Europe 2016 (plus future plans)

My friends, I am officially done recapping our Europe trip. At the end of this post I’ll link to all the blog posts from this trip. Or if you feel like watching all the videos in a row you can do so here:

This trip was amazing. It was so precious to have those 17 uninterrupted days together. Just us. Exploring and adventuring and making memories. I’ll be honest, there are times when life can be really hard. And we are notorious for taking on more than we should when it comes to volunteer work (though we’re better than we used to be thanks to our 30 Days last year). So this trip was such a blessing for us.

We’ve been asked quite a bit where we’re headed next as far as travel goes so I thought I’d fill you guys in. Our plan for 2017 is to travel state-side (maybe with a cruise or a trip to the Caribbean thrown in if we find a good deal). So if you have any suggestions for must-see places in the good ol’ US of A, let me know! I’m not sure if we’ll make it everywhere, but I know that we’d like to visit California, the Pacific Northwest, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Washington D.C., Wyoming, Illinois, and maybe even possibly Disney World.

And in 2018 we’ve got our sights set on the UK. We’re hoping to visit England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales to see all the places my family is from. And if it works out, I wouldn’t say no to hopping on a plane over to Finland while we’re on that side of the ocean. 🙂

We love to travel and are so thankful to have jobs that allow us time off. This 2016 Europe trip was amazing and we’re already looking forward to all the fun that 2017 and 2018 will bring! 🙂

switzerland.jpg

Links to our 2016 Europe Trip:

Vienna, Austria
Prague, Czech Republic
Bernese Oberland, Switzerland
Cinque Terre, Italy
Rome, Italy
Athens, Greece
Mykonos, Greece
Santorini, Greece
Paris, France
Because We’re Terrible at Taking Selfies
How We Travel So Much (and how we flew to Europe for $400 round trip)
Packing for 17 days in a carry on

Any advice for me on favorite places you’ve visited in the USA?

Love Rach

40 responses to “Europe 2016 (plus future plans)

  1. How about you go to Hawaii when we go. Or just come to Louisiana! Our plan is to go to Disney in 2018.

  2. My top favorite trip in the US has been backpacking down into the Grand Canyon…awe-inspiring!
    I love being able to travel vicariously through your blog posts! The day after we got back from our Germany trip last year, I found out I was pregnant. Such a blessing, but we have so missed traveling! We know we will eventually get to take big trips again, but in the meantime it’s great to hear about your experiences:)

    • The Grand Canyon is incredible! We didn’t go hiking down into it while we were there last year, but I’m thinking we will definitely need to go back someday and do it. It was so stunning!

      Aww hooray for a baby! Totally understandable why that might put big trips on hold for a bit. You’ll be back at it before you know it, though! 🙂

  3. Ooh, definitely come to Massachusetts!! I happen to work for Marriott, so I’m happy to help with accommodations. 🙂 And I used to be a concierge in Boston so I can definitely help with recommendations on what to see/eat/do in the area!

  4. Sounds like you have some fun travel plans in your future!!!

  5. yayy DISNEY! hope you make it to all the places. i haven’t let myself think about 2018 yet lol, KC won’t let me think or plan of anything after 2017. i think we might actually take a break 😦 sad face. but whatever. my next big trip (after Oz&NZ) is a big italy trip. maybe in like, 6 or 7 years lol

    • AH! Yay Italy! Even if it is several years away that’s still such a fun trip to look forward to! We didn’t used to plan trips out so far in advance, but ever since we started all this credit card stuff it helps to be strategic with our travel. I’m so excited to read all about your Australia/NZ trip when you go again because that’s on our must-travel list too! 🙂

  6. Talk about the trip of a lifetime! It sounds amazing! I think travel is definitely something worth prioritizing in our lives, at least once you’re out of debt and know how to live within your means (as you seem to do so well!). This just makes me want to plan all sorts of crazy adventures for us in the next couple years!

  7. Maine and San Fran/Napa area are in our lists. We LOVED Colorado but definitely do it in the Winter. Of course if you get to Chicago, tell me and we will meet you there for dinner!! UK…YES! I have only ever been to London and would love to spend some time over there! I’m just thrilled you made these memories together!! Priceless!

