Priceless

Earlier this year I got to see For King and Country perform live. I love, love, love them (and can give you a list of favorite songs if you like their sound)! They performed a new song at that concert that I hadn’t heard before and I immediately fell in love with it and came home and started playing it on repeat. Since then I’ve heard this song on the radio quite a bit so I’m sure many of you have heard it. But I want to talk about why I love it so much. It’s called Priceless.

This whole song is about how priceless you are. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve cried (or at least teared up) listening to this song. I think of so many ladies I know and love who don’t see their worth. Of the teenagers I’ve mentored over the past 11 years. And I especially think of my nieces who are coming so close to their preteen years when I know they will be hit with an onslaught of being told by the world that they aren’t enough. I remember those years so vividly. Feeling like I wasn’t pretty enough or funny enough or skinny enough or smart enough or athletic enough. Just mediocre at best. No one special. I battled those feelings through my teen years and really even into college. Today I am confident in who I am and when I look in the mirror I see someone I can be proud of smiling back at me. But I hate that my nieces are at an age where they will soon be walking right into those years.

rae and kenz.jpg{taken earlier this year in May}

My niece, Makenzie, and I have belted out the lyrics to this song together so many times. And I pray, oh I pray, it is sinking deep into her heart. That she never questions just how priceless she is. I don’t see my other nieces as frequently, but I pray that they, too, know how priceless they are.

mal2{taken in a sunflower field yesterday – you can see more of these shots here 🙂 }

And my Mallory. So young and sure of herself. Confident that everyone she meets thinks that she is the most special girl there ever was. Precious innocence. I pray that she remembers these feelings of being loved so deeply when the world throws lies at her later in life.

Mirror mirror, mirror on the wall
Tellin’ those lies, pointing out your flaws
That isn’t who you are
That isn’t who you are

It might be hard to hear, but let me tell you dear
If you could see what I can see, I know you would believe
That isn’t who you are
There’s more to who you are

So when it’s late, you’re wide awake
Too much to take
Don’t you dare forget that in the pain
You can be brave, hear me say:

I see you dressed in white
Every wrong made right
I see a rose in bloom
At the sight of you (oh so priceless)
Irreplaceable, unmistakable, incomparable
Darling, it’s beautiful
I see it all in you (oh so priceless)

Precious truth. Love this song!

Who do you think of when you hear a song like this?

Do you relate to the struggle I went through of not feeling good enough? Are you still there? Take the lyrics of this song to heart. You are priceless, my friend.

Love Rach

32 responses to “Priceless

  1. What beautiful photos, and such a lovely post. I will save this and listen to it later. I might have already heard it on the radio 🙂 I really hope R grows up knowing how priceless she is!

  2. Oh goodness, I remember those years in high school of not feeling enough. What a beautiful song!

  3. I have never heard this song but I love it!!!! The lyrics are amazing. I love a song that just makes you feel good. You are priceless too, friend!

  4. I love that you mentor girls! so important and impactful.

  5. I love this song!!!! I love the pictures of your niece and Mallory!

  6. Love the message. Oh those pre-teen and teenage years are hard. You are priceless!

  7. I love love love love loveeeeeeee this song so much! This is one that is constantly played on my Spotify playlist during the day and it’s such an incredible reminder!

  8. That song is so beautiful! Every time I hear it I’m reminded of my infinite worth in our savior Jesus Christ. It sends a beautiful message.

  9. I love this song, I truly wish every young girl could hear it. I wish everyone could hear it!! You bring such joy to your space on the Internet and thank you for the reminder.

  10. I love that song! It’s so beautiful 🙂

  11. what a beautiful song, i love the lyrics. i know we’ve talked about this before, i am so glad i am away from those years and am completely secure in myself now, and i’m glad i went through them and came out on top… but goodness, if i could stop every girl for the next 100 years from going through this, including my kids and my friends kids and a random girl down the street and a stranger on the internet.. i would. i wouldn’t wish it on anyone!

    • YES! Exactly! Christopher and I talked a lot about this over the weekend and we tried to figure out how much of it is a normal part of growth as kids get used to their new bodies (thank you puberty and growth spurts). Sure, there might be some awkwardness and figuring out who you are and who you want to be. And in some ways, it’s probably good for us to go through a little of that. To push ourselves harder and test our limits. To try our hardest. But no person should feel like they don’t measure up when their best doesn’t match the “best” that the world tells us we need to be achieving.

      I just don’t understand why the media has to pound into us that we aren’t enough as we are. Especially stuff targeted toward kids. I get that they want to sell their product, but selling it by telling me that I’m not enough without it isn’t healthy. We don’t watch much TV at home (if we do, then it’s via Hulu or Netflix so no commercials) so I’ve forgotten how terrible commercials can be until this Olympics. This weekend I saw a thing about the creases on your neck and how those are ugly and shouldn’t be there and you should buy this cream to fix them. My eyes bugged out of my head a little and I was just flabbergasted. I have lines on my neck and it has never occurred to me to be bothered by them until I saw this commercial. They still don’t bother me, but if I were insecure about myself – that commercial would’ve been just one more message to me telling me that another part of me isn’t good enough. Okay okay, I’ll get off my soapbox. I know we’ve talked about this plenty in the past so you know how I feel. It’s just fresh on my mind right now. I’m so with you on wishing there was a way to prevent young people from having to face all of this. Christopher keeps joking that we’re going to live on a compound with no TV/Internet/phones/etc and home school our kids so they won’t have to deal with it. At least I think he’s joking… 😉

  12. Such sweet sentiments and beautiful pictures!

  13. Aww I hadn’t heard this one yet and am so glad you wrote about it! I will have to stash it away for when my nieces are getting to be that age. I remember that inner battle from jr. high and highschool so clearly (and to be honest still struggle with it some now). Such great lyrics!

    • Oh friend, I hope you know how priceless you are! To me as a friend. As a mother to your boys. As a wife. And especially as a daughter of the King. If you ever need to talk about hard feelings, I’m here for you! I’ve been there before!

  14. I haven’t heard of this song before, but I love the lyrics! I think we have all struggled with not feeling good enough at some point in our lives.

  15. Love, love, love this Rach! Those lyrics are just beautiful.

    Also, the picture of Mallory is so sweet! She is growing up so fast!

  16. I absolutely love For King & Country. I wrote a type of testimony based on the song Priceless for five months. It is just such an inspiration, and its honestly why I created a blog in the first place. So I could tell people how priceless they are.

Leave a Reply

