Athens, Greece

Todayย I hope you are prepared for what Christopher calls “The Most Epic Ponytail Ever”. When we decided to try and take more video on this trip than we did last time, I knew that would mean there would be times when Christopher would take candid video of me. What I didn’t realize was how random some of that video footage would be. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But it makes me laugh how throwing my hair up in a ponytail suddenly becomes “epic” when you are at an awesome location, it’s super windy, your husband starts panning around you, and you add music. Bada-bing, bada-boom. The most epic ponytail. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Time Spent in Athens:ย 22 hours

Where we stayed: Adonis Hotelย 

Where we ate:

Bairaktaris
Geros Tou Moriaย (one of the highlights of Athens for us!)

What we saw/did:

Acropolis Hill / Parthenon
Acropolis Museum
National Archaeological Museum
Areopagus / Mars Hill
Ancient Agora

Total Steps:ย 25,092

Miles Walked:ย 11

Floors Climbed:ย 73

Overall thoughts: My overall thoughts on Athens are mixed. The touristy areas close to Acropolis Hill are awesome. Clean, well-lit, and fun. The rest of Athens that we saw was covered in graffiti and had some pretty intense smells. It was also the least friendly city we visited on this trip as far as interactions with the locals went. This really surprised me because I had this idea that Greece would be very open and friendly like Italy. I kind of wonder if it has to do with everything the country is going through economically right now. This is a big part of why we loved our dinner experience at Geros Tou Moria so much – Stefanos made us feel like friends! A refreshing change from our other interactions with the locals.

Visiting the historical parts of Athens was awesome, but I’m glad we were only there one day. I think twoย would be the most I would have wanted to spend there (just to have a little more time to enjoy the food and dedicate more time at each museum). Not that I dislike Athens by any means (I know it sounds like I do, but I really don’t!). It’s just that there are other places in Europe where I’d rather spend my time. I’m SO glad that we went to Athens. I’ve wanted to visit Acropolis Hill since I was in college. It was an awesome experience!ย All in all, I’m glad we went for a day to see the highlights. ๐Ÿ™‚

22-hours-in-athens

If you’ve been to the Athensย tell me what you loved about it!ย 

Have you visited a new place and been surprised to find it different than you expected? Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and My Big Fat Greek Wedding ruined me… I think deep down I thought everyone would be dancing and laughing and crying “Opa!” all the time, ha!

Love Rach

29 responses to “Athens, Greece

  1. Hahaha I love the smile you make when you catch him filming your ponytail. That is epic! You are seriously giving me the itch to travel with all of these videos!

  2. Haha that WAS the most epic ponytail! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love reading your take on each of these places. Probably because of those two movies, I would have expected the same as you did about Athens. The footage you got is amazing… so beautiful!

    • So glad you enjoyed that epic ponytail clip. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad you are enjoying these posts! It has been so much fun to make these videos and to write out my thoughts on each place. It’s like getting to relive the experience all over again! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Haha, that ponytail clip is the best – especially your reaction as you realise he’s filming! I swear Jesse and Christopher must have been cut from the same cloth because I have so many clips of Jesse filming me do silly things like brushing or styling my hair and I’m like “EUGH MY NOSE/FACIAL EXPRESSION ETC” but he thinks the more natural moments are the best.

    Greece looks AMAZING and I am still loving these videos so much!

    • Ha! Yes! Two peas in a pod, those two! It’s sweet in a way how they find beauty in the mundane, though, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yay! I’m so glad you are liking the videos! I know not everyone is into travel and I’m sure some people are past ready for me to stop blogging about this trip, but I just love it all too much to skimp on the good parts! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve never been to Athens but I am absolutely in LOVE with the Greek islands. Athens is probably one of those must-see places but yeah, there are MANY other great places to visit.

  5. Ahhhh, every time I come to your blog you’ve visited another place on my bucket list! LOVE! Athens is such an amazing city!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

    • Yay for adding to the bucket list! Every time we travel to new places and mark stuff off our “must-see” list I end up coming home and adding five more places, haha! There’s definitely something amazing about travel! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Ha ha, the ponytail is epic! Love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. We went to Athens and Santorini and loooooooved them both. Seriously one of my top two favorite trips (Peru being the other one!)! It sounds like maybe you should have done some of the Greek Islands…much more Sisterhood and Mama Mia-ish:D

    • I’m so glad to hear that you had an awesome experience in Athens and Santorini! We visited a couple of the islands (Mykonos and Santorini) and while the locals were a little more friendly on the islands than they were in Athens, it still wasn’t the exuberant friendliness we’ve come to expect from other places in Europe. I’m guessing it’s a mix of the economic situation they are facing and the fact that we went at the end of tourist season and I’m sure they were a little tired of tourists at this point, haha! And truly, we did enjoy our visit in both Athens and the islands, but it was just not as incredible as the other places we visited in Europe this trip. It kind of reminds me of how you described your experience in the Cinque Terre on the other post. Something very cool that you enjoyed, but just not your favorite, you know?

  8. What a shame that the people weren’t very friendly. I bet you’re right that it may be in part because of the stressed economy.

    But – beautiful city and video and the history!! Amazing that you have set foot there.

    • It was quite a surprise to us about the lack of general friendliness, but also understandable. Our church supports a church in Athens and 80% of their members are unemployed right now which seems to be pretty common there. I can’t imagine what things would look like here if 80% of Memphis were unemployed. I imagine we wouldn’t be super peppy when visitors come to Memphis. But yes, definitely different than expected.

  9. I’m glad to see this video and hear your thoughts on Athens! I’ve never been there before. I giggled at the epic ponytail moment!

  10. What a beautiful country! I totally agree with Christopher, that is the most epic ponytail ever, haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. I like the pony tail =) That’s kind of fun video footage. What lens do you use to film or do you switch it out?

    I’m glad you liked Athens but I get what you mean when a place lets you down. We went to Taiwan once for vacation and it was horrid. I see other people post about the same locations and my experience was just not the same. =)

    • For overseas trips I don’t take my camera bag so it’s just 1 DSLR camera and only 1 lens. For this trip I brought my Nikon D750 and my 50mm 1.8/f prime lens. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve heard great things about Taiwan so it’s interesting to hear your take on it as well. Definitely interesting how different people can have such different experiences in the same place!

  12. definitely an epic ponytail! love the videos, seriously, such a fun idea for vacation memories. i take lots of photos, never tried video. of course, i just take my phone or at most my point and shoot, so probably wouldn’t be the same.

  13. Hahaha, yes, definitely the most epic ponytail ever!!

    I am the same as you with how I would think Athens would be after watching Sisterhood of Traveling Pants and My Big Fat Greek Wedding!

  14. Pingback: Europe 2016 (plus future plans) |

Leave a Reply

