Oh my heart

us in the kitchen2.jpg

This guy. Oh my heart is so full. I wish I had the words to explain what a blessing he is to me. I am so grateful to get to live life with him.

Next week we celebrate 8 years of marriage and I can just barely believe that it has been eight years since we vowed our lives to each other. We were just kids. But we made a great choice in choosing each other.

I met him 12 years ago this month. He claims we met at a party before school started, but I don’t remember meeting him untilΒ a couple of weeks later after a movie on campus. Either way, we were fast friends after that movie.

And that friendship has grown into the most beautiful thing.

I keep writing and deleting. Mostly because I have SO much to say. More than you want to read and much of it too personal to share for a public blog. But the snippets I try to write to sum up this wonderful man aren’t near rich enough to explain my heart. So I’ll just leave it at this: I love him and I am so thankful for every day of life with him by my side.

us in the kitchen

Same photo as the one above, but this one isn’t cropped. I love how Oreo is being a creeper in the background. Definitely changes the tone of this photo, ha! But that’s so him. And this is so us. And I love this life we lead. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

58 responses to “Oh my heart

  1. I am so happy that you found your true love 12 years ago and married him 8 years ago. What a blessing you are to each other! Even though we’ve never met in person, your relationship is an inspiration to me. Happy early anniversary! I love both these pictures. The first is so sweet and romantic and the less cropped version is still sweet. It’s like Oreo is saying, “Guys! What about me? Seriously – you’re being so mushy.” πŸ™‚

  2. awwwwwwwwww ❀ love this. happy almost 8 years, that is amazing. it's great that you guys met young and have been able to grow with each other.

  3. What a sweet post! And I love Oreo creeping on the photo!

  4. 8 years – that is so awesome!!! Cheers to many more!

  5. Aw ❀ Congrats guys. 8 years is an amazing mark! xx

  6. Awe happy 8 years!!!!!!

  7. I JUST LOVE LOVE. So sweet!

  8. so sweet! you guys make me smile. πŸ™‚

  9. Awwwww! I love sweet posts like these!! Happy 8 years!

  10. You know I’m so emotional with the boys leaving so tearing up over this!! I feel the same way about my Mr. You are indeed blessed to have found each other and I seriously don’t think you can get anymore precious!! Tell Oreo he’s pretty precious too!

    • Haha! I’ll pass on your words to Oreo. I’m sure he’ll appreciate it! He definitely was feeling left out in that photo. πŸ˜‰ And I’m so glad you are blessed with such a wonderful husband as well! Love your posts about the two of you! πŸ™‚

  11. I’m so glad you guys found each other! You’re so perfect together!

  12. So sweet and you guys are so cute together πŸ™‚

  13. SWOON! So happy you two found each other. #relationshipgoals

  14. Awwh, congrats on 8 years! Haha, my cats look at my husband like that when we are hugging.

  15. Happy almost anniversary!

  16. Such a happy time, lady- happy, happy anniversary! Wishing you both many more years of this to come!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  17. All I can think when I see Oreo like that is that he’s saying, “Yes, yes, just distract him a little longer while I attack!” πŸ˜€

  18. Happy anniversary to y’all!! You can tell the love–so sweet!

  19. What a sweet love story! May God continue to bless your marriage for many more years to come ❀

  20. You both are really sweet, and I can tell you love each other so much πŸ™‚ That picture is great, even with Oreo! haha.

    • He’s such a creeper, though, right?! That is pretty much his face any time Christopher touches me. Or if he is really riled up then he’ll bow-wow-wow at Christopher. Naturally Christopher finds this hilarious and likes to torment Oreo as much as possible by standing away from me and putting one finger on my shoulder just to watch Oreo flip out. Which is horrible behavior in a dog, but Oreo has never showed any aggression toward Christopher so we just find it funny. I’m not joking when I say that I hope we are more disciplined with our human children someday. That dog is spoiled rotten. πŸ˜‰

  21. You guys are so so sweet! I would say enjoy your anniversary but I’m sure you enjoy every day spent with Christopher as I know EXACTLY how you feel! ❀

  22. So so sweet! Happy anniversary, friend!

  23. Aww, this is so very sweet!

  24. Happy, happy 8 years to you guys! Glad you found each other and have been investing in this precious friendship for so long! Blink a couple more times and you’ll have known each other longer than you didn’t know each other–crazy how that works! πŸ™‚

    • Ah! I know! We keep laughing about how that day is coming sooner than we think. If you count our time dating (starting when I had just turned 17) then in just five short years I’ll have been with Christopher longer than without him. It’s hard to remember what life was like without him as part of it. He has been all I have known in my adult life (as I’m sure you understand). It’s a good sort of life. πŸ™‚

  25. So sweet! I am so glad you two found each other. I didn’t notice the look Oreo was giving you in the last picture until I read what you wrote about it, and then I couldn’t stop laughing. It is so funny to think of what our pets must be thinking sometimes.

  26. you guys are sooo sweet! happy 8 years!!! what a wonderful life!!!

  27. Could you two be any cuter?! Happy Anniversary!

  28. Happy anniversary Rach and Christopher! Love Oreo just creepin’ in the background! Lola is the same way, haha.

    8 years is amazing! What a huge blessing!

  29. I know what you mean about having trouble finding words. I feel like I rarely write anything personal about Justin for that very reason! And because his dad follows my blog and I am too aware of that when I sit down to write.

  30. Tell me about the writing and deleting πŸ™‚ It takes me ages before I end up describing something about my man too and even then I feel I have not done justice πŸ˜›
    And you two!!! 8 years :O Howww did your parents agree for marriage so early?We always tell each other we should have gotten married early too but we spent around 3 years convincing my family for the marriage and in India dating-marriage scenario is totally a different(bad kind of) ball game than the US πŸ˜› Loved hearing about how you two met πŸ™‚ You should write a post more on that too. Or if you have already let me know the link ❀ And before I forget, I ADORE the pic. πŸ™‚ Credits to the photographer for awesomely capturing your love without making you camera shy? Is that your assistant by the way ? πŸ˜› Looks like you have imparted some talent of yours to her/him πŸ˜‰

    • It’s so hard to attempt to sum up what someone who you love SO much means to you! I totally understand that!

      Our parents were fine with us getting married so young. I had just turned 21 and he had just turned 22. Young by average US standards, but we were both college graduates and the culture where we live has LOTS of people getting married *in* college. So I think our parents were just happy that we waited until after graduation. My older sister got married at 20 while she was still in school and I remember that my parents were worried she might drop out of school, but that was the main concern (and she didn’t – she graduated!).

      I’d love to hear more about what dating looks like in India! Have you written about that?

      As for how we met… I have blogged about that! This is part one and part two . There initially wasn’t supposed to be a part two, but Christopher said I left out a big part the first time around so I had to add it, haha!

      And thank you! I think this photo turned out really sweetly too! We actually used a remote control to take this photo. I set the camera up on the tripod in our kitchen and then we used a 2 second delay remote. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

