Cinque Terre, Italy

Ah, the Cinque Terre, such a beautiful place! Five beautiful little towns all along Italy’s northwest coast. Watching today’s video back over again evokes so many sweet memories. Both from this visit and our previous one. But I’ll let the video do the talking. 🙂

Time Spent in the Cinque Terre: 2.5 days

Where we stayed: 

Apartment with Balcony on the Sea
Attico con Terrazza Sul Mare – 5 Stars!!

We stayed in two different places because by the time we booked a place (2 months before we left) it was difficult to find an affordable place available for our dates with a sea view. We used AirBnB and stayed with the same host (Paolo) in two different rooms. Since he didn’t have a room available for both of our nights he gave us quite a break on price plus he stored our luggage for us in between the rooms. Both were great, but the view from the second room was especially awesome!

Where we ate: 

Il Massimo della Focaccia (favorite focaccia)
Taverna Del Capitano (favorite seafood pasta)
Enoteca Dau Cila
Il Grottino
Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre
Il Pescato Cucinato (fried fish cone)
Mamma Mia (snacks)
Pancifico Rosi (focaccia)
Alberto’s Gelato

What we saw/did:

Explored all 5 towns with the Rick Steves’ town walks
Levanto Beach (just outside the Cinque Terre)
Monterosso Al Mare Beach
Manarola Vineyard Hike (courtesy of Rick Steves)
Vernazza Castle

It had rained a lot before we arrived in the Cinque Terre so the trails were all closed during our time there. A bummer because we loved hiking last time we were here, but we did at least get to do the Manarola Vineyard Hike which was fun!

Total Steps: 52,970

Miles Walked: 23.5

Floors Climbed: 246

Overall thoughts: Oh the Cinque Terre, how we love you! We visited three years ago (blog posts: Beach Day & Hiking) and fell in love with everything about the Cinque Terre. This visit was a little different at first. For one thing, it rained for one afternoon while we were there and had been raining for days before we arrived. Which meant no big hikes this time. We got to do one small hike so that was still fun!

The other major difference was the crowds. There were lots of people here when we visited 3 years ago (especially on the beach), but it was nothing to the hordes of people this time around. The tour groups were unreal. From 10am-5pm it was literally shoulder-to-shoulder shuffling through the main parts of the towns (especially Vernazza which was such a shame because that was my favorite town last time and this time it was awful to walk through). These towns just aren’t equipped for groups like that. Our AirBnB host talked with us about how it’s so sad that these groups come in like this because they aren’t truly getting the Cinque Terre experience. If you are considering visiting the Cinque Terre – I highly recommend doing so on your own instead of with a tour group. The locals will appreciate it!

All in all, we still love the Cinque Terre. It’s still just as gorgeous as it was before and with good weather I think we could spend most of our day-time hiking and avoiding the worst of daytime crowds.

cinque-terre

If you’ve been to the Cinque Terre tell me what you loved about it! 

Have you ever returned to a favorite vacation spot and been surprised by changes?
Love Rach

31 responses to “Cinque Terre, Italy

  1. Too bad there were so many crowds! Jordan would hate walking in crowds like that. But what a fun video! What is Christopher eating? That little octopus-looking thing? This is making me want to go to Europe soooo bad.

    • Oh my goodness, I am with him on not liking walking through crowds like that. I don’t mind too much if I’m in a place where I’m expecting crowds (like NYC), but if I’m in a place where I’m thinking it will be relaxing (like the beach), then crowds are definitely not my thing. The Cinque Terre was a little busy last time we were here, but this was just a completely different level of crazy busy so I wasn’t expecting it at all.

      The octopus-looking-thing is fried squid! We got this big cone full of mixed fried seafood and it was so delicious! I tried most of it (including fish that had eyes staring at me), but I couldn’t bring myself to eat the squid tentacles, haha!

  2. Ahhhh so pretty!! That is awesome that you got a deal since the rooms weren’t available. I hate crowds so I totally get what you are saying.

  3. Ahhhhhhh! Cinque Terre is on my bucket list and I think it’s just moved up ten spots ;P

    I love your face before you’re about to dive into that delicious looking pasta because I would be doing the same thing, haha!

