18. Ohhh they are adorable! This totally makes me miss nannying and making fun memories! I don’t know how anyone couldn’t love kids!

    When I was a kid I always dressed up as Disney princesses and I cannot sleep with socks on or I just kick them off as I’m trying to fall asleep because my feet get too hot!

    • Aww, I love that you used to nanny. It’s such a special relationship with those kiddos, isn’t it?! πŸ™‚

      And I’m with you on the sock thing. If I wear them then I’ll wake up halfway through the night to take kick them off and I hate waking up hot in the middle of the night so I just go to bed with cold feet in the winter, haha!

  19. You are such a fun nanny! They are lucky to have you! The socks thing killed me because I could totally see my husband telling Logan (who does sleep in socks) that. :p

  20. Mallory is seriously hilarious!! Jimmy would totally tell our child something like that!

    Love the spidey video, too! Will is adorable! And Mallory looked so concerned at the beginning, LOL. You are an awesome nanny!

Leave a Reply

