Because we’re terrible at taking selfies

Christopher finally upgraded his Samsung S3 to the newest Samsung S7 just before we left for Europe.

With a new phone comes fun new features and learning how to use them all.

This includes the fact that when you take a photo on his S7 you can press the screen and the phone with automatically focus on the spot you touch and fix the lighting for that area as well. A super cool feature!

However, this feature doesn’t work in selfie mode.

Instead, when you touch the screen in selfie mode it takes a photo.

You guys, we seriously kept forgetting this so we have all these hilariously terrible selfies with us touching the screen trying to get his phone to focus on what we want it to focus on.

Andย clearly I need to share these terrible photos with you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

switzerland-1Underneath a waterfall in Switzerland. This was when we first found out that this feature doesn’t work in selfie-mode. We took like 6 photos in a row before we realized it, ha! Also, please note Christopher’s horns. ๐Ÿ˜‰

switzerland-2Same day in Switzerland. This was near the beginning of our trip so we had trouble remembering that this feature didn’t work.

athensAnd then in Athens. This was the end of the trip so weย really have no excuse for not remembering, ha!

And then finally… this lovely shot in the Cinque Terre. Thisย one wasn’t a problem because of us touching the screen. Oh no, this one is terrible because of my face.

manarolaThis is one of Christopher’s favorite photos because he finds it so hilarious. What is this face I am making?! Horrible, that’s what. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I had been smiling quite prettily at the camera when this girl walked up behind us and stood in the background of our photo (which happens a lot whenย traveling in touristy areas so no big deal). So I made this silly face that was supposed to be a “yikes” face, but it just looks horrible. Hence why Christopher finds it so hilarious.

So there you have it. We have lots of beautiful photos and video clips from our time in Europe, but there are some terrible ones too. And you just got a taste of the worst of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just keepin’ it real, my friends.

Are you good at taking selfies?ย Any tips for us??

Does anyone else’s phone have a feature like this one?ย 

Love Rach

34 responses to “Because we’re terrible at taking selfies

  1. Hilarious! In that last photo, I actually like Christopher’s face even more than yours. It’s such a classic cheesy fake smile. I love it. Since I often take videos of R, my problem is that I sometimes forget the camera is one and think I’m taking a picture, so I have to delete a lot of these 4-second video clips of me awkwardly staring or smiling at the screen. Ha! Jordan’s facebook profile is an accidental selfie he took of himself one time. It’s pretty bad.

    • Ha! His expression is pretty awesome in that shot for sure! That’s the beginning of his smirk he makes just before he laughs at me doing something ridiculous. You know… like making the face I was making, haha!

      Oh man, I have definitely ahd that happen with taking accidental videos when I mean to be taking photos. Those are definitely always weird looking, haha!

  2. I am shaking because I’m laughing so hard! Y’all are so funny! Love y’all! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

  3. haha I totally cannot take a good selfie. In fact, I hate them because I feel I always look horrible. Actually, I just hate my photo being taken. I think those pictures are super cute!!

  4. Outtake selfies are the very best selfies!!! I love your face in the last one! I would totally make a crazy face if someone dive-bombed my selfie too!!

  5. Haha, you are so cute! I have the S7 too and I really love that feature! So nice not to have to hit the button!

    • It’s such a great phone! Christopher has been really pleased with it so far! He has also gotten a kick out of making slow-mo videos on it. Mostly of our dog doing normal, every-day things that now look epic in slow-mo. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Haha I love that last photo! I hate when I get used to something one way on my phone and then something changes and I cant adapt lol. It happens way too often!

  7. Your face in the last photo is priceless!

  8. These are great! HA.

  9. Bha ha ha, adore that you’re keeping it real!! These are so the selfies the Mr. And I take. Really, they are priceless because they tell just as much of a story as the beautiful ones and ya know what? You 2 are beautiful no matter what the photo. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Ha ha, those selfies are great ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Haha I love that you shared these! I often don’t realize my phone is on selfie mode and look down to a picture pointing straight up my nose or something. Thankfully, we don’t have to pay to have each one developed before we get to see how it turned out anymore. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Hahaha I love this so much because I am also HOPELESS at selfies. Jesse too! All of our selfies (or twofies? couplies? I don’t know?) are woeful!

  13. I love “blooper” pics! I’m awful at taking selfies!! I always take like 500 before settling on one I actually like, lol. ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Two words: selfie stick! You should just bite the bullet and do it. I don’t like them either but it was super nice when Dave and I traveled Asia to try and take a selfie.

    Also, those are hilarious! Sometimes bad pictures are great memories and Christopher’s horns are really cracking me up.

    • We do have a selfie stick! We took it with us to the Grand Canyon and it was great! We had it on this trip, but actually didn’t end up using it since for the most part we were able to take photos with my DSLR by setting it up somewhere and using a remote. Or by asking someone to take a photo for us after we took one for them. I’m not against selfie sticks (unless I’m in danger of being smacked with one, ha!) – we just didn’t end up using it this time. You’re right, though, it definitely makes for better photos!

  15. bahahahaha i should gather all of my photos like this and make a post. we have a lot like the last photo, except i totally make that face on purpose sometimes. KC loves when I accidentally take selfies when i’m not ready, like too close or something. they are fun/funny to look back on at least haha

  16. Ha! I love this. I have my first Iphone, and have no idea what I’m doing with it. I do the same thing with the my camera!

  17. Pingback: Europe 2016 (plus future plans) |

  18. You’re still basically the most adorable couple ever. ๐Ÿ™‚ Too funny!

    As a side note, isn’t the S7 the one that was exploding? I’m concerned.

    • Aww, you are too kind! We look ridiculous and we know it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And girl, he was THIS CLOSE to getting the Galaxy S7 Note (which is the one that keeps exploding). It took him forever decide between the regular S7 and the S7 Note, but he finally opted for the regular S7. And we are both so glad that he did! Thankfully the regular S7 phones haven’t had any of the problems that the Notes have had!

  19. Hahahaha, this post had me smiling and laughing so hard! These pictures are the best!!

Leave a Reply