    • So many good places! I can’t decide about what season to visit Colorado, though. I haaaate the cold, haha! So going somewhere even colder than here sounds awful. And I know it’s gorgeous in the warm months when I’ve visited before. But I’ve heard so many people talk about how awesome it is in the winter. What made you love it so much in the winter?? Convince me, ha!

  8. Can’t wait to see where your travels take you this year. 🙂 That picture is stunning!

  9. We are traveling around the US next year too! We’ll have to compare travel wish lists 😉 I’ve only ever been to California (multiple times), Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi!

  10. There are so many worthy destinations stateside. The US is incredible. I vote for NM, of course. 🙂 But really, the PNW is my favorite. Especially San Juan Island and Orcas Island.

    • ​I have honestly done zero study on PNW as far as specific places we want to go (it just ALL looks beautiful in the pictures) so I just checked out those islands you mentioned and oh my gracious are they beautiful! I had no idea those places existed! I am now SO excited to go!

      And if we end up anywhere near NM, you better believe I’ll be letting you know!!​

  11. Lindsay Clements

    Rachel – My family owns a condo in Steamboat, Colorado. Its only about 2.5 hours away from Denver. If you aren’t a fan of the cold, I would definitely recommend going in july/august. It doesn’t get as hot out there so it wouldn’t be bad. Also, the views are just beautiful during that time of the year. If you’re worries about snow, etc. definitely avoid heading west to colorado anytime between november and early march. Let me know if you’d like any more info! 🙂

  12. musicpaladin2007

    Awesome!! Looks like a great time. If y’all want to stop in Charleston next year let us know… you always have a place to stay 🙂

    • Charleston is definitely on our list of places we want to visit eventually! I hear such wonderful things about it and the photos I’ve seen make it all look so adorable. I forgot that’s where you guys were living so that’s perfect! I’m not sure if we’ll make it there next year, but I will definitely let you know if we do! 🙂

  13. Awesome travel plans! I’m itching to do a train trip to the Pacific Northwest 🙂

  14. yes! totally living vicariously here, you visited so many places. I love that you guys are already planning 2018 and beyond. so fun!

  15. Massachusetts, Massachusetts, Massachusetts!!!!!!! Ha, Ha!
    There are so many amazing places to see here in the USA. I can’t wait to travel as a family, when Brady (and the baby) are big enough to travel. It’s so much fun to see new places. 🙂
    (I LOVED your Europe recap posts. I didn’t get to comment on many, because I read most of them on my phone… But I felt like I got to travel through your blogs, and I enjoyed it SO much)!!

    • You better believe that I will be letting you know when we’ll be there! In fact, I should probably make sure we don’t come close to your due date because I imagine a coffee date at the hospital while you’re in labor just wouldn’t be near as fun for you. 😉

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the Europe updates! I had fun making those videos! It was like reliving the trip all over again! 🙂

      • Ha, ha, ha. I was thinking that! I’d be bummed if you came to MA, and I was in the hospital giving birth. HA! But at the same time, I’m just SO excited for you to visit the state I call home and that I love so much. So worst comes to worse, you’d better believe that I’d be beyond excited to see where you traveled and how you liked it. (This is me saying don’t ever plan your vacay around my labor date, because you have to come whenever you have the opportunity). 🙂 BUT you’d better believe that I will do everything in my power to meet you for a coffee or meal whenever you do make it out here. Ha, ha. I think meeting you is on my bucket list, even if I’ve never officially written it there. 😉

        • Oh girl, I am totally planning this trip around being able to meet you while we’re there! Don’t you doubt that for a minute! 🙂 We probably won’t start picking dates for any of the trips until January, but once we do, I’ll let you know! Any recommendations for absolute best times to visit?

  16. I’ve loved the recaps! You’ve inspired me to want to travel more! I went to D.C. this summer, such a great city!

  17. You absolutely have to see the Pacific Northwest! Seattle is an obvious must, Vancouver (if you want to hit Canada), and Glacier National Park in Montana.

  18. It must have been amazing to have 17 uninterrupted days together! What a sweet time I’m sure that was for you and Christopher 🙂

    I’d totally recommend visiting Washington D.C. as well as Niagara Falls! And Pittsburgh 😉

  19. I still can’t believe you went to all these places in one trip! so awesome.

Leave a Reply

