Paris, France

This may sound strange because it’s such an iconic city, but Paris has never been super high on our list of places we wanted to visit. However, due to using airline miles to pay for our plane tickets, we were limited on places we could fly in and out of on the dates that we wanted. So Paris was the city that lined up best with the departure date we wanted. We figured we might as well see the city while we were there. And oh my, am I glad we did! We loved visiting Paris!

Time Spent in Paris: 23 hours

Where we stayed: Hotel Jean Bart

Where we ate: 

Le Royal
Pomme de Pain

What we saw/did:

Eiffel Tower
Louvre Museum (best museum of our trip!)
Notre Dame Cathedral
Sainte Chapelle
Luxembourg Gardens

Total Steps: 26,773

Miles Walked: 12

Floors Climbed: 19

Overall thoughts: Paris was such a fun city! I liked so many things about it, but the Eiffel Tower (iconic, much?) and Louvre were my favorites. I absolutely loved the Winged Victory at the Louvre. I’m pretty sure I need a full-scale replica of that somewhere at my house. 😉

I discovered on this trip that I love croissants. I’ve always thought that I didn’t like them, but I guess I’ve just never had a really good one before. I had some incredible ones both in Greece and in Paris! And speaking of food, I have a story I need to share…

At dinner in Paris I ordered the vegetable soup. The server informed me that they were out of vegetable soup, but that the onion soup was very good. I was a little unsure because I was envisioning a vegetable soup, but with only onions and no other veggies. But it was inexpensive so I thought I’d try it as a starter. When I was served the soup, I exclaimed, “Oh! It’s FRENCH onion soup! I didn’t realize that’s what it was!” Christopher found this absolutely hilarious. We have both laughed about it many times since then. I’m not sure why I didn’t realize it, but obviously we were in France… so all onion soup is French onion soup. 😉 The clip of me at the end of the video is from when Christopher was asking me to tell him all about my “onion soup” which is why I’m laughing so much. 🙂

I’m so glad we got to spend the day in Paris. It was a fabulous end to our European vacation! 🙂

23-hours-in-paris

If you’ve been to Paris tell me what you loved about it! 

Have you ever had an experience with ordering food and not realizing what it was until it arrived?

Love Rach

45 responses to “Paris, France

  1. That french onion soup story is hilarious. I wouldn’t have realized it either. Oh man the croissants in Paris were so good. There is a french bakery on Cape Cod that makes croissants that taste just like the ones in Paris. It’s a little be of heaven.

  2. Ahh…Sainte Chapelle–we loved the stainled glass. And the Louvre–we could have spent a whole day there instead of an afternoon.

    • We weren’t initially planning to go to Sainte Chapelle until I saw your pictures of it in your Paris photobook (I saw them when we stayed at your house in August). Your description of the place and the pictures made us want to go! I’m so glad we did. 🙂

  3. Hahaha I had to laugh at the french onion soup because it is sort of like when you are talking to someone who is Indian about Indian food and they are like…yeah that is just regular food to me! Glad you had such a great time in Paris!

    • YES! Exactly! When we lived in China and would come back to the States to visit, people would always ask us if we ate a lot of “Chinese food” while we were there. And we were like “yes… we did… we just called it ‘food’ though” ha!

  4. hahahahahaha ‘Oh! It’s FRENCH onion soup!’ hahaha this is hilarious. i am glad you went and loved it 🙂 KC and I both loved all the pastries and seriously could have eaten those for every meal. croissants have always been a fave of mine but they were 100 times better in paris!

    • ​It was such a facepalm moment, ha! But it was too funny not to share. 😉

      Oh man, I still haven’t tried a croissant since we got back to the States. I’m really afraid to be super disappointed. I need to find a French bakery! ​

      By the way, thanks for all your Paris recommendations before our trip. They were super helpful! 🙂

  5. I loved Paris (and France in general. It helped that I am fluent in French and love being able to use it!) I could have spent days at the Louvre (and I’m not a huge museum person). I love the croissants and all the pastries!