    • Yay!! I mean, I’m biased because I love it so much, but I really think it should be on everyone’s must-see list! So glad it’s on yours! 🙂

      Girl, I just made our Rome video for Monday and my face when I’m eating pasta in that one made me laugh out loud! This girl loves her pasta. 😉

  4. That is one place in Italy we have never been but I just showed my husband your video and he’s so in for a future trip. So it is Saturday morning and I’m catching up on blogs and I watch your video and get teary eyed at how sweet the two of you are. You are so good at videos and setting the tone with sweet music! My favorite part of the video was you looking out at the sea and then smiling at your Mr…..just precious!! One of my favorite parts about Italy…the Food, especially the focaccia! Another fabulous recap beautiful!!

    • Yay! I’m so glad you love the video! Rewatching this one gets me a little teary-eyed (it’s that stinkin’ romantic music with all those beautiful views, haha!). The Cinque Terre holds such a special place in our hearts. I hope you get to go and have a WONDERFUL visit! It’s such a gorgeous place!

      And YES! That focaccia bread… all heart eyes over here! 🙂

  5. Crowds are no fun, but it sounds like the trip was worth it 🙂

  6. mmmhhh … next time go to visit this … Heart of the Cinque Terre. I’ve lived in Italy now for a year and a half and this is my favourite place. Stay here, seriously, it fulfils every romantic, quirky, peaceful yet personable preconception you have of Italy.

  7. beautiful

  8. The music in this video made it so much more!! I loveee.

  9. Gorgeous!!! I so want to go there someday. Is there an off season?? I would really not like the crowds…

  10. Adding this to my list!! How do y’all pack the camera(s)? I’ve never traveled with mine before! Love how there are shots of y’all just absorbing the moment/places. So many times people want to cram in all the sights, but taking a moment to actually really see what’s right in front of you is amazing!

    • Because we dont’ bring a whole camera bag we only bring one DSLR camera and only one lens for it attached already (on this trip we brought a 50mm 1.8/f). We also bring a little point & shoot camera (Nikon S8100) that has served us well and is perfect for beach days (if we are planning to swim, I usually leave the DSLR in the room because I don’t want to leave it unattended on the beach). And honestly, cellphones these days take awesome pictures and video as well. Christopher has the new Galaxy S7 and a lot of the video clips in these videos are from that! Anyway, the DSLR goes into a protective sleeve cover (I have this one, but when I searched for it just now, I also saw this other one and it looks even better so I might be purchasing it in the future). And then my camera is either worn crossbody if I know I’ll be using it a lot (which is pretty much always, haha) or it goes into the grey bag I’m sure you’ve seen in a lot of our video footage (it’s a Travelon anti-theft bag). Hopefully that helps! 🙂

      And yes! We pack a lot into our short visits, but we do try to really savor the moment. A good reminder for us is when we see people walking up to a gorgeous location, taking a 8 selfies, and then walking away without ever looking at the view through their own eyes. We saw a lot of that on this trip and it was a good reminder to us to really take time to take it all in. I love that we have photos and video, but I want to have my own memories as well, you know?

  11. I’m dying to go to cinque terre. what an amazing trip y’all had. I need to come back and read all your recaps when I have more time to soak it all in. jealous!!

    • Oh girl, the Cinque Terre is just so beautiful! I hope you get to go someday!

      And there are lots more travel posts coming your way! Today our visit to Athens will be on the blog and later this week I’ll share about Mykonos! I think I’ll finally finish up sharing travel posts next week. 🙂

  12. Totally agree with you on the hordes of tourists that take over the area! I was so pumped to visit here, but it ended up being one of my least favorite (still great, but just not one of my favorites) out of all our overseas travels. It was so beautiful in the early mornings and evenings after all the day-trippers left!

    • That makes me so sad to hear! I mean, I totally get it because we had mixed feelings about this visit because of all the crowds, but our last visit was so magical! It’s such a bummer that the hordes of day-trippers are ruining the Cinque Terre for the locals and other visitors. I’m glad you got to enjoy a little bit of the CT before and after the day-trippers, but I totally get what you mean.

  13. Sometimes it’s hard for me to believe that places as beautiful as Cinque Terre exist! It’s literally picture perfect there! Also, I am jealous of the delicious focaccia you got to enjoy!!

  14. Crowds! Sounds like Asia and that is stressful. At least there weren’t crowds on your balcony =).

    That place is truly beautiful! I’m glad you got to go.

  15. oh man, that sucks about the crowds. i haven’t been here but would love to add it to the dream italy itinerary (one day haha) but man.. i can’t stand lots of people lol.

  16. Pingback: Europe 2016 (plus future plans) |

Leave a Reply

