Favorites: The Routine Things

You know how sometimes there are things that are just so a part of your normal routine that you don’t even realize how much you love them? Today’s post is all about me sharing some of my favorite routine things. πŸ™‚

morning quiet time.jpg

Mornings kick off with my Bible, prayer journal, She Reads Truth devo, and a reading from Common Prayer (also daily online here). If you are looking for a good daily devotional – I reallyΒ recommend She Reads Truth. And my husband really likes the He Reads Truth daily emails as well. We’ve been doing their devos for nearly a year now and while some have interested us more than others, we have definitely been blessed by the ministry as a whole. Also, I’ve been digging this smoothie again lately.

the skimm

After quiet time, I take a few minutes to check in on the news. I’ve used several different news sources over the years and theSkimmΒ has been one of my favorites (thank you, Amy for recommending it!). It’s short and to the point and has underlying humor to it. {official disclaimer: if you use the link above to sign up, I get referral points which I think eventually lead to swag, but you guys know that I never recommend anything that I don’t actually use and love myself}

beautyblender.jpg{source}

I only wear make up once or twice a week, but I’ve found the most magic thing that makes me actually enjoy wearing makeup! The BeautyBlender! Okay yes, I know. Everyone else already knows about this, but until Elle from ElleSees really convinced me of how magical the BeautyBlender was, there was no way I was shelling out that much $$ for a make up sponge. And to be honest – I still didn’t at first. I put it on my Christmas wish list, ha! But I was given one and LOVED it. It has cut my make up application time in half because it blends so beautifully and easily. I’ve even bought a replacement one for myself since then which shows how much I love the BB since I spent my own moneyΒ on it. πŸ™‚ I’ve used both the pink one and the black one and like them both! Further Helpful Reading on BeautyBlenders: Why you should give the BBΒ a chance, How to use the BB, andΒ How to clean your BB.

gym selfie

This isn’t actually my gym (this photo was taken from a hotel we stayed in earlier this year), but I don’t have any photos of me at my actual gym so this will have to do. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, time at the gym is another every-day favorite. I typically find myself at the gym for about an hour and a half every day, but it’s not a very intense hour and a half. I walk on a treadmill (with my face in a book) just fast enough to get my heart rate up, I lift light weights to tone & strengthen, and I do simple 10 minute ab workouts. My goal is to maintain my current weight and to keep my muscles (including my heart) strong and toned. So far, so good. πŸ˜‰ If you have questions about my work out routine please let me know! I love to talk fitness!

fitbit on the beach.jpg{Rockin’ my FitBit on the beach last week. And if you look closely you can see Christopher’s clip-on FitBit on his pocket as well.}

My final daily favorite for this post:Β I love my FitBit. It’s a whole post for another time, but suffice it to say: I have loved having it this year. Competing with my family has been a lot of fun!Β So, if you have a FitBit and want to compete – I’m in! Let me know and I’ll add you. Unless of course you are going to kick my tooshy on the first challenge we do by running 10 miles and mowing the lawn all on a SUNDAY. Not naming any names coughKRISTENcough. Oh oops, it just slipped out. πŸ˜‰ Just kidding, it was actually really greatΒ inspiration for me! πŸ™‚

Do we share any favorites?Β 

Tell me about a favorite of yours!Β 

Love Rach

52 responses to “Favorites: The Routine Things

  1. My morning routines are definitely the most important for me! If I don’t have some downtime in the morning, it throws off my day. So worth getting up a little earlier to make sure I have some time to relax.

  2. Oh please share more about your weight lifting – I am always looking for new exercises and different things to do!

  3. These routines are great! They are both beneficial and calming.

  4. Love your daily routines! I am obsessed with my FitBit too-such a great motivation tool!

  5. I hit up the Skimm every morning as well! And while I am not a member of a gym, I workout at home every morning during the week. Right now it is walking on our treadmill or doing youtube work outs and strength training with free weights. I used to be all about the beauty blender until I got tired of having to replace it for $20 and decided to give the Real Techniques a try. I kid you not, I notice no difference and it is only $5.99 at Walmart. I feel way less guilty throwing it out when it starts getting gross or falling apart. I use mine nearly every day though.

    • Yay for a Skimm lover! πŸ™‚

      And girl, go you for all the work outs at home! You are kicking butt! I used to work out at home more, but it was so easy for me to get distracted that I decided it was better for me to go to the gym, haha!

      That’s awesome about the Real Techniques one! I’ve heard great things about it too. I’m thinking I may have to at least give it a try. I mean, for that kind of savings, it’s worth testing!

