Highlights Lately

When we got home from Europe we hit the ground running. So in an effort to keep this post from getting super long, I’m going to attempt to share the main high lights.

funny photography.jpg

One of the funniest things about family photo sessions is when all the adults behind me are trying to get a kid to look and smile (the long ponytail is me). The busiest time of the year for me with photography is September-December. So we came home and BOOM! Busy season! Plus we photographed the wedding a few days before we left the country so I had a ton of editing to catch up on already! But thankfully I love what I do so while it’s busy, it’s a fun busy! πŸ™‚

lukes for the day2.jpg

lukes for the day.jpg

I love Gilmore Girls! My roommate in college turned me onto it and I have loved it ever since. I absolutely teared up watching the trailer that they just released! Anyway, when I heard that a couple of Memphis coffee shops were going to be “Luke’s for the day” on October 5th I just KNEW I had to go! I went to one close to our house first thing in the morning with Christopher and then I went again later that same morning with a friend. Oh my gracious, we had a great time! And when the theme song came on, you better believe we were singing it! πŸ™‚

walk to end alz2.jpg

Back story for those who don’t know about Christopher’s dad. Since his dad can’t travel to Memphis, we took the walk to their town! Some of their friends from church even joined us on the walk which was sweet. We are so thankful for the community that surrounds them since we aren’t there toΒ help out on a day-to-day basis.

fast and furriest.jpg

The Fast & Furriest 5k! Except that Oreo was not the fastest or the furriest and he definitely didn’t do the 5k. πŸ˜‰ They also have a 1 mile fun walk and that’s all we did this day because we had a time crunch (see below) and since it took Oreo THIRTY-TWO minutes to walk a mile (no joke)… we were glad we had opted out of the 5k this time. He just loves to stop and sniff all.the.things. Ha!

zoo day!.jpg

Immediately after the 5k we ran home to drop Oreo off and change our clothes so that we could meet Christopher’s coworkers for a company wide picnic at the zoo. Isn’t this mug they gave us adorable?! πŸ™‚ We had a wonderful time!

neighborhood party.jpg

We love the neighborhood where we live. Neighborhood block parties with live music are just one of many reasons we love it here! πŸ™‚

bob goff2.jpg

Just this past week we got to hear Bob Goff (who wrote Love Does) speak. He was fantastic. Refreshingly funny and inspiring at the same time. If you haven’t read his book, give it a read!

voting2.jpg

Over the weekend we voted! Early voting is where it’s at, my friends. There was literally no line at all. We walked in, we voted, and we left all in less than 8 minutes.

Since this post is super long already I’m going to put all of our Halloween things in a separate post later this week. Happy Halloween/Monday/start-to-your-week, my friends!

Have you done any fun walks or races lately?
Are you excited for Gilmore Girls?
Have you read Love Does?

Love Rach

37 responses to “Highlights Lately

  1. Oh my, so many fun things!! I love the photo shoot baby attention grabbers.

  2. So cool about Luke’s, love the picture with the panda mug and it sounds like you have been having some great times since you’ve arrived back home! I’m voting early this week too, makes so much more easier! Happy Halloween beautiful, I hope it is Spooktacular! πŸ˜‰

  3. I can’t wait for Gilmore Girls!!! There was ONE Luke’s in my area and I didn’t want to brave the 30-minute drive WITHOUT traffic during rush hour after work. I was so bummed! Oregon is all vote by mail (or drop your ballot in a box) so I’ve never had to deal with a hectic polling location, but I bet voting early was nice!

    • Oh wow! I didn’t realize there were places that still had you drop a ballot in a box. How cool!

      I totally understand not wanting to brave that drive for Luke’s. I’m not sure why we had so many locations in Memphis (we had 4!), but it was pretty awesome! πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if I would have driven very far for it, though. So I totally get that.

  4. Oh I am beyond excited for Gilmore Girls!! I started watching the series again on the anniversary (the day of the Luke’s pop ups) and I’m trying to finish the series before the new ones come out. The only sad part is I know it will be over so fast. I am also trying to talk some friends into doing the GG trivia night coming up! I am certain I would ace it lol

    • I started rewatching it that same week too! I just started season 2 and I know I’m not going to get all the way through it before Thanksgiving, but I’m loving seeing these old episodes again! I’m trying not to think about how quickly the new episodes are going to come and go. I’ll need to pace myself and just avoid social media so I don’t find out what happens ahead of time!

