Halloween Happenings

Monday I updated you on some of the generic stuff that has happened since we got home from Europe so today I wanted to fill you in on the Halloween themed things!

We started by carving pumpkins with our friends Brodie & Lyndal. This has become a fun yearly tradition for us since they moved here a fewΒ years ago. S’mores and a fire pit included!

trunk-n-treat2

Then we did Trunk or Treat with our church which was a ton of fun! We dressed as tacky tourists (though we kept telling people that we weren’t in costume and were just dressed as ourselves, ha!). You may not be able to tell in this photo, but Christopher took this picture with a selfie stick and walked around with it all night taking photos with everyone. We handed out tons of candy and saw some adorable kiddo costumes!

haunted corn maze.jpg

We did the Haunted Corn Maze with our friends Stephen & Julia (the same night as Trunk or Treat which is why Christopher is wearing the Hawaiian shirt still haha). It wasn’t near as scary as I expected (thank goodness), but it was a lot of fun!

halloween-cove

And then for actual Halloween night we went to Halloween Cove just outside Memphis. We have friends who live close by so they invited us last year and we had a blast so we wentΒ again this year. People come from all around to trick or treat in this cove on Halloween night. They have a couple thousand every year according to their FB page.Β Thankfully our friends live close enough that we can park at their house and walk. It’s definitely a fun way to spend Halloween night!

How did you celebrate Halloween this year? Or if you don’t do Halloween, have you done any fall festivals or things like that?

Love Rach

38 responses to “Halloween Happenings

  1. You two cuties know how to live up Halloween right. LOVE the tacky tourists costumes!! Halloween Cove sounds Spooktacular and I’m just so happy you two live life to the fullest! It’s what it’s all about! πŸ˜‰

  2. Your pumpkins turned out so cute! I love that you had a selfie stick..it just goes along with the theme of your costumes. Though, I totally don’t judge them. I have one for certain occasions. It’s just easier!

    • Oh girl, I’m with you! We didn’t use it on our last Europe trip because so many people were being super obnoxious with them, but we did take it to the Grand Canyon with us last year and it was awesome! It helped us get so many great pictures!

  3. It looks like you had an absolute blast! My church is actually strongly against Halloween, but I see it as a simple and fun day to dress up and enjoy some yummy candies! I had school that day and then my dad and I passed out candy dressed as a cowboy and cowgirl. We attempted to dress up our lab Reggie as a Christmas tree. He was so excited that his costume fell off. But, my other dog, Brandy, stayed outside with us to hand out candy with a TY tag hanging from her collar, she was a beanie baby!

  4. Such fun Halloween festivities! And oh my gosh Rach, these pumpkins are amazing!! So artistic! Also, your ‘tacky tourist’ costumes are so fun!! And creative! Glad you had a great day babe!
    xoxo Cailee!

  5. How fun! I love your tacky tourist costumes. Perfect prop with the selfie stick.

    Also, those pumpkins are works of art. Amazing. Seriously.

    • I’ll be honest, everyone was very meticulous with their pumpkin art… except me. I was like “hmm… this seems like a good spot for a lopsided star… and so does this! And here too!” haha! πŸ˜‰ But we had a blast carving them. Though it turned out that we carved them way too early. They didn’t last until Halloween!

  6. Looks like so much fun! Also, those pumpkins are amazing! Especially the one with the pumpkin carved in the eye of the pumpkin! Like, seriously, SO MUCH TALENT. πŸ™‚

  7. aw love your tacky tourists costumes! so fun. halloween cove sounds intense! the corn maze sounds terrifying. haha. i think i was in bed by 9pm on halloween, we didn’t even have that many trick or treaters. womp womp.