  6. I am also a big fan of the Beauty Blender. I hate shelling out the money, but I’ve tried regular sponges and they are just not as good. I have not tried the FitBit yet, but I’m not good at staying on top of things like that. I can already see me using it for a while and then putting it to the side, even though I know people use them all the time. I like to live ignorantly of how lazy I am sometimes x).

    • Haha! I think it’s easy to hop on the FitBit train for a little while and then hop right back off after a bit. Being able to do the challenges via the FitBit app have made it so much fun for me, though! I’ve had pedometers in the past and never wore them more than a few months at a time, but this one I’ve had on since last Christmas when I got it. It doesn’t hurt that my sisters, mom, and husband all have them and we complete together every week. It’s lots of fun! πŸ™‚

  7. Okay, I am probably the only one who has not yet tried a bb sponge… I have just got to take the plunge and try it. but first, I’m going to try out that smoothie πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing! xX

  8. This is such a great post idea. I love reading what other women make a part of their routine. I totally had no faith in the beauty blender until I tried it either. Now I love it!

  9. Your workout sounds similar to mine, except I do it from home (or in neighborhood for running) I also have a 10 minute ab routine! I hate/love it haha.
    Fitbit is on my Christmas wishlist!

  10. I love She Reads Truth and didn’t even know they had one for guys. I’ll have to let my husband know! I also love the First5 App! Also, I’ve never heard of the Beauty Blender! I’m intrigued now. Thanks for sharing your favorites! You have some good (and healthy) routines going girlfriend!

    • I hope Drew likes it as much as Christopher does! It’s nice to be studying the same scriptures, but from different perspectives (the devos are over the same verses, but totally different). Sometimes even the main point is different. But cool to be studying the same thing. πŸ™‚ I haven’t heard of First5… I’m checking that out now! πŸ™‚

      Oh girl, the BeautyBlender can be addicting if you try it. In the past I have avoided wearing makeup just simply because of the time it takes to apply (if I’m going to wear it, I want it to look flawless and perfectly blended). The BB cuts that time in HALF. It’s incredible, really! All the links I linked to in this post are super helpful in deciding if it might be right for you as well. πŸ™‚

  11. I love all of this!! It’s so fun to think that we’re both reading The Skimm each morning. I have one of those BB’s and haven’t really gotten into using it… I’ll have to try it on you recommendation. I also have been horrible about wearing my Fitbit. Gonna try to get better about that too!

    • Maybe check out some of the links here about using the BB? I know they helped me a lot with learning how to use it best. In the past I have avoided wearing makeup just simply because of the time it takes to apply (if I’m going to wear it, I want it to look flawless and perfectly blended). The BB cuts that time in HALF. For me, it has been incredible!

      Yay for wearing your FitBit more! I’m going to “challenge” you to a weekend warrior challenge! I kill it during the workweek because I go to the gym every day, but house work & socializing with friends on the weekend doesn’t translate into a lot of steps. I need inspiration to move!

  12. It would be lovely if you let us know your gym routine!
    I’m also in love with the beauty blender, big hugs!

  13. THis is so inspiring! I love the post:)

    irenethayer.com

  14. I start my day with She Reads Truth and theSkimm, too πŸ™‚

  15. I love my Fitbit, but damn does it always seem super noticeable in every single picture

  16. I love starting my morning with some Jesus time too πŸ™‚ I have a devotional book called “Jesus Calling” and I love it. ❀

  17. i love my fitbit too – way more than i ever thought i would! you should definitely challenge me for a weekend thingy again because i’m running a lot this weekend hahaha.
    love the skimm! i don’t have a beauty blender but i have the real techniques sponge.. to be honest, i don’t use t a lot because i don’t wear a lot of makeup, and when i do, i blend with my fingers.
    i wish i could read on the treadmill! even walking at a snails pace, my eyes can’t focus lol. so i do the audiobook instead, which is still reading right? πŸ˜‰

    • So I just checked my Spam folder on my blog and I had a couple of comments from you in there. So I wasn’t ignoring you when you suggested we compete again via FitBit over the weekend – I just never saw that comment! We will definitely compete this coming weekend! I’m adding you to a challenge right now! πŸ™‚

  18. hahaha oh and i will be mowing the lawn this weekend too πŸ˜‰

  19. I love your routine and that it includes Jesus!!! 😊 I love you Added me your fitbit friends, you inspire me girl! I hope you have a wonderful weekend sweetheart

  20. Rach! I love this post! It’s so fun to think about the daily, routine things we do/ use and love! I LOVE my Fitbit too! I wear it everyday and it is definitely a great motivator to help me move more! Also, I love She Reads Truth! I follow them on Insta and now I want to get their devo books! Hope that you have a great rest of your weekend love!
    xoxo Cailee!

