Destin Favorites Video

Destin has become a bit of a home-away-from-home for us. Christopher grew up going there as a kid and we have now been there together six times. We’ve fallen into quite the groove of how this trip goes. Even getting there has its own traditions. Leaving Memphis after work, Chick Fil A for dinner, Starbucks Reserve Store for a coffee break, and then crashing at my parents’ house late at night (they live 2 hours from Destin so they are a great place to stay when we get in at midnight so we don’t have to mess with late night check ins). Anyway, I wanted to share ALL of our favorites with you guys, but that would be a very, very long blog post. So I decided instead that I was going to film it. Enjoy!


Note: When I say “the best” this or that, I mean in our opinions based on trying the top rated places so far. Clearly we haven’t tried every single place in Destin (though believe me – we’re working on it!). 🙂 

Was your favorite part of the video the high five on the beach? Because it’s one of mine! Seeing my expression makes me laugh every time I watch it! 😉

Have you been to Destin? Do we share any favorites? And of course I’m always open to recommendations for trying new places if you have any!
Love Rach

47 responses to “Destin Favorites Video

  1. I love everything about this! What a sweet video. You guys both look so relaxed and like you are really celebrating those 8 years of marriage. The sunset mushiness is my favorite. Such love!

    Oh and I’d love an order of those tacos right now!

    • Thanks, friend! It really was such a wonderful trip. We like to explore new places, but there’s something to be said for going back to the same place over and over again. We can always count on Destin being a wonderful trip. 🙂 I bet you’d love the tacos. They are SO good!

  2. Ha Ha! You two love your Starbucks 😉 And yeah, I am going to have to agree – your high five is pretty top notch! You two are so in love. It’s adorable !!

    • What’s really funny about it is that Christopher is a pretty big coffee snob. So Starbucks isn’t his favorite (not that they are bad, just not the BEST). We just don’t have a good local place close to us and Sbux is 2 minutes from our house so it has just become a habit for him. I, on the other hand, love Starbucks lots and lots. Most local places don’t carry sugar free mocha sauce (yes, chemicals I know. judge away, haha), but Starbucks does. Plus they also carry coconut milk and most local places around here only carry soy if they have a dairy free option at all. So I love Starbucks for consistently being able to make a drink I can drink and really like. Though this local coffee place we found in Destin was pretty awesome. They had sugar free mocha sauce and it made my day (three times, haha)! 🙂

      And thanks! That high five was pretty epic. 😉

  3. The matching shirts are soooo cute, hehe! Happy 8th anniversary! Our first is Monday 🙂

  4. “We’re at Chick Filet… People are staring and I’m not sure why.”
    “We made it to LA…” “Lower Alabama.”
    Ha, ha, ha!!!!

    And that beach scene! I didn’t get much sleep last night, and it’s ‘that time of month’… so I’m already a little mushy and emotional. Ha! But I got tears in my eyes from how sweet you two are together!
    I LOVED, loved, LOVED this vlog! Girl, this was hilarious and fun and sweet to watch. You need to do vlogs more often, I’m thinking. 😉 You’re a natural at putting these together!

    • Yay! I’m so glad you loved it! I love watching it over and over again, haha! We had a lot of fun with those Instagram stories clips. We need to do those more often for sure. Maybe this is why I’m not good at traditional sit-and-talk-to-the-camera-vlogging. I need Christopher there to help me! We should make more videos together for sure! 🙂

      • It was really great! The format was perfect! (How did you put the Instagram stories together like that? I didn’t realize that’s what you had done… I need to figure out how to do this. Ha, ha! I’m not sure I’d vlog that way all the time, but it would be convenient in some situations)!
        I’m going away on Monday for two nights, and I definitely hope to vlog our trip. It’s been awhile since I’ve done one… Gotta get back into hopping onto my blog more regularly. I miss it! 🙂

        • On your Instagram stories, it gives you an option to download them to your phone (though you have to do it before your story expires). So I just downloaded them to my phone as we made them and then transferred them to my laptop when we got home. Then I added the Instagram story clips to the video. Hopefully that makes sense. I can send you a screen shot if that helps!