  8. Nate and I are SO on the fence about Halloween. We TOTALLY get why people celebrate it, let me start off by saying, and we’re not one of those people who will go into a huge explanation of why we don’t celebrate it the minute you mention the holiday. πŸ˜‰ I LOVE candy. I LOVE dressing up. So I get it!! I think our biggest turn-off has been the extremely evil, horrific costumes that many teens and adults dress up in these days. (That and we live in the country… So we have had warnings to keep our black cat indoors around the holiday, because there are actually practicing witches who sacrifice cats in the woods around here. Scary stuff).
    So as a general rule, Nate and I have always kind of disliked the holiday and have focused on cheerful, bright Thanksgiving and Christmas instead.
    BUT now we have a kid AND – like I said – we love the dressing up.
    So I think – in the future – we may do what you guys did, and we’ll do the trunk or treat at our church. OR we’ll have a small party at our house… with no scary costumes allowed. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚ It’s a more controlled environment with costumes that are cute… not terrifying.
    I always say that our decisions are subject to change, because we always chat about it and pray about it. It’s hard making the right decision as parents sometimes, so you just have to pray that you’re making the best choices you can!
    I LOVE your costumes and think they’re adorable (and PERFECT for you both)!!! πŸ™‚ I had wanted to buy Brady a cowboy costume, even though we weren’t planning to go to Trunk or Treat this year. But I never made it to the store! Ha, ha. Maybe that’s what I’ll do next year… πŸ˜‰ Even if we’re not super into Halloween, I can definitely get behind fun costumes and letting him play dress-up!! πŸ™‚
    And I don’t know that I would have been brave enough to walk through the corn maze, but it sounds fun! Ha, ha.
    P.S. Longest comment EVER! LOL!!!!!

    • Oh wow, that is super scary (about being told to keep your cat indoors). I know that there are people who practice witchcraft, but it’s just not something I hear a lot about (other than in fictional books or tv shows) so it’s easy to forget that people actually do it here in the States. I’m with you on not liking the creepy side of Halloween. I also don’t love seeing tween girls half naked because they are wearing Halloween costumes they bought at the store (I mean, seriously, these “sexy” Halloween costumes on kids are just weird). I love that Trunk or Treat is such a big thing at churches now. Giving kids a safe place to have the fun experience of Halloween without the horror side of it. πŸ™‚ I think Brady would be SUCH a cute cowboy! I’m already excited to see his costume next year! πŸ™‚

      And that corn maze wasn’t near as scary as I thought it might be. I don’t do haunted houses or scary movies or anything like that because I’m a wimp. πŸ˜‰ I didn’t realize this corn maze was haunted until after I’d agreed to go. But! I will say this – we went with friends who told us that the actors inside the maze aren’t allowed to touch you. Knowing that made it much easier to ignore them when they got close to me. Plus there were a TON of people in the maze at the same time we were so it was easy to find our way out and pretty hilarious watching other people get spooked. πŸ˜‰

  9. Looks like it was a fun Halloween! Love the tacky tourist costumes πŸ™‚

  10. I’m so impressed by your partaking in the corn maze, I am all about the mazes, but NOT at night in the dark. Or when haunted.

    • Truthfully, that corn maze wasn’t near as scary as I thought it might be. I don’t do haunted houses or scary movies or anything like that because I’m a wimp. πŸ˜‰ I didn’t realize this corn maze was haunted until after I’d agreed to go. But! I will say this – we went with friends who told us that the actors inside the maze aren’t allowed to touch you. Knowing that made it much easier to ignore them when they got close to me. Plus there were a TON of people in the maze at the same time we were so it was easy to find our way out and pretty hilarious watching other people get spooked. πŸ˜‰

  11. You two know how to celebrate Halloween! What a fun weekend! The selfie stick was the perfect addition to your costumes…so clever:D
    I spent the weekend trying to finish my little one’s costume. I think I’ll start a little earlier next year! Then, on Halloween, we volunteered at the fall fest at our church. It was super fun, but I’m especially looking forward to next year when Ellis will be old enough to enjoy it!

  12. Your pumpkins look great! And you guys are so cute as tacky tourists. Those outfits look familiar, though. Did you wear them on vacation or something one time and blog about it?

    I need to do a fall/Halloween post of my own!

  13. Fun times! I do like Halloween πŸ™‚ I posted my Halloween look today.

  14. When I picture the ideal Halloween, it would definitely look like this!!

  15. How much fun did you guys have?! Love your tacky tourist costumes- too cute!

    -Ashley
    Le Stylo Rouge

  16. WAITTTT a second! Are you subtly making fun of the FANNY PACK?! Cuz I LOVE FANNY PACKS! Don’t be hating!! LOL!

    • Hahaha! We were a little bit! Though really those were our money belts that we just wore on the outside of our clothes since we wanted them visible. One of my besties here in Memphis has a fanny belt and she LOVES it! She rocks it everywhere, haha!

  17. Talk about some pumpkin carving talent!

    It looks like you had such a fun Halloween!

  18. Your costumes were so cute and original! Love the Hawaiian shirts πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