    • That’s awesome that you are fluent in French! I bet that really makes France come to life for you! The Louvre really was so incredible. I thought that we would be so over museums by the very end of our trip and I think if it had been a different museum, we might have been. But the Louvre was so incredible that it definitely kept our attention. I could’ve spent so much time there!

  6. Funny you say that, Paris has never been high on my list either. I definitely wouldn’t turn it down though!

  7. Your travels look like so much fun! Yes to croissants 🙂

  8. LOVE the French onion soup story and your sweet laughter over it!! It is those sweet lil stories that make a trip even more memorable!! I want to experience Paris someday and have a croissant at an outdoor cafe!!

  9. The Eiffel Tower is amazing right?! Love that you guys got to swing through Paris!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  10. love the louvre! and yes, croissants + camembert + jam = best breakfast ever!

  11. I really have no desire to visit Paris, London, NYC, or any of the major tourism spots. I prefer seeing smaller cities and towns; you find some interesting unexpected stuff in them. It sounds like you had a great time in Paris, though. I would gladly visit those places if I ever happen to be in the area anyway; I just don’t have a dream of making special trips to them.

    • Some of my favorite memories have been in small, out-of-the-way places so I totally understand that. Though I do really love the big cities as well! Paris wasn’t initially on my “must-see” list, but after visiting it I understand why so many people love it. It’s such a cool place! 🙂

  12. I had no desire to visit Paris because everyone I knew who had gone didn’t like it…but I LOVED it and loved it every time since.

    • Isn’t that crazy how different people can have such different reactions to the same place?! We know several people who didn’t like Rome at all and it’s one of our favorite places! I’m glad you gave Paris a chance and got to go and love it! 🙂

  13. French onion soup! That is too funny. Kind of like Chinese food. Like, in China it’s just food, right? And Belgium waffles? Just waffles. lol! That is hilarious.

  14. I love when an unplanned place turns out to be an incredible adventure! It looks like Paris was definitely the right place to visit! How gorgeous is the Notre Dame Cathedral?!

  15. Paris has never been first on my list of places I really want to go either, but I have to say I definitely wouldn’t turn down the opportunity if it came up. Your video-making talent is really shining through in these. You did such a wonderful job editing the clips together. I would love to see the Eiffel Tower someday… it looks stunning! So glad you were able to explore Paris.

  16. So fun! I’ve always loved croissants but one made well is to. die. for! French onion soup is so good and if you want a good recipe the Pioneer Woman has a great one. I’ve made it many times.

    I’m glad you liked Paris! It’s fun to travel somewhere and end up liking it much more than you thought you would.

    • Yes! I was so surprised to find that I liked Paris so much. It just seemed so cliche so I think I was nearly set against liking it, ha! But it won me over. Such a cool place. And the Louvre was just incredible!

      I have that recipe tucked away on my must-make list! I really should try it. I love French Onion Soup, but never think to make it at home.

  17. I’m so glad you loved Paris! I did too:D My faaaaaavorite was watching the light show at the Eiffel Tower….I may have had tears in my eyes. It was just too beautiful!

    • I totally understand that! I was that way (tears in the eyes) with so many things in Rome the first time we visited there. It’s just incredible to see things in person that you’ve only seen photos of your whole life! And Paris was really so cool. I’m so glad we got to go! 🙂

  18. I love your French Onion Soup story! So funny! 😛

  19. Pingback: Europe 2016 (plus future plans) |

  20. My sister-in-law went to Paris a few years ago for a school trip and said she would go back in a heartbeat! She did say the bathrooms were totally different that American ones? Did you find that to be true?

    LOL at your French onion soup story! That is hilarious! I’m so glad you were able to visit and enjoy Paris 🙂

    • Oooh, I wonder what she meant by the bathrooms being different. Nothing stood out to me as different than any of the other bathrooms in the rest of Europe (they tend to be smaller than bathrooms in the US, but that’s about it). But you know, we didn’t spend a ton of time in Paris so that could be part of it! Do you know what she meant about them being different?

      Glad you enjoyed the FRENCH onion soup story, ha!

Leave a Reply