          And hooray for a fun traveling video! I’m excited to see it! Have the BEST time on your trip!! 🙂

          • That does make sense! Thank you!! I didn’t realize the stories could be downloaded…
            And thank you! It’s my first time leaving Brady home with Nate overnight, so I’m a tad bit nervous. 😉 BUT I sooooo need this! My sister and I are going to a spa for two nights (her treat!), and I am just beyond excited. I’ll definitely come back rested and refreshed. 🙂 Life has been really busy lately, so it will be nice to let things slow down for a couple of days.

  5. Ha ha, I love your matching shirts 🙂

  6. Watching your video made me so happy! I love vacation videos! Which reminds me that I still need to make my vacation video from our Poland trip!
    Evelina @ Fortunate House

  7. Loved it! So sweet. It’s not a trip to Destin without going to McGuires! I love their bean soup, oddly enough!

  8. Such a sweet video and I love the matching shirts!

  9. I love that you call lower Alabama LA too because that is how we always refer to it. Like there is no question around here which LA you are referring to! Destin is the best and it sounds like you guys had a great time!

  10. Love this!! I love videos such as this. what a wonderful thing to have.

  11. Never been to Destin but it look like a fun town. Thanks for sharing.. especially in video form

  12. See, not only are you an amazing photographer. You’re an amazing videographer. How precious are your matching flowered shirts and the white framed sunglasses!! Jetty east looks awesome and I’m ready to pack my bags!! We love our Starbucks too and it’s a tradition on every Trip. You know I think you are both an inspiration and now I think you’re better than Trip Advisor. 😉

  13. This is such a cute video! You guys are adorable!!

  14. Rebekah Johnson

    I looooove love love the video! How fun. Dave and I just went to Colorado and I took videos to put something together so we will see how it turns out. And as always, I ❤ those white sand beaches of Destin and P'cola!

  15. I’ve never been to Destin but it looks gorrrrrgeous!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  16. So glad you had a great anniversary trip! Haha love the matching Hawaiian shirts. Also, I like the song choice! So perfect and you guys are adorable.

  17. oh i hope you guys had the best trip ever!! it looks like it was perfect!!! happy 8!!!

  18. what a fun video, you guys are too cute together!! heading down to 30a in a few weeks and can’t wait.

  19. So cute! I’ve been to Destin once and loved it!

  20. Okay, you could totally be a videographer! The best coffee and crepes in Destin look soo good!!!

    Also, I am jealous you’ve been to a Starbucks Reserve store! Do you like it? Do you get reserve coffee there?! And your matching shirts are the best, haha.

    • We DO love the Starbucks Reserve Store! Christopher usually tries one of their reserve coffees, but I always get my same drink. But I’ll be honest since my drink has so many adaptations (coconut milk instead of regular, sugar free syrup, and decaf), baristas at regular Starbucks stores don’t always do the best job of making it. Sometimes they don’t put in enough shots of the SF syrup or they don’t froth the coconut milk properly, but every now and then they don’t do a great job of making my drink. HOWEVER at the Reserve store, it is perfect every single time! From what I understand, they have much more training there. So yes, we love it! 🙂

      And thanks for the compliment! I had so much fun putting this video together!

  21. Pingback: The truth behind our “picture-perfect” beach photos |

  22. Ohh woooowww!! Loved the video 🙂 The slow-mo five 😀 Hahaha, good one Rach 😉 Love the matching shirts too and those tacos, yummm 🙂 Destin is surely going to be on our list next time we hit Florida. And you are so lucky to have your family in all amazing places I must tell you 😀
    Now, I feel we should have taken more videos during our roadtrips and hot air ballooning especially 😀 We always get torn between photos and videos and choose photos in the end 😛

    • It IS hard to choose between video and photos when traveling! We try to do both, but like you guys – if we have to choose between them then we’ll go with photos. So I totally get that. And yes, definitely visit Destin the next time you’re in Florida! I hope you love it as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