      And girl, if I were any good at trivia then I’d volunteer to come along, but trust me – you don’t want me on your team, haha! I love the show, but I’m so bad about random trivia facts!

  5. The Luke’s thing is so cool!!! My dog wouldn’t be able to do a mile in less than 30 minutes either because he likes to stop, sniff and mark every little thing!! And bark at everyone and everything in his path. Haha!

  6. oh that mug is adorable! i can’t wait for girlmore girls. i didn’t go to any of the luke’s pop ups but a coworker of mine did. i don’t drink coffee and i might have cried feeling like i was really there and i didn’t want to risk it. HA!

  7. Loved that shot of everyone trying to get the baby to pay attention! Haha. I was so sad I missed going to Luke’s! It looked so fun. I am SO excited for the new episodes! πŸ™‚

  8. I wish MO did early voting!! I love the picture of everyone behind you – pretty sure that’s what my family looks like when we try to take picture of my nephew. πŸ™‚

    • Haha! It’s totally normal! Nearly every session I do with little kids, there is at least one adult behind me acting super silly to get the kid to smile. A lot of times that person is my husband, ha! But I love when it’s a big group and they’re all acting silly! πŸ™‚

  9. β€œLuke’s for the day” sounds awesome!

  10. Love the recap life lately for ya! Can you believe I’ve never seen an ep of GG??? I plan on it soon.

  11. Early voting is seriously THE only way to go- no lines ftw! πŸ™‚

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  12. My town had early voting (since MA just jumped on the early-voting band-wagon for the first year ever), and I’m kicking myself for not having done it. Ha, ha. I’m not sure if there are polls open this week, but I need to find out… I’d definitely like to skip the busy lines, for sure!
    And I love that there was a picnic at the zoo! I LOVE going to the zoo so much.

  13. That first picture with everyone trying to get the kid to look straight and smile is too funny! I’ve seen those scenes many, many times!

  14. You guys were so busy! I wanted to do the thing at Lukes, but there was only one option in Knoxville, and it was on UT campus, so parking would have been a nightmare, and with two little ones. . .I decided not to go.

    So excited about Gilmore Girls coming out later this month!

    • Yikes! I totally understand that! I don’t think I would have braved it with two little ones either! But on the happy side – you can sip on your coffee at home while watching the new episodes in just a couple of weeks! πŸ™‚

  15. HAHA! I love the photo of all the adults behind you trying to capture the kids attention! How priceless! For the one photoshoot I did for a family thats pretty much what it was like too LOL. We knew all the kids names by the end because we had to keep calling and calling them.

    Also– WHAT! How awesome about Lukes!! I had no idea about that! I wonder if they had any in Orlando…

    • Yes! These coffee shops were “Luke’s for a day” – it was so much fun! We stood in line forever, got rained on, bought over priced coffee, and had just a wonderful time. πŸ˜‰

      And girl, I love that you get where I’m coming from with this. I love seeing your work, by the way! πŸ™‚

  16. Haha! I SO understand that photoshoot pic. Do you ever find that shooting adults is harder than children though? Kids I can ALWAYS get to smile… but adults? Not so much. I once did a family portrait session where everyone wanted individual shots as well as corporate shots as they ran a family business and I ended up having to get one funny brother to stand behind me and reveal their most embarrassing moments hahaha!

    • BAHAHAHA! That’s hilarious! What a good idea! Definitely a good way to get natural smiles! Sometimes when I have an adult (or especially a teenager) who is uncomfortable in front of the camera and can’t give a natural smile, I’ll tell really lame jokes. They always laugh at how terrible the jokes are, but at least I get smiles! πŸ˜‰

  17. As always, you guys are so busy! I totally regret not going to the coffee shop that was Luke’s on that day. I wish I would have prioritized it! Oreo takes stopping to smell the roses very seriously – we could all learn something from him. πŸ˜‰

  18. Whew! What a busy time you had right after coming home from your trip! All fun stuff, though! Lola is the same as Oreo with walking slowly in order to sniff everything ha! The picture of all the adults behind you is hilarious!

  19. Pingback: Gilmore Girls Revival |

Leave a Reply