  21. I don’t have a fitbit but I have a similar Striiv version and I love it! Especially because Jesse and I are always competing to have the most steps, haha! I always win – unless we’re together as we’ve found I take one step for his two thanks to my crazy long legs πŸ˜›

  22. I’ve been meaning to read one of your posts and comment forever, and I’m so glad I did! I love the fact that we have very similar favorites, like reading the Bible and a devotional every morning along with the gym! I’ve considered getting a fitbit, but I just can’t get myself to pay the money! Maybe I’ll have to pull a you and ask for it for Christmas… πŸ˜‰

    • Yay! I’m glad you did as well! Sounds like we have a lot in common! πŸ™‚ I totally understand not wanting to pay the money for a FitBit. I remember someone talking to me last fall about how much they loved their FitBit and I was like “oh uh huh… yeah… sure…” while inwardly thinking that they were a waste of money when you can get other pedometers for so much cheaper. But then my regular pedometer broke right before Christmas and Christopher told me he would look for one to replace it. Well, he found me a FitBit one on a super sale on Ebay (check there if you decide to get one! They are half the regular cost on there sometimes!) and I knew I’d like it because I like having a pedometer, but I had no idea how much I would love it! Probably my two favorite things about it are that I love that it connects to MyFitnessPal and I love that I can do competitions with my other FitBit friends. But the FitBit app also tracks a bunch of other stuff that I like to keep up with as well (it’s helped me drink more water too). Really, I should be working in sales for FitBit because I love their product so much, ha!

  23. I’ve been wanting to get a FitBit, so I definitely hope you do a post on it! πŸ™‚
    I’ll have to check out that devotional…
    I’ve been enjoying The Skimm.
    And I received a beauty blender, but I haven’t tried it yet. I’m excited to try it though. I’ve heard good things!

    • So originally I thought FitBits were a waste of money when you can get other pedometers for so much cheaper. But then my regular pedometer broke right before Christmas and Christopher told me he would look for one to replace it. Well, he found me a FitBit one on a super sale on Ebay (check there if you decide to get one! They are half the regular cost sometimes!) and I knew I’d like it because I like having a pedometer, but I had no idea how much I would love it! Probably my two favorite things about it are that I love that it connects to MyFitnessPal and I love that I can do competitions with my other FitBit friends. But the FitBit app also tracks a bunch of other stuff that I like to keep up with as well (it’s helped me drink more water too). Really, I should be working in sales for FitBit because I love their product so much, ha!

      Ooh I hope you like the BeautyBlender! The only thing I don’t love about it is that it can be a beast to clean. But for me that’s worth it for the flawless makeup application that happens SO QUICKLY!

  24. An hour and a half at the gym every day? Oh wow! Now that I’ve been cleared by the doctor to start exercising again after baby, I’m trying to make it a normal part of my routine, but it’s hard. I’m finding that my about muscles are too weak to even do a sit-up (and of course, is also hard finding time during the day and motivation to TRY to do crunches or sit-ups). I can’t imagine an hour and a half at the gym!

    • Well keep in mind that 65 minutes of that is spent walking on a treadmill while reading so it’s not like a high intensity work out or anything. πŸ˜‰ Best of luck to you as you start rebuilding your strength again! Pregnancy, labor, delivery, and recovery are all so hard on a woman’s body. Go for you for getting back to it! πŸ™‚

  25. Rebekah Johnson

    I love SRT! It’s such a good community and the devotionals are great.

    I have never heard of theSkimm but will have to check them out. I want to hear more neutral news or news with Christian perspective because let’s be real, Fox news and CNN ain’t cuttin’ it for me.

    My Mom has a Fitbit that she is going to give to me because she doesn’t want to be hooked up to the internet like that πŸ˜‰ So, I need to get going on that and see how it all works.

    • I’ll be honest, theSkimm definitely isn’t a Christian slant. It’s pretty neutral as far as left/right wing goes (at least it seems to be to me), but it isn’t a Christian slant for sure.

      Ah! Hooray for a FitBit! When you have it all set up, add me as a friend! We can compete! πŸ™‚

  26. I love reading favorites! It usually sparks inspiration in me to check out those things (I am going to look into She Reads Truth!) and makes me think about my favorites… I think a blog post is in order… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

